We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #112 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We caught the Airport Express Line to Hong Kong station then got the Cosmopolitan Shuttle straight to the hotel. We had notified them of our morning flight arrival and were so grateful that our room was ready for us when we got to the hotel. The hotel is an easy walk to Times Square where there are plenty of great eating options that are cheap and tasty. Breakfast at the hotel was good and there was plenty of options from hot to cold. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, as were the shuttle drivers. The staff in the breakfast buffet didn't look too happy. The bathroom kept flooding each time, as the shower curtain simply couldn't keep the water in, but other than that, the beds were comfortable and the room was bright and airy.Though Wan Chai feels like you are away from alot of the main parts of Hong Kong, it is quite easy to get where you need - the hotel shuttle is brilliant and gets you wherever you need without worry.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,177)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 3,177 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and mom-in-law. The room is clean with a good view, and is quite conveniently located in Wanchai, within easy reach of the main business districts of Central and Causeway Bay. The hotel manager is very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominictom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I would like to take an opportunity to say that service at Cosmopolitan Hotel is Number 1 AAAAA+++ largely because of Tatsumi San (Mr Tatsumi) w

ho is the Japanese Manager of the hotel. He has been so caring towards our whole family, seeing to our needs, while being very professional, careful and meticulous in his work. The hotel rooms were clean and had lovely views, a wonderful play to stay!

Dr Angelia Lu

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckypersontoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel is located in a perfect area and close to tram and subway stations. In the neighborhood there is shops and markets in wakable distanc. The staff was very freindly all the time and helpful. The view from the top floor was incredible, however the room was a bit small but cozy. Everything was very clean at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I would rate my stay at this hotel as excellent- rates not very high, location excellent, causeway bay- times square very close- with hotel shuttle running there very frequently. I was on honeymoon so they upgraded my room from superior to Deluxe. Staff at the reception is cheerful and friendly. International buffet breakfast is awesome.

I would definitely recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: city view rooms on high floors gives a great view of the city skyline.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellator_1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I booked the Triple Deluxe Room which sleeps 2 adults and 2 small children comfortably. Our room has a big window with view next to the Jockey Club. If you have bigger teens they also have a family room that fits 4 adults comfortably. Our 3 beds and room size were already considered big for a Hong Kong Hotel. So choose your room wisely, talk to their sales and let them explain what room will be given to you.

Please do not get the cheapest room as it is very small and no window! They cover the window with smokey glass because it overlooks the Cemetery, which is kinda creepy.

The free shuttle to/from Airport Express and IFC was pretty helpful and saves taxi money. The free shuttle back and forth from Times Square is reliable. It runs every 30 minutes.

Fast wifi but only in the lobby. They give bottled water generously. No need to buy extra from grocery. Just ask from housekeeping and they will deliver!

The breakfast given to us was at the next door sister hotel Cafe called Cosmo Hotel.

The concierge is very attentive to the needs of hotel guests.

Room Tip: Triple Deluxe room is comfortably big and can sleep 2 small kids and 2 adults.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheEclecticEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

I am certainly glad to learn your appreciation to our shuttle bus services which goes to Times Square in every 20 minutes, and in room water bar services. to your understanding, Cosmopolitan Hotel has most options for family travelers, as you’ve mentioned, despite of triple deluxe room, we also offer Executive Family Quad Room which can accommodate up to 4 guests at the same time. for parents traveling with younger children, we have exclusive Ocean Park Suite as well as the Toy Suite available to cheer your beloved kids. With our greenery Happy Valley greenery view available, the hotel also faces to the spacious south section of Hong Kong and historical church yard. With various of acceptance level, guest could choose not only cozy standard room with clear window view, but also an option for fashionable frosted window. I am looking forward to welcoming you in the near future, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I'd bought a new pair of trainers in Hong Kong, and had left them in my hotel room. Unfortunately, they were stolen from my room, and the hotel staff refused to do anything about it - they did not even offer to apologise. The staff were not very helpful, and kept telling me different things to do about my stolen shoes. I was asked to fill in a police report, but when I did and handed it in, they told me that the police couldn't help! Very disappointed.
The rooms were also very noisy - sound proofing could definitely be better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alice&Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,680 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#140 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,417 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,950 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $103 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing