We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware frosted glass windows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
larkhall
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“beware frosted glass windows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

We arrived at hotel at 4 o;clock for a 2 night stay pre cruise.We had just flown for 25 hours from Glasgow and it was our first time in Hong Kong.We were allocated our room only to find you could not see out due to frozen glass windows.Icalled reception and asked to be moved to a room with clear windows but told would have to wait until next day.Following day ,moved to a smokers room overlooking muslim graveyard.The location of this hotel is not ideal as it sits on a busy junction and you have to get taxi;s or bus to get around although hotel has handy shuttle that drops you at places around town.I would say this hotel is only good for a short stop over and if we had been staying longer we would definately have moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manonspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
We are afraid the frosted glass window is a matter of design in order to enhance the privacy inside the guest room. We are very serious about any request made by guests and we would stretch as far as we can to please our guests. In case if we are not able to arrange a desired room on the day, we would always make sure a desired room is arranged the day followed. Location-wise, the hotel is amid Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, right opposite Happy Valley Racecourse and we provide free shuttle between the hotel and nearby Times Square/Causeway Bay MTR station within a 5-min ride, and also other major shopping centres on the island including Pacific Place in Admiralty, IFC Mall in Central and CityPlaza in Quarry Bay, etc. Catching a taxi at a busy time of the day can be an issue which is quite a common phenomenon in Hong Kong just like any other world-class city such as New York or London, yet most of the time taxi is available handily at the hotel driveway. Our concierge staff would be more than delighted to assist if any need is required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    1,377
    568
    156
    67
See reviews for
869
716
241
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

This is an upscale hotel in Wai Chan, to the east of Central, staffed by real bell boys complete with pill box hats. We found the room very comfortable if a little small and the staff efficient and very helpful. As the hotel is located in Wan Chai, it’s a bit off the beaten track, although very convenient for the 6 bus to Stanley (30 mins) and the 15 bus to the Peak (15 mins). We had a room on the 19th floor, by request, with a fantastic view over the Happy Valley racecourse and it is difficult to beat that. Race nights are Wednesdays only but there is always some sport being played there. However, you should know that this hotel has two elevations. One faces the racecourse; the other side however fronts a very large cemetery, starting with the Hong Kong Muslim Cemetery then the St Michael’s Christian One. If you don’t fancy sleeping next to this, or overlooking it, make sure you book one of the rooms on the other side. Unsurprisingly, the better side attracts a premium.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our week here, a very nice hotel. We had a room on the 22nd floor with a great view overlooking Happy Valley Racecourse. The room was smallish, but with the great view I was not going to complain.
The staff are very professional, friendly and helpful, no complaints with them, keep up the good work. The only complaint I could have is the bed was rock hard.
This is a great city with plenty to enjoy, use the free hotel transportation and the cheap public buses to get around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJohn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
We are pleased to hear that you’ve had a very enjoyable stay with us! Regarding your comment on bed, our bed mattress selection is from the world-famous Simmons brand that gives a good support for the back. As we understand different guests may carry distinct needs on support, we also provide mattress topper for guests who look for a fluffier support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I was upgraded free to a superior room because there was no available double bed, but two singles were equally fine . Very clean room, free bottles of mineral water and very very comfortable bed! I left a shopping bag and was sent to me via mail!

Very good location, next to tram that takes you to Causeway Bay and Centre. Even though on busy road quiet and pleasant. Literally opposite the horseraces ground if you are there on a Wednesday evening definetely pay a visit! Nearby a variety of good value full of locals cafes and restaurants with a choice of cuisines to have each evening.

Hong Kong is a fantastic city with very welcoming and polite citizens! Pamper yourself the spas for massages etc are excellent and of great value!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jol_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I am a frequent travelers to HK for work and stay only in the Hong Gong island. Over the years have ended up trying a few hotels- all 4 stars btw.

Now I dont bother searching anymore. This is by far the best value for money place given the location and the quality of the hotel. The hotel has an excellent breakfast buffet. The rooms are small- like is the case all over HK, but very well kept and nice.

Since the Hotel is next to a cemetery, the rooms at the back look over it. Personally, being a business traveler, i dont mind it at all.

Also, best to book a week or so in advance because thats when you can get some really great deals.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We arrived in Hong Kong to join our ship for a cruise to Japan and were taken to this hotel for two nights beforehand. Last year we stayed at another hotel in Hong Kong - the Cosmopolitan Hotel is a million times better. Nice and central ,courtesy bus and sfaff extemely helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. If we go to Hong Kong again next year we will definately stay here and will recommend it to our friends!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vermont66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Cosmopolitan is a elegant hotel, the room we had was the standard room but if you need extra space you can upgrade to a larger room, it was good it you are out and about and aren't planning on spending alot of time in your room...the room was larger than the one we stayed in Koowloon. The selection at the buffet breakfast was good, from western food to asian style, a chef will make your choice of eggs / omelette etc. Service was excellent, and everyone was very helpful. The hotel is not situated in the heart of Causeway bay but it doesn't matter with the free shuttle bus that can take you to the nearest MTR and other stops. We would definately reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinktearose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#136 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing