We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
Ranked #70 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My ever first trip to Hong Kong so my choice was the Pentahoel in San Po Kong, Kowloon. Upon my arrival I was impressed with the staff, very courteous, professional, and friendly. They were very tentative to my questions and they helped me a lot. The room was perfect, nice desk and a hot pot to make coffee and tea, which was also provided for too. The view was excellent and I really like the cleanliness and modern amenities in the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and if my friends in Hawaii if they decide to visit Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is new, clean and nice. But the room size is a bit too small (but it's normal for hotel in HK). The decoration of this hotel is unique with a lot of drawings on wall and printed photo as wallpapers.

The breakfast is great with a lot of food you can choose, the also have game room and music room as thier facilities

But the location according to my HK's friend is located at old factories area (that has been closed) so when the night fall, the location is a bit too quiet and dark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mentino23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here end of May 2014. Great set up and value for money. The location is not ideal (for the moment, give it a few years - this area is up and coming) but the hotel and the services compensate. Free shuttle to TST&MTR run on time and efficiently. Staff are super friendly and the hotel is perfect for business people on tight and hectic schedules as everything you need is in situ. Rooms are un-obnoxious, quiet and comfortable. Big thumbs up from me!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Alfabobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay the Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon and i was very much impressed by the style of the hotel, the cleanliness and the outstanding attitude the hotel staff had. They are simply fast and they truly pay attention to details when you have a request for them. We were a bit late for our meeting and the concierge team made sure to get us a taxi that is going to help us reach our destination without a huge delay. Congrats to all of them and i look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: This is a stylish hotel hence you cant really go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed at the Pentahotel Hong Kong for one night on business and everything was wonderful. They had a great buffet breakfast with a little of everything from eggs to waffles to dim sum. My room had the most amazing view and the entire stay was flawless. The service was amazing and I was walked to the front door of my hotel room. It's a bit out of the way and I think was a 25 minute cab ride of the harbor. Overall, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was already familiar with the "Penta concept", since I had been to their Shanghai branch. But WOW, what a nice surprise still to discover the Penta Kowloon: a totally new, edgy concept of hotel. Say goodbye to the usual dusty carpeting and ostentatious lobby. Instead, the common spaces feel like your favorite Pub: dark colours, dim lights, wooden floor, chunky Club armchair and funky decoration items such as a pool table, a baby-foot... Electro-rock music at the background. Its playful, dynamic and SOOOO refreshing! The restaurant space is split in a noodle station, with awesome selection of homemade Hong Kong noodles, a wok station and also more western fares like burgers / pastas etc... There is also a Pizza Restaurant at the ground floor. Breakfast was surprisingly diversified and tasty, and the best part? It was included in the rate! As for the rooms, they were extremely comfortable and well-designed: I have thoroughly enjoyed the sleep quality thanks to the mattress and quilt quality. There was a large glass window with lounging space: perfect for reading a book while enjoying the views of Kowloon. The overall design of the place was very modern, in dark grey shades, with funky Chinese touches. WIFI connection was excellent AND free, which nowadays should be seen in ALL hotels. The rate was totally affordable for an expensive city like Hong Kong: I got a deal at around 120 USD (breakfast and all taxes included!!) on booking.com. Service was fast, professional and efficient, while very casual (staff wears sneakers and jeans, unlike elsewhere in the hotel industry!)
The only small down side of the hotel is that it's quite in the middle of nowhere, remotely located in Kowloon city. You can't do much by foot from there. Luckily, the hotel is quite close (10 mn walk) from the Diamond Hill MTR station, from which you can go directly to Mongkok. But it will take you a good 40-45 mn to get to Hong Kong island. If you arrive from Airport, the best option is to get the fast train to Kowloon station, then hop in a cab for 20-30 mn (approx. 80 HKD). Last point, if like me, you arrive late in the evening, there are only 2 options for meals: either you buy some instant noodles from the hotel (there is a vending-machine), or there is a 7/11 (3mn walk) down the street. I know a 7/11 diner doesn't sound very exciting, but you will find noodles, crackers, chocolates, dried fish and beer. We can all survive on beer and Doritos ;-)
To conclude, I am in love with the Penta concept...totally! It is exactly what many of us expected from the hotel industry: to step a bit out of the traditional concepts and offer something new, fun and affordable, while never compromising on quality. Hats down Penta!

Room Tip: Even the most basic room was awesome. You don't need to go for any superior room category!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acidinmyfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear ‘Acidinmyfridge’

Thanks for your terrific review! Love to see that you had such a wonderful time with us. Please come back soon.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Was at this hotel for 3 nights and my review as follows:

1) Location - located nearby Diamond Hill MTR Station (there is a signage as to which exit to the hotel) around 5-10 minutes walk. Just beside the hotel, there is a chinese restaurant. Also 7-11 is around 3-5 minutes walk. Hotel building is the tallest and nicest building in that area so it is easy to spot it from far. Hotel provides free shuttle to MTR Station (every 30 minutes) and Tsum Sha Tsui K11 Mall (every hour). Overall, the location is not central but it is quiet, peaceful, basic shops and shopping centres are nearby the hotel and it is convenient to get around everywhere. So in my opinion, the location of the hotel is ok.

2) Hotel Building and Check In - yes, the hotel building and deco does look like a good 4 star hotel. Hotel deco is very nice, rustic and sophiscitaed yet minimalist. There is something very unique and beautiful about the hotel overall. Check in was fast. Hotel staffs are very friendly and informative and they can speak good english.

3) Pentaroom: Room size is not too big nor was it too small. For HK Standard, i think the room size can be labelled as good. The design of the room is very smart, there are compartment everywhere to put things, so at the end of the day, the room doesnt feel cramped. Bathroom size is ok, and the shower space is actually quite big with great rainshower. Overall, the room is impressive, modern, rustic and worth the price paid.

4) Wifi: easy to use and strong signal in our room as well as within the hotel area

5) Swimming Pool: it is an outdoor swimming pool. Very good size swimming pool in HK i would say. It is open 7am to 7pm but i wish the management could review this and allow swimming up to 9pm.

6) Gym: 24 hours which is excellent. No complains.

7) Buffet Breakfast: To be honest, the hotel restaurant is very classy and spacious. Breakfast selection is good. Plenty of varieties and there's hot steaming dim sum too. Overall, i enjoyed the breakfast. Maybe for improvement, the hotel may wanna offer fresh fruit juices instead of the chilled fruit juices. Also, to add another type of noodle soup selection to the current selection for varities.

Overall, I am happy with my stay at this hotel. Yes, it is not centrally located but since everything is so convenient, i dont mind staying here again for my next visit to HK.

For overseas traveller visiting this hotel:
Taxi using meter from airport to the hotel is around HKD250-300 per taxi
There is an express coach from airport direct to the hotel at HKD140 per pax
If you decided to save some money and use the airport transfer service, just buy ticket from airport to Tsing Yi Station. At Tsing Yi station, take to Lai King Station. At Lai King Station, take to Prince Edward Station and at Prince Edward Station, take to Diamond Hill Station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear ‘RGau’

Glad to hear that you will come back again in the future. Your review is what our team love to see. Thanks for taking your time to write.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#64 of 726 in Hong Kong
456 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#96 of 726 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 726 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Address: 19 Luk Hop Street, San Po Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $82 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, the first international brand hotel situated in the famous Kai Tak area of the fast-emerging Kowloon East, offers modern technology features and uncomplicated services for stylish, independent-minded travellers and digital nomads. You can experience pentastyle throughout the hotel - the contemporary rustic decor seamlessly blends with whimsical local cultural references. The 695 practical guestrooms at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon mix fun with functionality, comfort with creativity, and style with simplicity. Ranging from 22 to 44 square metres, our comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night's pentasleep. Room amenities include free WiFi, a smartphone docking station, an LED TV with selected Cable TV channels, an electronic safe, individually controlled air-conditioning as well as coffee and tea making facilities. Be prepared to be surprised by our pentalounge - a single venue combining lobby, reception area, bar and cafe together. It's a lively place with 230 seats which offers favourite local Hong Kong dishes and a variety of comfort foods and all-day drinks. Please be advised that our outdoor pool area is closed from November 1st, 2016 until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing