We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place..”
Review of Chungking House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chungking House
Ranked #109 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed April 30, 2009

I don't recommend anyone stays here. This is a decrepit building with loads of hostels crammed into the upper floors, served by just two lifts. The ground floor is full of various 'shops' and market stalls, shady characters, hookers and god knows what else. The whole place is like a rabbit warren and I dread to think what would happen in a fire. The rooms are tiny - the smallest room I have ever seen, prob 3m square at most. Avoid at all costs, there are much better places.
ONE good point - location is brilliant!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerNice1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2008

I booked a double room at the Maple Leaf Guesthouse in Chunking Mansions in Hong Kong at hostelworld.com. The reviews said clean but small - a HUGE understatement as we found out.

Admittedly, the room did seem very clean, but the double room we had booked was probably less than 2 meters square. The bed was essentially a small double camp bed and there wasn't room for two people to stand up next to it at the same time. The bathroom was a hot water tank over the loo - nowhere to keep anything dry and no other storage space in the rest of the room. Oh, and no windows in any of this. For this privilege we were meant to pay HKD320 per night (about GBP23/24).

We left the room within 2 minutes of arriving and walked round to the Salisbury, which is a YMCA but also a 3/4 star hotel round the corner with fantastic harbour views. A dorm bed costs HKD230 and a double room about HKD850. Much much bigger and much much better. I would strongly recommend people to stay here, rather than at any of the Chunking Mansions guesthouses.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cambridge62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I would strongly advise you not to stay at Chunking House. Being cheap does not justify the place being totally terrible.

The house is one big ruin, with no windows at all on some of the floors, facade falling off, it all looks like it is about to collapse any moment. You can get the idea looking at the pic: http://realtravel.com/hong_kong-photos-p994067-997498.html

Some rooms without windows, rats, plenty of strangers hanging around the entrance picking on you every time you go in or out make you feel very unsafe. This is undoubtedly one of the worst hostels I stayed in and really, don't understand how can something that horrible be still standing in Kowloon.

Anyway, have a good stay in HKG!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank el_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

My wife and i stood there for 3 days, this hostel runs in an old building that has got two litle elevators for the whole building,it is always crowded because a lot more hostels run in the same building, I think this hostel might be the best of that building, i can say that because we stood one night in another hostel in the same building and it was a night to forget on my trip. The next day we went to see this hostel and we could see the diference right away. if you don´t want to spend a lot of money on 5 stars, this could be a nice place to stay, rooms are decent, but perhaps you could get something else for the daily rate you pay. The entrance to the building is king of scary , lots of people doing who knows what, lots of money exchange, it is always easier to get to the street going down by stairs rather than waiting the elevator but this takes you to the backdoor .

RRCHP Guatemala Central America

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank djouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manila Philippines
12
Reviewed June 30, 2006

This place has been taken over by a new group. I was surprised to see all the improvements that was made in the past 6 months.

5 stars!

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

I have lived in HK for 6 years and have grown fairly comfortable with the city's underbelly. But this place still scares the living daylights out of me! It is full of prostitutes, drug dealers, and other unsavory sorts. If you place any value on your personal safety, find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank HK_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
994 reviews
Silka Seaview Hotel
#185 of 730 in Hong Kong
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,032 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chungking House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chungking House

Address: No.34-40 Nathan Road, Suit A, 4-5F, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Chungking House Hotel Hong Kong
Chungking House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing