We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery

Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.73*
and up
Hong Kong Travel Pass Combo: MTR Pass, Ngong Ping Cable Car and Big Buddha Tour
Ranked #19 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on Lantau Island, this monastery features the Big Buddha (Tiantau), which is the largest, seated, outdoor bronze Buddha in the world.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must see attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The trip to and from Po Lin Monastery and the Giant Buddha is half the fun. Catch the Mui Wo ferry from Central Pier 6 then the # 2 bus to the monastery. There are the usual market stalls around the monastery and the monastery itself is quite lovely. Beautiful trees and plants abound and the mandatory dogs that seem to be around all wats. The vegetarian meal thatyou can buy at the monastery restaurant is good value. Catch the cable car back to Tung Chung station, make sure you catch the crystal cable car, it has a glass floor- amazing! Then it's just a short walk to the raliway staion. A great day out. Don't forget to buy an OCTOPUS CARD to make travel in Hong Kong easy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    442
    97
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting Place to Spend a Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took the MTR to the buses to Lantau Island. The bus takes about 45 mins. to get you to the Buddha. I get car sick sometimes on windy roads, and I was definitely feeling a bit queasy when we arrived. There is an air-tram that goes there and if I ever go back, I'll take that instead.

The Buddha was built in 1997, so you aren't seeing anything ancient. But the park is nicely laid out and if you can get yourself up all the steps to the Buddha, there is a magnificent view at the top. The Buddha will also reward you for climbing all those steps as you get a ticket (before you go up) for bottled water and an ice cream after you've gone inside the little museum.

The Po Lin Monastery is there. It's not as fabulous as the Buddist temples I saw in Japan, but it's interesting. There are many new buildings going up, so over time, there will be more to see.


The ride up by bus, (despite my feeling queasy) was great. It takes you through isolated neighborhoods surrounded by trees and you get occasional terrific views of the water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must experience for everyone...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This monastery is next to the big Buddha...need a full day to really experience the place. I normally take the ferry+bus route option..scenic trip. For the cable car one needs to book in advance and its pricey. I chose to review the monastery not the Buddha as for me the monastery just cannot be missed. The feel of the place though seems more commercial at first due to large crowds but soon the energy of the place envelopes you with all its beautiful shrines and temples. Being next to the big Buddha is an advantage as it increases its grandeur. The vegetarian food is very delicious and fresh and not expensive. The touristy shops outside provide the best Buddhist trinkets.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PuruR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Some major redevelopment going on there at the moment (Oct 2012), which is juxtapose with the serenity of the place.
Some nice statues though, and an opportunity to donate towards the renovation and upkeep, if you're that way inclined.
Good view of the Big Buddha, and if it wasn't for the building works would be a wonderful place to chill out away from the crowds!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LordBofW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth seeing as part of the excellent Ngong Ping 360 attraction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

To get to Po Lin Monastery, you need to buy cable car tix at the Ngong Ping 360 terminus at Tung Chung. The tix are excellent value as, not only are you treated to a spectacular 25 min cable car ride across Tung Chung Bay and Lantau Island parkland, you have free access to Ngong Ping Village (touristy but charming), the huge and impressive bronze Buddha statue and the very colourful Po Lin Monastery. It is a full daytrip if you have the time, and as the Po Lin Monastery is right next door to the Big Buddha, you must take a look. The outdoor area by the monastery has lots of pretty shade trees and seating, lovely if you don't mind the scent of incense burning. And there is LOTS of incense being burned as offerings to Buddha! (Probably best to avoid if you have breathing issues!) The main temple buildings are very colourful and make for fabulous photos. There is a vegetarian restaurant where you can dine in, however my friend and I bought veg food from a takeaway place next to the restaurant. I truly can't recommend it - I bought a dish of 3 type of tofu (spicy, sweet & sour, another I can't remember) and it was AWFUL! I love vegetarian meals and tofu, but this was horrible, both tastewise and visually. If I visited Ngong Ping again, I would have lunch at the Ngong Ping Village.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Po Lin (Precious Lotus) Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing