We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outlet Mall”
Review of Lantau Island

Lantau Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$133.38*
and up
Coach Day Tour - Lantau Island Visiting and Giant Buddha Cable Car Tour Plus...
Ranked #12 of 819 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Outlet Mall”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is always fun to go to the outlet mall on Lantau Island.
But lately it's been bombarded with a lot of tourist from mainland China. Can't even find a place to sit and have coffee without waiting for a table to open up, it might be only because i was there on the holiday season and everyone is crazy shopping

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank asiatravler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,604
    1,568
    292
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dongducheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“absolutely amazing, lots to do, you can even avoid the touristy stuff”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

when we went, we took the cable car and then went to the big buddha, and then had lunch at the vegetarian restaurant run by the monastery. The next time I go, I want to hike the trail instead of take the cable car. Probably the best thing to do would be to hike one way and do the cable car the other way, because the views from the cable car can't be beat except maybe by going to victoria peak to see the harbor. In any event, Lantau Island has more things than you can really do in one day, and even if you stay in the area where the big buddha and the monastery are, you can spend all day there. Totally amazing and I can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kakos_theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akashi, Japan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Touristy but Good”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

When you finally make it to the Buddha and monastery it's worth it, but everything you see on the way is super touristy. I was glad I went here though.

Helpful?
Thank mary7484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has to be the highlight”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Begin with a ride on the crystal cabin. brace yourself though, if you have fear of heights. it is an awesome experience. When in the monastery, it brings such peace of mind just walking around, in silence and the cold weather. Dont forget to eat in the ramen house on the right side on the way back to 360 ride :)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ArbiLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Buddha Temple”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A Must-visit place when you travel Hongkong. Take the cable car, its about 5.7 km long. We can see the entire hongkong city, ocean, airport, tall buildings, mountains. It will be awesome!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cool_ragz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lantau Island also viewed

 

Been to Lantau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing