We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice food.”
Review of Galley Cafe & Dining - CLOSED

Galley Cafe & Dining
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: At Galley Cafe and Dining, Hong Kong's colonial history is placed at the forefront, both in the site's heritage and its decor. Nostalgic photos of old Hong Kong adorn the walls, adding a captivating touch to the restaurant's cosy and intimate setting. The menu heralds a high standard of cuisine drawn from around the world, including some of the most popular Asian and cosmopolitan dishes. The Chef proudly uses the freshest ingredients to prepare deliciously wholesome meals for the most discerning guests.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Sat out on the terrace on a warm evening in April and enjoyed delicious food with a pleasant view from this colonial-era terrace, with pleasant service. Much much better than the average Kowloon eateries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edwardreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley c, Manager at Galley Cafe & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Edward,

Thank you for visiting Galley Cafe and Dining. And thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant on Trip Advisor. We are happy your enjoyed the ambience and scenery of our patio terrace. It is a great spot to relax and rest from the busy streets of TST and Canton Road. Please visit us again soon. Safe travels!

Best regards,

Galley Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stumbled upon this venue for an impromptu lunch and the setting was perfect. We opted to sit inside but in the bar area. The seating was exceptionally comfortable.We had to wait a while for the menus to be presented but the staff were apologetic for the delay. Once our meal was ordered the service was superb. The quality of the food was excellent. A little curious was a western gentleman dressed in jeans and jacket who maybe was the owner (?) who kept appearing then disappearing from behind the scenes with drinks etc but seemed superfluous to the smooth operation of the restaurant and if he was indeed the owner never once asked if we were satisfied with our choice of meal. The local staff were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Huntershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley c, Manager at Galley Cafe & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Huntershaw,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Galley. We are so happy you stumbled upon Galley Cafe & Dining and enjoyed your dining experience and apologies for the delay in presenting our menus. Management will make the staff aware of the excellent service and food they provided. We continue to strive to provide our customers great service and high quality food with excellent value and it is always a privilege to hear our guests reaffirm this. Regarding the comment about the owner, the owner of the restaurant was not present during your visit. However, the day of your visit the restaurant had a formal Photo Shoot for Food and Drink items from our upcoming Mother's Day brunch menu. The individual you mention was involved in the Photo Shoot and escorting the "Models" to and from the back area of the restaurant for the Photographer. Again, we are happy you enjoyed your dining experience at Galley and appreciate the feedback.

We hope you "stumble" upon us again! Hope to see you soon and all the best.

Kind regards,

Galley Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My daughter,together with her children, took my wife and I to the Galley after it had rained continually for several days and by magic the rain ceased and the outside patio started drying as we entered the 1881 attractive square. We had a most enjoyable meal made from quality produce, well cooked and excellently presented by most friendly staff and spent a most pleasant early evening sitting on the outside patio enjoying the atmosphere. We hope to return before going back to the UK

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldiesfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley c, Manager at Galley Cafe & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

To our new UK friends,

Thank you for taking the time to add a review to Galley Cafe & Dining. We sincerely appreciate the kind words. It sounds like your visit to Galley was meant to be as the skies cleared for you and your family to relax and enjoy a nice dining experience with us on our patio terrace. We are continually trying to improve the service, food quality, and overall dining experience at Galley and are delighted to hear the efforts are paying off. Again, thank you for the kind review!

We hope you come back and visit us soon!!

Cheers,

Galley Cafe Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

i have been this place with my girl friend on 23rd april at lunch time.
i cant believe service was fantastic,
we had bottle of red 'valdivieso'chili wine with grill lamb cutlets and green salad,which was amazing.


thanks
Rick for your great service.
me and my girlfriend would definitely back again.

Thank DonYonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley c, Manager at Galley Cafe & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Don,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy you and your girlfriend enjoyed your dining experience at Galley. The Valdivieso is an excellent pairing with our Grilled Lamb Cutlets...great choice. We look forward to seeing the both of you again soon. And we will make Rick aware of your appreciation of his great service.

See you again at Galley!

Kind regards,

Galley Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We wanted a quick lunch near the ferries between visiting the sights of Hong Kong, and came across Galley Cafe in the 1881 Heritage building.
We were shown to a nicely placed table on their outside patio, overlooking the square in front of the building and with the HK Arts Centre across the road.
My wife had the cheeseburger (nicely cooked and presented, with great chips), whilst I chose the ravioli (in a delicious tomato sauce).
Service was friendly and efficient, without being rushed.
A nice spot - and inside looked great too, so try it for dinner.

Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley c, General Manager at Galley Cafe & Dining, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Malawi40,

Thank you for the kind review. We agree, Galley is a perfect spot for lunch after enjoying some sightseeing in the TST area and is conveniently located near the Star Ferry for access to HK Island. We are happy you and your wife enjoyed our Cheeseburger with Chips and Homemade Ravioli.

We appreciate you taking the time to complete the review. Please visit Galley Cafe & Dining when you are back in Hong Kong. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Galley Cafe & Dining Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Cafe & Dining also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing