We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road
Ranked #111 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at Eaton House Wanchai Gap for 33 days this past July and August. The first couple of days were dicey, as there were two or three fire alarms at odd hours, but after that everything went smoothly. Staff were always pleasant and attentive. The room was comfortable and clean. And the location is perfect. Very close to Wanchai and subway, yet up the hill enough that it is relatively quiet and gives easy access to hiking trails. I couldn't have asked for more and will definitely stay there again if I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
50
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Customer service was very helpful.

Hotel is in a great location, very close to the MTR/airport express bus and buses going to Stanley.
Near the hotel is a nice little market.

I found the room to be very comfortable, quiet, and the shower was excellent however my friend said that the bed wasn't comfortable to her at all and we both agreed that the room wasn't clean enough.
My friend was also disappointed when we had first entered the room. (she said it looked nicer in the pictures).

Kitchen is equipped with everything (we wound up not using it at all) however if you want to use the washing machine, you will have to bring your own detergent and figure out how to use it and dray your clothing.

Room Tip: we stayed in a unit 1 type. other types are different and of course more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was very pleased with Eaton House. It is in a great location - very close to restaurants and the grocery store. The staff was very friendly. When I arrived, I needed to get to Victoria Park to register for a race, and the gentleman checking me in was kind enough to walk me down to the street and give directions to the cab. I also had no money because I hadn't had time to exchange money yet, and he loaned me cash. I would like to have seen the equipment in the workout room be in better working conditions. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biot, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Location in the center of Wanchai close to Hopewell Center but very quiet (for Hong Kong !) as it is not on Queen's road. We had very good nigths
We had a 2 rooms appt (approx same size as the studio but still not small) ;2 TV sets: one in bedroom and the other in the living room ! Connected to cable TV); we were lucky to have a fair weather for jan/febr (around 22°C) so no problem for the heating.
There are 3 appts per floor with not a single wall in between them.
There is a small gym on the first level with a few well kept equipment (bike, scandinavian ski, runing mill).
The hotel has been renovated recently (less than one year probably) and is clean.This is not a 5 star hotel but still very comfortable with a lot of space for storage (there are some long term residents)
Service is good (cleaning and linen changed every two days) and the staff is excellent and sparing no effort for assistance and help (extra chairs and plates,taxis , etc...).
Value for money : excellent for 3 weeks !
No doubt we will return next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stareast2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was very impressed by this hotel. I stayed for 3 weeks and would definitely return to this property when I return to HK. I had a studio and it was very clean and well-kept. Hot water was readily available even when you turn the water heater on minutes before taking a shower. Nice bonus was the in-room washer/dryer. Staff were very helpful and I was pleased with the housekeeping service, though they seemed to come at random times of the day. Location is great. About a five minute walk away from Wan Chai station and the tram. Quite a few restaurants around the area, QRE plaza (3 mins walk) has some interesting choices and there's a Park and Shop supermarket in the Hopewell Plaza across from that. If you want really fresh produce, Wan Chai market is across the street. There's also a street market too on Tai Yuen road. The hotel is up a steep hill but manageable. As another poster said, the room does get cold in cooler weather as there is no heat (there is AC though). The kitchen and bathroom have a constant open window for the fan, so sweaters or a portable heater is recommended. But this place is great and very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almightyzuchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked Eaton House after reading a lot of reviews of other Hong Kong hotels which said the rooms were very small. We were staying for two weeks so wanted some space and Eaton House was ideal. Our room had an extremely comfortable double bed, a large bathroom, double sofa and large screen TV, small dining area and a small kitchen, which was perfect for our needs. It was also on the 17th floor, so we had quite a view. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful - particularly when we had a small problem with a leak in the bathroom.

It was a short walk to Wan Chai MTR station and the No.15 bus from the stop at the bottom of Wan Chai Gap Road goes to the Peak in one direction and Central Piers in the other, so you're never far from any of the main attractions. We also loved walking around the local markets and temples in Wan Chai, within five minutes of the hotel.

The only note of caution is that Wan Chai Gap Road is EXTREMELY steep. And although Eaton House is only a short walk up the hill, it can be a bit of a struggle, particularly if you've got heavy luggage. We're experienced walkers and after a long day it was tough going sometimes. Taxis will go right to the door, though so bear that in mind when you arrive.

All in all, it was a fantastic place to stay and perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
420 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel rooms on cold days as in Jan are cold. Ask for a heater if you want a warmer indoor climate.
The rooms are for Hong Kong quite big. All rooms have a small separate kitchen with a washing mashine/dryer which is quite convienient.
If you enjoy exersize you will have some walking up Wanchai Gap Road to the hotel from Queens Road East.

Too things are disturbing:

Smoking in a non smoking hotel. This was informed to the front desk at two occasions but nothing was done about it!

It is also very disturbing and annoying when the housekeeping misses continuously to replace water, towels and toilet paper.
Would we come back? Maybe if the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton H, Manager at Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your valuable comments with us on your recent trip in Hong Kong.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. After considering your comments, we will propose to put a heating fan in all guest rooms.
It also concerns us to read the comments regarding our Housekeeping staff and I extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and will work on to improve our services.

I sincerely hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Eaton House Wan Chai Gap Road.

Best Regards,

Tily Wong
Eaton House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
#28 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#125 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#78 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#119 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road

Property: Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road
Address: 3-5 Wan Chai Gap Road | Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#104 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road is just a few minutes' walk from Wan Chai MTR station and is equally close to the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. Residents can also enjoy the use of a gym and a tranquil communal terrace. One night stays are also available at this Eaton House as well as the normal longer term stays. Close to the Hong Kong Stadium, home to a number of major sports events including the upcoming Hong Kong Rugby Sevens, Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road is only 10 minutes away by taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Residences, Wan Chai Gap Road Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing