We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant!!”
Review of Laris Modern Australian Cuisine - CLOSED

Laris Modern Australian Cuisine
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A suberb new restaurant in Hong Kong presenting modern Aussie cuisine, by a celebrity chef David Laris. Classy environment with amazing food.
1 review
“Just brilliant!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was recommended by a friend of mine and was really exexcited about this new dining spot in hk. From the moment we walked in we were looked after, the food was excellent and was beautifully complemented by the service. The staff were very attentive and were always ready to help. I would rate this as one of the hottest new restaurants in Hong Kong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went to LARIS for the 7 course tasting menu. Amazing value, superb flavors and a really great atmosphere. The open kitchen adds a great dimension to the experience. We loved that you could get such amazing quality food in a more casual and hip setting. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sadly let down”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This new restaurant by Laris and Dining Concepts was a massive disappointment. When comparing it to the Laris of Shanghai, there is no comparison. Service was very average. On entering with coats and brolly, nobody offered to hang them up or look after them for us. We had to hang them on an empty table next to us. The waiting staff were nice, but not very attentive - rarely did they fill up a glass of wine. On the one occasion that they did, they used the next table's white wine, which was kept in the same ice bucket as ours. The food was intricate and clever,good ingredients, but all very much underseasoned and bland. The venue's design is attractive, but its rather tight and you just get them impression that they tried to cram in as many guests as possible into what is a small venue. Although the open kitchen works very well and adds to the atmosphere. The restaurant was half full. Am not sure how the kitchen would cope with a full service. We had gone to this restaurant with high expectations. Sadly we left very underwhelmed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FergalHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Apart from really small portions it's very good”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice atmosphere, very good service, excellent wine list and overall a good menue. Had the lamb which was excellent, but also the veal and pasta can be recommended. Make sure you reserve in advance to get a table at the window

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laris Modern Australian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing