We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BEST BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twenty One Whitfield
Ranked #144 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Saigon, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST BEST BEST”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I wont say too much here except that you won't regret staying here. The bed is super comfy. The view is incredible. The only bad thing about this hotel is that not too many taxi drivers know this street. BTW, it is very close to Victoria Park.

I hope they dont increase the price for my next visit.

Room Tip: Try the nearby restaurants. If you want to coffee there is a nearby Starbucks at the MRT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    69
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
76
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Despite calling themselves a boutique hotel this is no more than serviced apartments, and as serviced apartments go this was comfortable, clean and rather nice.

Well above the average box room you tend to find in Hong Kong the apartment provided a nice sized room with a comfortable bed and a decent walk in shower.

The bed was on wheels though and during the night would gently role towards the full sized glass windows, ok if you fine with heights but scary for those with a phobia.

The views from 29th floor were stunning looking down towards the convention centre and the harbour.

But this hotel lacks any other services, so it's not a hotel really.

Arrival was odd, full payment on arrival and then the sting in the tail was that a further amount was taken as a security deposit, first we knew was when the card went back in the machine, it was also suggested that the damage security was HKD500 per room per night and we had four rooms for three nights so in total they took HKD6000, now who would have thought we would have accumulated that much damage in four rooms, but at 11pm where else can you go so given no choice it had to be paid.

I would go back now I'm aware of this so it's trivial in the scheme, overall I slept well and felt refreshed each day so it met its objective.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank agilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

These apartments are bigger than other HK rooms, and well laid out and equipped. There are nice L'Occitane toiletries provided, and free communal washing machines and dryers. The bed is very comfortable, but what really sets it apart are the views. The bed is positioned at the end of the room, surrounded by floor to ceiling windows with views over the harbour. We were on the 26th floor, but the floors above must have an even better view. There is also a roof terrace which can be booked for private functions, or used by guests. The free hotel shuttle bus goes from a stop about 3 or 4 minutes away (H2). The staff are friendly and helpful. A bit more expensive that other places, but we had decided to treat ourselves on the last few nights of our trip, and weren't disappointed. Victoria Park is only a few minutes away, and worth walking through if you're up early on day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the top of the building - floor 30 or above - to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieBooboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There was this event I had to attend at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center. But instead of paying the same price for a room with no view within walking distance to the HKCEC, I chose instead to come a bit farther out and was lucky enough to have landed at Twenty One Whitfield.

The building that is Twenty One Whitfield is sandwiched between older buildings. I booked the harbour view room with a request for a high floor and was given the unit on the 33rd Floor. The view was great! However, looking down to the next residential building within a stone’s throw distance, I cannot help but think that guests staying in a harbour view room on any floor below the 30th Floor will get to see only the windows of their temporary neighbors in Hong Kong. It should also be noted that people in all adjacent buildings are able to see into your room. I know this because I could see through the glass panes of the non-harbour view rooms on the other side of this L-shaped building. Photographs are attached to illustrate both of these issues.

Breakfast service is not available as there is no restaurant outlet at this hotel. But if you are comfortable with local food, you should find interesting choices within walking distance in the morning.

I read from a couple of the reviews here before visiting that the taxi drivers don’t really know Whitfield Road. This turned out to be more than true. If this happens to you, try to tell your driver that Whitfield is next to Electric Road. That may help. Whitfield Road itself is only maybe 200 meters long but Electric seems to be a more prominent landmark.

One tip for you is to take advantage of bus numbers 5 and 5X. Whitfield Road is the beginning of both lines. These buses are parked right outside the hotel’s door. You can take any of them all the way to Wan Chai and walk to the convention center if that is your destination. Alternatively, you can take the bus to the nearest MTR station and switch. I find that to be more convenient than to walk back up to the Fortress Hill MTR station which is about half a kilometer away.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view room on a floor from the 30th and up for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruckdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and since I knew the area quite well moving around was not an issue.
The room is big in comparison with other hotels with similar pricing and it was well equipped. With simple cooking facilities and a good bathroom you can really stay in if you are tired without feeling squeezed within a small area. Everything is so new which is a big plus for me.
There is no housekeeping everyday so you do need to keep it a little tidy and not mindlessly use the towels within the day. A deposit of HKD2000 will be needed and you can charged to your card or pay in cash. I charged to card which they will reverse it when you leave though they told me they cannot do it on the spot. I received an email after that to confirm the cancellation.
The bus terminal is right outside and the 2 buses bring you to causeway bay and central. My preferred MTR stop is Tin Hau as you can walk along Electric Road and pick up some yummy egg tarts or other snacks. The shops along Electric Road have changed so much and the eateries are of good standard. I tried they yarkitori on the side road which is a hole in the wall and it was good. The Violet confectionary has the best egg tarts and only the local knows. A few shops away has a roast meat shop and I enjoyed the pigeon so much. The area is an old residential place and may not be every tourist cup of tea but only for those who want to live a little like the local.
I will stay there again as I loved to lived outside the tourist belt when I am in Hong Kong.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank AmatrurLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed in an upper floor apartment for 3 nights and really enjoyed this place. It was exactly as represented in the pictures, very clean, awesome L'Occitane toiletries, beautiful spacious rainshower stall, and the mattress was very comfortable. The evening view was fantastic as well - I must have spent an hour each night staring out the windows. Having toured Hong Kong for 7 days before, the self-service laundry was much appreciated, and free detergent was supplied too. Staff were attentive and friendly.

The only drawbacks were the lack of gym facilities on the premises, although Victoria Park is a 5 minute walk away and you could go running there (despite the air pollution), or people-watch in the morning. There are many restaurants nearby and tons of food options, however, if you do not speak Cantonese or Mandarin it could be more challenging, as many menus did not include English.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hiking_girl_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

stayed initially for 2 nights but ended up 3 because of the typhoon. definitely has more space than most HK hotels and has a kitchenette w some cutlery. they didn't let me in before 2pm but stored my luggage for me. checkin was quick they require 1000hkd as security deposit. service was cold and they can definitely improve on that. was happy with my room bec it was spacious and there were more english channels than usual. bathroom was ok too and lifts were speedy. the 5 and 5x buses stop at the hotel so travel to pacific place and central is convenient. i would probably choose to stay elsewhere since it's a bit pricey and it is quite a walk to tin hau or fortress hill station plus they don't offer breakfast. the room was great though!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GissyWissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#102 of 718 in Hong Kong
614 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
274 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#55 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty One Whitfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty One Whitfield

Property: Twenty One Whitfield
Address: No.21 Whitfield Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twenty One Whitfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Twenty One Whitfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twenty One Whitfield Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing