We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pennington by Rhombus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Ranked #68 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fabulous hotel in a great location. The staff were very professional and attentive. We were upgraded to a suite on the 21st floor which was a lovely surprise, apparently no hotel rooms are large in HK but this is to be expected. We were more than pleased with our room, the bed was comfy with great pillows, there was a black out blind so we could catch up on sleep whenever we needed, the bathroom was modern with a powerful shower. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hong Kong. We didn't bother with the breakfast as there were plenty of places in the area to grab something to eat in the morning from a coffee shop across the road to an authentic dining experience around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Fifiland,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and sharing your review at Trip Advisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed with your recent stay with us and welcoming you back to Hotel Pennington by Rhombus in the near future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    197
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
74
129
47
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay. I prefer the room type this time, where the bathroom is stand alone.
Great location though not easy for your airport transfer to park directly outside hotel.
Very friendly and helpful staff concerige and house keeping. also very quirkly lobby on the 4th floor with a stylish balcony deck.
Probably an one off incident I was delayed 15mins for check out because they were busy and forgotten I was in the queue. Overall, I would recommend if you like a urban style boutique hotel tucked away in the hustle and bustle of Causeway Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear St A,

Thank you for your support with us. We are most grateful to you for sharing your experience at TripAdvisor. Your kind word of gratitude towards all members at Hotel Pennington is greatly appreciated.

I do apologise for your departure experience and the delay during the check out process. It is not our normal standard and I do hope it did not put a damper on your overall experience.

It was a pleasure to have you as our valuable guest again and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

With best wishes,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel because the serviced apartment I was putting up at down the street was just crappy. I was very glad I made the move. For almost the same price (in fact lower), I got a bigger and clean room with a nice layout. I upgraded to the Premier room which has the twin beds we required and checked in earlier. The staff was very efficient to give us the offer to upgrade when the Superior room wasn't available for early check in. Well, it might be their tactic for earning more revenue out of the situation, but I feel it's a better value than the serviced apartment still. The staff were friendly and accommodating to our requests (we requested for late checkout till 1pm). The location is great, just a short stroll from Causeway Bay MTR and Sogo. It will definitely be on my shortlist for hotels to stay in Causeway Bay if the hotel prices remain competitive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milkcandies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear milkcandies,

Thank you for sharing your review at Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write your valuable comment, as our valuable guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. Your kind word of gratitude towards all members at Hotel Pennington is greatly appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Pennington by Rhombus in the near future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. Excellent location - 3 mins walk to Sogo, and 5 mins walk to Times Square. Causeway Bay MTR station is also 3 mins walk away.
Room (and the lift too) is a bit small. But room is cosy, modern, nice and clean!

Would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Yeen P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently!

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus! We are look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I really want to give the Hotel Pennington a good review; yes, as you'll read from everyone, these rooms are quite, ahem, petite. That was not much of a problem though since we were not in Hong Kong to enjoy the interior of our hotel room. The beds, however, are quite hard. These two things aside, the hotel is rather chic with a great atmosphere and attentive and helpful staff. My problems stemmed from other guests and the physical layout of this hotel; each floor is rather small and only contains four rooms, which means your door is very close to the doors of others. Our neighbors were noisy jerks late at night who loved to smoke, which means that I got to breath their second hand smoke at random hours of the morning and night, despite being a in a smoke free room. After complaining to the front desk, they upgraded me for free to a larger room on a higher floor and so my last night was actually very enjoyable, quiet, and, most importantly, smoke free. In hindsight, I should have taken the upgrade for an extra charge when I checked, thereby avoiding these problems. So, on the balance, the hotel and service itself is quite good, but I did not have a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear RPH80,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pennington by Rhombus for your recent stay. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write your valuable comment, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. Your kind word of gratitude towards all members at Hotel Pennington is greatly appreciated.

Thanks again for sharing you delightful experience at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our valuable guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel for 2 nights as the last leg of my holiday and what a find! This hotel is at the heart of CWB -right next to Lee Gardens and within 5min walk to Sogo, Hysan Place and Time Square. The staff were so lovely and the room was very modern and clean. I think the room is on the smaller side - however any hotel rooms in HK are quite small. I had requested for a higher floor prior to my stay and special thanks to the staff who organised level 23 for me. All in all I had a great time at the hotel and would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jingling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Amy L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently!

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus! We are look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Hi
Just a perfect hotel, value price, perfect service!
So, i can recommend it to you.

If you needed help, Jack the concierge will help you out , allways with a smile! Thanks especially to him

Have a good stay in HK!

Cheers from Switzerland

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hansjoerg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Hansjoerg W,

Thank you for your entire stay with us! Your kind words of gratitude towards the members at Hotel Pennington, especially our Concierge team, Jack is greatly appreciated. Your comment about our team is an excellent example of the services levels we strive for at Rhombus International Hotels Group properties.

Thanks again for sharing you delightful experience at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our valuable guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

With warm regards,
Elaine Lam
gm_hpn@rhombusinternationa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#64 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#19 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pennington by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennington by Rhombus

Property: Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Address: 13-15 Pennington Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pennington by Rhombus 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominently situated at the centre of Causeway Bay and just 4 minutes away from the MTR Causeway Bay Station, Hotel Pennington by Rhombus offers easy access to famed attractions including Times Square, SOGO, Hysan Place and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. All smoke-free guestrooms are furnished with supreme quality mattress and pillow options, sophisticated in-room facilities, independent WiFi connectivity, and a rain shower with exquisite bathroom amenities, making every guest's stay an enjoyable and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pennington by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pennington By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing