We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 night stay at a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Ranked #105 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are from Canada and on our first visit to hong Kong. We found this hotel was in a great location in causeway Bay close to the train, shopping and restaurants. The staff were amazing and were always happy to help with anything with a smile. The room with a king bed was a good size and very comfortable. The greeting staff at the front door mainly the older gentleman was happy to chat and offer his help. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinanaboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear sinanaboud,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pennington by Rhombus for your recent stay. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write your valuable comment, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. Your kind word of gratitude towards all members at Hotel Pennington is greatly appreciated.

Thanks again for sharing you delightful experience at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our valuable guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 499 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

It is generally an enjoyable stay for us, a family of three, from 6 March to 8 March. We are given an upgrade from a Deluxe to Executive room. The room is very clean and well kept. But a minus point would be the lack of space or rack for our luggage and stuff. The lifts are rather small. However, we do not experience any problem or delay in waiting for the lifts as we are on holiday and do not have to take the lifts during the peak hours during check-in or check-out. The staff are very polite and helpful in attending to our enquiries. We will certainly consider staying here again for our next trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dftan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear dftan,

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We are most grateful to you for sharing your experience at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus. Please let me know personally if I can assist with your travel arrangements in the coming future.

With best wishes,
Elaine Lam
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Plus:
Nice and clean hotel, very good location for shopping around. Very close to Lee Gardens Causwaybay. Staff is very friendly.
Minus:
No good restaurant very close to the hotel and rooms are not so big, but this is Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Higher rooms = less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Serge M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently!

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus! We wish you safe travel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us for any assistance in the coming future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The good - clean modern room, always 2-3 very friendly and helpful concierge staff in the lobby. Convenient location with no street noise on the high floor. Relatively easy to get a taxi and close to tram stop and mtr though on return trips found it easier to give the Regal Hotel as an address and walk from there as Pennington Street was not as well recognised. No big deal though.

The not so good - room is v e r y tiny. Had to squeeze sideways to access space between bed and wall so that I could get onto the bed. There was nowhere to put the suitcase so I used the one plastic chair in the room as luggage rack which then meant I had no chair to sit at the desk area which ran under the window. However, because the bed is so close to the edge of the room anyway, this served as a desk chair. Shower (no bath) has no shelf or ledge to place soap, shampoo etc and shower door opens in such a way, that you have to step out of the shower to access these items if you put them on the basin (or you have to hold onto these items throughout the shower). Very annoying. Rain shower head fills shower too quickly so stuck with the hand shower.

The doors to all rooms on the floor (4/5) are clustered close together and around the elevator so noisy neighbours can be disturbing and the 'ping' of the lift can wake you up in the early morning. I was there 10 nights and had a strong smell of smoke in my room from next door at least 3 days during the stay. I did complain once, and the complaint was handled very promptly with hotel staff going next door and asking the guest to stop smoking. Area was sprayed and it was a little improved. The staff then called my room to update me that they had taken action which I thought was a nice touch. But - of course, the guest continued to smoke once staff had gone.
Check-in staff were unfriendly but ok.
I would stay there again if it were a 2 or 3 day stay but will not do a long stay again. Mainly due to room size which became rather claustrophobic (I was there for work so was not out all day). At times, very inconsistent Wi-Fi access was also irritating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr9145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Wendy9145,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pennington by Rhombus for your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel location during your stay, however, we are more concerned about our valuable guest to have the satisfaction experience during the stay with us. We always welcome feedback to improve our services throughout the hotel and your valuable comments which has shared with our team.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us for any assistance in the future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Best parts of our stay
1. Very modern design and lighting.
2. It was awesome to have buttons in the room that notify staff of when not to disturb and when we request to clean up.
3. Very clean and comfortable - housekeeping does a great job.
4. The staff were very friendly and accommodating with anything we asked for (transformers, adapters, extra toiletries, etc.)
5. Very close to MTR, ding ding train, and high-end malls.
6. We got an upgrade from the standard room, which was a nice surprise.
7. Not exactly sound-proof to shower noises and loud guests, but fairly quiet since there are only a few rooms per floor.
8. Rooms had tea cups, glasses, water boiler, complimentary water daily, and fridge with ample space.

Annoying parts of our stay
1. The room only has electricity when the key card is inserted in a slot by the door. I can see how this is being green, but I found it annoying because we had only one key card at first. We ended up requesting a second card so that I didn't get left in the dark if my husband went out since he needed to key card to operate the elevator.
2. We went during winter where the weather could be as cool as 12C (54F) to as warm as 22C (72F). We didn't have a problem when the weather was warm, but when it was cold/cool, our room would not be warmer than 18C (64F). We asked if the heat was broken in the room and were told that it could take 3-5 hours for the temperature to change, which it did not, even when the thermostat was set to heat to 32C (90F). The weather was cold/cool for only the first 2 days we were there so we didn't complain further, but it shouldn't take 3-5 hours to warm up, and the "warmest" it ever got was 22C (72F) because it was 22C (72F) weather outside.
3. We requested a non-smoking room and did receive one. However, for a few days, we wondered why our room would occasionally have a weird smell and we realized that the guests smoked in the room next to us and the smoke seeped into our room. We were going to check-out soon so there was no point in complaining about this, but I would have thought that non-smoking guests would be on non-smoking floors with other non-smoking guests - not sure if that's the case. This is solely our neighbor's fault and not the hotel's, but it would be nice if the hotel could help avoid this situation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear dreamiiluvz,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel’s location and staff’s service at the hotel, however, we are more concerned about our valuable guest to have the satisfaction experience during your stay with us. We always welcome feedback to improve our services throughout the hotel and your valuable comments which has shared with our team.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us for any assistance in the future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location of hotel is great! Very close to everything - food, major shopping malls and MTR
However the hot water system was poor - the hot water would cut in and out so imagine standing in the shower with flashes of cold water esp during the cold weather (not what you would want)
Quite small space but very clean.
There are only two lifts so sometimes there could be a long wait and they are quite small.
Great and friendly staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Jess H,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Pennington by Rhombus for your recent stay. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write your valuable comment, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. Your kind word of gratitude towards all members at Hotel Pennington is greatly appreciated.

Thanks again for sharing you delightful experience at Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you as our valuable guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I rarely write review but think I should share some thoughts here to advise whoever that may decide to stay in this hotel any time soon - it is simply not worth it.

Decided to stay in this hotel because of the nice photos, and the belief that Rhombus group would deliver reasonably good service. Unfortunately, I had to leave with disappointment.

Stayed there in late Jan in a room on the 12th floor, have to say that the stay was not a pleasant one.

The hotel is situated in the middle of a small road, with plenty of traffic and people. It does get noisy because of this neighbourhood.

Service was non-existent. Nobody looks at you in the eye when you go pass the front door or the reception. All staff looked as if they have a bad day. When tried to ask for direction, they simply failed to indicate which way I should go, and offered me to take a taxi when it was only a 5-8 minute walk, as it is "easier", as they said. How ridiculous!

The room looked alright and reasonably clean, but it was much smaller than what you see in the photos. Don't expect you can have space to leave an open suitcase in the room, or space to move around at all.

Had to wait for the elevator constantly, and it broke down a few times. When it happened, the staff just asked us to wait without any sense of urgency, and was not even apologetic, as if it is supposed to be part of our hotel stay experience.

Worst of all, when I tried to bring all these to management's attention, I was given a number to contact the Hotel General Manager, Ms. Lam, which would never go through. Nobody seems to care about these matters anyway and I decided to give up.

Very disappointing indeed.

Training and more "care" is very much needed in order for the hotel to keep up its three star standard. After all, this is a hotel, not an apartment. Service is part of the component. Without the personal touch, the hotel is nothing but an empty shell.

I have stayed in various hotels in Hong Kong and Hotel Pennington is by far the worst one. Will not stay here again, nor will recommend this hotel or Rhombus group to anyone.

Go to J plus Hotel if you have the same budget - stayed their twice and they have far better service and value for what you pay for

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine L, Manager at Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Mr. Frank K,

First of all, thank you for your review about Hotel Pennington by Rhombus.

At Hotel Pennington by Rhombus, we aim to deliver 100% satisfaction to our guests; however on this particular occasion, the level of service you received was unacceptable. It is with great regret to hear of such experience with us and we are concerned to hear of your unsatisfactory experience. I absolutely agree with your comment about service with a personal touch and caring for guests. Kindly be assured that I have personally addressed these issues with all the concerned associates and we shall conduct training to all members of the team to reinforce this and ultimately avoid recurrence.

Mr. Frank K, your comments and constructive criticisms are always greatly appreciated; without such observations, our team would not be able to improve on their performance and be able to work on serving you better in your subsequent visits to any of our Rhombus Hotels in the near future.

Please feel free to contact myself directly for arrangements in the future and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
Elaine Lam
Hotel Manager
gm_hpn@rhombusinternational.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#112 of 730 in Hong Kong
319 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#94 of 730 in Hong Kong
627 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#47 of 730 in Hong Kong
185 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#71 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,651 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#120 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pennington by Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pennington by Rhombus

Address: 13-15 Pennington Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $114 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pennington by Rhombus 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prominently situated at the centre of Causeway Bay and just 4 minutes away from the MTR Causeway Bay Station, Hotel Pennington by Rhombus offers easy access to famed attractions including Times Square, SOGO, Hysan Place and the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. All smoke-free guestrooms are furnished with supreme quality mattress and pillow options, sophisticated in-room facilities, independent WiFi connectivity, and a rain shower with exquisite bathroom amenities, making every guest's stay an enjoyable and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pennington by Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pennington By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing