We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as Bistro food but average as Restaurant food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro du Vin

Bistro du Vin
Ranked #1,077 of 7,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sai Wan
Singapore
Level Contributor
464 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“Good as Bistro food but average as Restaurant food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Personally, I would not make my way here for this french restauarant unless I am in the in vicinity.

Ambience: Noisy & cramped. It sounded like a Chinese restaurant.
Wifi: Available upon request
Food : Awesome - Salad Nicoise, Escargot & Bone Marrow, Roast pork.
Duck confit is OK but not a WOW!
The Grand Marnier Souffle is HUGE! I love it. Very HK style, not french of course.

It is very popular because it is reasonably priced

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MouMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“One of the best french food in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nicely surprised by this honest and casual dinning experience. The food is excellent and authentic. And prices are reasonable. One of my favorite place so far in HK!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elodie161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was invited to this restaurant for my brother-in-law's birthday party end of March. We went on high expectation as everyone says that they have a great wine selection and foods are great. Well, they do have a large wine menu and their prices are reasonable. However, everything is French and all, but three, are Burgundy (I am a fan of Bordeaux and Tuscany.) In reality, the choices are very limited if you don't like Burgundy.

Foods, well, were really not up to expectation. The recommended seafood soup is expensive, averagely done, and poorly presented. Steak and fish were all just average. I was excited to learn that they have bone marrow available. To my disappointment, the dish was undercooked. Bone marrow actually tastes superb if it is slightly burnt. I am surprised the chef does't know this at all. The dish was mediocre. The only good dishes were Ox-tail and Cow cheek. Overall, I can only rate the food quality as available.

The restaurant is a bistro. So, the place is tightly packed and noisy. As far as a bistro goes, the atmosphere is OK. As for services, it is just what you expected from a busy bistro: Not much worths to talk about. Oh, yes, the waitress broke a few plates when we were there. That was memorable as that turns the whole noisy place quiet for a brief moment.

Bristro du Vin is not a bad choice for Kennedy Town (a residential district.) However, given the high price, you can go to far better places in Central or Tsim Sha Tsui.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bistro food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good selection of French bistro food with good quality, very tasty. Nice atmosphere, very good service (specially description of the different dishes , the way is prepare and so on) . Nice wine list with good value for money. Haven't selected the dessert but seems very good. Highly recommended- Bill around 600$ per head without wine

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good choice in the Western District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Date of visit : 12 Jan 2013 (Sat) noon
No. of diners : 2
Average cost per head : $360
Food quality : 8.5/10
Environment : 8/10
Service : 7/10
Value-for-money : 8.5/10
Overall rating : 8.3/10

Converted from a once popular chinese dessert shop Xiao Tian Gu (小甜谷), the bistro du vin landed on a location which is better for a bistro in the Kennedy Town.
Visited on a Saturday for lunch and found that lunch sets were not available at weekends. With a size of 2 diners, the following dishes were ordered :

a) Baby squid a la plancha ($130) - 8/10
This dish was not a standing item on the menu. Fresh squids from local market were simply fried with olive oil, salt and parsley. The squids were tender and fresh, good to go with a glass of white.

b) Cheesy onion soup ($75) - 7.5/10
Quite a large portion and won't have room for other dishes if you finish the soup all by yourself. The soup is delivered hot and rich. Generous spread of gruyere cheese. Don't know if the sweetness came from the onion itself or sugar was added, the soup was a bit too sweet to me.

c) Crispy suckling pig confit, choucroute (leg $220) - 9/10
This is one of the most popular dishes. You can order the belly portion ($200) or the leg portion which is more meaty. The piglet was beautifully cooked and well deserved its name "crispy". The pork was first slow cooked that kept the moisture in the meat, and then grilled outside to make the skin crispy. The choucroute on side did neutralise part of the pig's fat. However, the sauce that came with the dish seemed redundant as it was quite blend. Anyway, at this price for a French piglet is value for money. Highly recommended.

d) Grand Marnière soufflé, vanille ice cream ($75) - 8/10
I am not a big fan of soufflé but when you saw almost one every two tables had ordered this dessert, you just couldn't resist. Many of the dishes are served in Le Creuset cast iron pots which do not only look good but are also practical in keeping the temperature of the food including this soufflé. Timing was well controlled that made the soufflé rose beautifully and sat well on the small pot. Although extra shot of Grand Mariner was demanded for the dessert, to our disappointment, not even extra shot was added, I couldn't taste any of the liquor.

House wine is at around $60 to $75 per glass or $350 per bottle. As corkage is free, highly suggest you BYOB (however, they only serve one type of glasses if you bring mixed wine but that's fair enough as compared to those who charge for corkage).

Q : When will I go again?
A : For friends of a group size 4 - 6, casual dinner
Q: What will I next order?
A : Crispy pig will be a re-order item. Rabbit leg in white sauce, slow cook lamb shank.

02.2013

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro du Vin also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Bistro du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing