We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous service!”

The Lounge & Bar at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Ranked #5 of 66 Nightlife in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An ideal all-day dining venue from breakfast onwards, The Lounge & Bar offers à la carte menu, organic salad bar, a wide tea and coffee selection, including its signature Afternoon Tea served daily at 102/F of The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ridiculous service!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table at this lobby lounge as a surprise celebration for a friend's engagement last Friday. We ordered a lot of drinks and a bottle of champagne (for the newly engaged couple to open when they arrive). Several issues:

1. The champagne itself arrived one hour late, so we missed the arrival surprise
2. The bill contains a series of drinks that we did not order (hope this is an honest mistake)
3. A waiter repeatly placed some random drinks that we did not order and failed to take them off the bill when we told them the order was wrong
4. When we raised the issue with additional items on the bill, a waitress (forgot her name) just asked us to identified the wrong drinks without a single apology!!!

I hope the management will read this and can properly reflect the poor service level that is not even accetpable in a 2-star hotel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HongKongTai_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    7
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stunning view from a very special location”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We just came here for drinks one night. The view is as amazing as it can get. Worth while paying 90 HKD a beer and 150 HKD for a glass of winewhich after all is only slightly more than what you pay in a regular pub in the CBD. When we visited there was some very tasteful live music (jazz/pop style), highly professional staff and a wonderful atmosphere. Very much recommended for those special nights out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eurasia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
164 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea on top of the world !”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you're looking for a cup of tea with a view , look no further than the Ritz Carlton Lounge & Bar. Situated on the 102nd floor , you get a birds eye view over Kowloon and HK Island. Service was superb (exactly what you'd come to expect from a Ritz Carlton) , and the decor sumptuous. The atmosphere was light and airy , with the piano player adding a touch of elegance to the proceedings. The china serve ware is stunning , as is the selection of delicate delights on the 3 tier afternoon tea stand. Overall a great afternoon , and good value for what you get. I much preferred this experience than the "tourist conveyor belt" you get at the famous Peninsula Hotel.
Next time i think i'll stay for dinner too !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeaDream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Incredible views at an incredible price”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I am not bashful about paying for the best hotels, and this one certainly puts that to the test. I was astonished at the high pressure "used car dealer" experience when checking in. It was as though the clerk got a percentage of the up sell. I discussed the experience with the duty manager, who was very understanding and who apologized for the bad impression. Once in the room, I was thrilled. The view is mesmerizing. The comfort of the bed was outstanding. All in all, I am glad I stayed here for the experience, but I prefer the service and total experience of the MO.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning views!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recommend booking in advance if you want to guarantee a window seat and on a clear day, the views are to die for!

We stopped by here on a gorgeous sunny day to have tea and coffee and what a great experience! Situated on the 102nd floor accessed from the 103rd is the stunning Lounge & Bar. When we arrived staff were preparing tables ready for afternoon tea but managed to accommodate us despite not having a reservation albeit not a table with a view as they had been booked well in advance. It is easy to see why this lounge bar is popular and despite not exactly being dressed for such a 'swanky' place, we were not made to feel at all out of place.

Worth a visit but book ahead!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge & Bar at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to The Lounge & Bar at The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing