We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lotus leaf rice”

Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po
Ranked #50 of 8,204 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Sham Shui Po
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious lotus leaf rice”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to IFC Mall branch but it was closed down. Searched for the Sham Shui Po branch & managed to find it after 10-15min walk from MTR. Went in the evening and there was no queue at all. The glutinous rice in lotus leaf was very tasty. Price is average but food is good.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetzlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    319
    111
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Buns ever”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Some walking distance away from the nearest MTR (Sham Shui Po) about 10-15 mins walk. Was there at around 5pm Sunday, not crowded. Food served quickly. Although I didn't tried every single dish, but I would definitely recommend the baked bun with BBQ pork, it comes in 3s and shrimp wrapped in beancurd skin too, cuts into 6s. These 2 are my favourites.

And if you are planning to go all the way to Sham Shui Po, might as well visit the street stalls and toy shops (closes quite early around 7pm) as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ymkho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Went there on a Monday morning and there's no to queue at all. I guess everyone is at work and it's not the peak hour. The Polo Char Siew Bao is a must to eat (and I even order for take away). The dimsum are slightly bigger than the ones in Malaysia, especially the chicken feet. I will sure go back in my next visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samanthachangss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buns, Buns, Heavenly Buns!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Service in this restaurant is snappy (hey, more hungry people are waiting outside). We came here for the pork buns they are famous for. The buns are.. can't describe the taste and experience with mere words. If I must, it's an out of this world, melts in your mouth bun from Heaven.

Traveller Tip:
The order slip is in Chinese. They provide, however, a small menu riddled with pictures. It does not cover all items on the menu but I'd like to think it features the most popular choices. Just point at those items you like when the staff comes over to take your order (Don't forget the pork buns). Goes without saying, you're one lucky guy to have a local accompany you here for a meal. Tim Ho Wan is really about the pork buns. The other dim sum items are one of the best in Hong Kong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ignorance is bliss”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Before knowing about tim ho wan i could eat at any dim sum joint and be happy. NO MORE. it is not a meal, it a lifestyle, utterly delicious, well thought out treats, served snappily. Service is quick, efficient and just how you want it, no messing around, bring me the FOOD. We went three times in four days and although vaguely embarrassed to mention this, we are planning a trip back to hong kong in the fall just to eat this food. Aiming this time for the four in four!
an utterly wonderful and delicious eating experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddySushiMonsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po also viewed

 

Been to Tim Ho Wan Sham Shui Po? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing