We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #69 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The hotel was excellent. Rooms were quite big and found it convenient and comfortable despite 3 adults staying in the room. View from the hotel was very good. Breakfast had a good spread and there were few Indian dishes also which suited us. The service was good and they provided an early check-in which really helped. The staff at the reception especially the concierge in particular Andy was very helpful whenever we needed any assistance to go to any place.

The only drawback to the hotel is the entry point which has 15 to 20 steps and it was quite difficult with luggage. They have alternative but it is extremely difficult to find the way. It is fine for those who arrive in a coach or car but those who come by public transport find this an irritant.

The hotel is quite far from the city centre but there is a metro station (Shek Mun) nearby from where one can go anywhere(however it requires atleast 3 to 4 changes in metro routes to reach the city centre. However it is refreshing to be in such an open place since the city centre is narrow and crowded.

There is a store in the hotel building which is convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1709 which had a good view but whenever people pass by there is sound. On the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahads301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    263
    53
    11
    15
See reviews for
160
145
50
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days during X-mas. The hotel lobby is nice and big and is what I hoped to expect from a Marriott Courtyard. Our room was modern, clean and the furniture including TV was definitely up to date. So was the bathroom which included a shower which I prefer over a bathtub. Only small nuisance and perhaps for others a plus here is that that the bathroom has a window that looks out on the bedroom. Even though you can close the curtains, light always shines through which at night can be an issue. Breakfast was not included for me as a silver rewards member and so we didn't try that one out.

A shuttle service is provided to the Sha Tin metro station or you can walk for 5 minutes to the Shek Mun station. Because the shuttle service doesn't go very frequently (I think it was every hour on the hour) it never fit our itinerary and so we ended almost every time walking through an industrial area to the Shek Mun station. In the morning and afternoon this is not a problem because of the people working there, later at night though coming back at around 10 or 11pm there are very little people on the street and it may give you an uncomfortable feeling.

Taking the MTR (subway) you also after a day or 2 notice the drawback of the location which is inconvenient and far from most tourist destinations like Kowloon or Hong Kong Island. To give you an idea in order to go to station Tsim Sha Tsui where Nathan Road (major shopping street) and the Avenue of the Stars are you will have to go from the brown subway line, to a blue, to a green and finally a red line and cross 3 times in major subway stations using in total 11 stations (45-55 mins). This may not be an issue for 1 day but going back and forth to the hotel to prepare for dinner or taking a rest in the late afternoon for 4 days is a burden. Cost however is very low when using an Octopus card and it's a very safe way of traveling.

Other than that the hotel was a very good experience.

Room Tip: It's nice to be on a high floor because of the view on the surrounding environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roland604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank your for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Modern and decently appointed hotel which overlooks the river and is striking distance to the Race Course. In fact the rooms that overlook the race course could potentially offer a vantage point for those that follow the major races,
As noted in other recent reviews, the hotel offers a free shuttle to the Shatin station until 10 pm. The supermarket at the base of the hotel is very convenient especially for families. The breakfast fare is standard but not exceptional.
Even though the hotel is in Shatin, please stand in the downtown HK taxi queue at the airport and not the New territories queue.

Room Tip: I suggest taking a room that does not overlook the racecourse if you want a good nights sleep as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is quite new and quiet. Situated in Shatin, one can catch the direct airport bus AP41B which costs only HK$27.70!
There's also buses that transported us conveniently to tshimshatsui and wanchai. The rides were only a leisurely 1 hour.
There was also a regular shuttle bus that brought us to the nearby malls and MTR station.
The room was bigger than most HK hotels and quite comfortable. Good strong shower and a comfortable bed. Although my side of the bed was a bit sunken (new?) I managed to catch good sleep every night I was there.
Staff were also relatively helpful and friendly and I appreciated the services of Pierre from Concierge and Kate and Danielle from the Front Desk. They also spoke quite good English so communications was not a problem. I did encounter an off-putting staff, Erika? She was rude and rather abrupt in handling my enquiries.
The only setbacks for me was the sunken mattress, the tap that was too near the edge of the sink, the too high shower and that my neighbors were rather noisy as they returned late at night. I could hear them through the walls/main door.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view, so you can catch the sunset every day :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAngi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel lot of times since I am a group leader.initially I thought it would be very very far from city,but no I was wrong..its not that far as and is well connected as they have free shuttle service to nearest metro station.also a big supermatket downstairs!

The breakfast is what I would like to praise,as all my group members enjoyed it every time.they have a really good spread.
Last but certainly not the least..a special thanks to the staff of this hotel for being helpful,courteous and very very patient with my guests..specially the staff at reception like Helen,Carmen, Erika and rest:)
Would definitely recommend everyone.thankyou again guys!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitd336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Though hotel is bit out of the way, the transportation is easy from the hotel. Hotel staff are very helpful to give direction and keep the customer well informed. Taxis are easy to find and hotel provide free transportation to near by at a scheduled time. Food was excellent and staff are very friendly and provide a professional service. The new shopping mall located in the area is large and has enough choice for buying and dinning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maylene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were told its a little out of town which it was but, very well conneceted by the MTR service, walking distance from shekmun station. Taxis always available and free shuttle provided by the hotel to sha tin MTR( get schedule at the front desk).
Brand new property, beautiful lobby, clean spacious rooms and spacious bathrooms( spaciousby hong kong standards).
The staff very helpful, friendly and courteous.
Breakfast spread in the morning at MoMo cafe lovely. Throughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor facing rooms for amazing views, we had a high rise room on the 27th floor and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planet3earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,339 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regal Riverside Hotel
#154 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,537 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: 1 On Ping Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin 4*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Sha Tin, with a mere 5-minute walk to the MTR Shek Mun Station (Ma On Shan Line), the 524-room Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong Sha Tin features stylish rooms with tranquil views of the Shing Mun River, offering smart and practical choices to make your stay energized and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing