We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit on the small side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #455 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Wagga Wagga
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bit on the small side”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in in September 2013. And yes the rooms are small and the bathroom tiny by our standards however we had been spoilt in some other Chinese hotels on the same trip. The room was OK as we didn't spend a lot of time there. Light over the vanitythough particularly inadequate.
We were on the 28th Floor and the wifi was only marginal at best. The wifi in the lobby was more reliable but the lobby was often fairly noisy.
Location was quite convenient to Nathan Road and public transport. We got the room at a good price so it wasn't bad value for HK but 4 star it isn't.
Room was clean, staff polite and efficient and the bed OK .The hotel just felt older and more dated than the website indicates. Some interesting décor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budge45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    110
    144
    68
    61
See reviews for
58
100
57
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel from 08th till 14th Sept 2013. The staff in general was courteous and friendly and i was checked-in without having to wait for long. The room however was a disappointment. It was very small and perhaps for me it was a first ever room that i stayed in across the globe which didnt have even a cupboard. Only few hooks were provided here and there in the room to hang your clothes on. Washroom was even a bigger disaster. It was extremely small and i was wondering how would a person with a better built will fit into the commode. Shower area was similarly small. Only reason to stay in this hotel would be its location. Very conveniently located in a happening area of the city.
Overall i would rate it as an over priced budget hotel!!

Room Tip: Only choose for its location. Nothing else is worth mentioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahrukh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The room is quite small. Maybe I guess every hotel in Hong Kong (except Four Seasons) whereby the room is small.

It doesn't seem like a 4star hotel to me. It looks like a 3 star or 2 star hotel. The room is dark, the sink is above the mini bar.

It feels weird on how are you going to wash your face and brush your teeth.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are sorry that we did not receive any cancellation from BEST WESTERN International Inc. regarding the reservation for Mr XXXXX. It would be highly appreciated that you can provide the proof of your cancellation with both of the room and the flight. We will pass these information to our management to see whether we can do something for XXXXX.

We hope that you should understand that we have hold the room for XXXXXX for overnight. No-show charge applied is reasonable if we do not receive any cancellation notice

Impossible.

This was an email send by the Hotel * No way to get to Hong Kong as all flight cancelled due to Usagi, very customer polite

Room Tip: Dis not see the room as this hotel expected to take a swim to hong kong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was in Hong Kong for 10 days and stayed at the Best Western Grand Hotel. When I booked this hotel it had a 4 star rating. Ive stayed at many 4 star hotels and this was not up to standard. The Hotel staff was not very friendly or helpful and at times they were just plan rude. The beds were honestly the worst I have ever slept on, it felt like sleeping on a boxspring not a mattress. A warning if you exchange money at the hotel the bills will need to be in perfect condition, I tried to exchange a few bills, one that had a small tear and another that someone had written on and they will not exchange those. Other money exchange locations exchanged them without a problem, but the hotel would not. They did however have a fair exchange rate.

The Hotel rooms were small as is to be expected for Hong Kong, they are so small at this hotel that they do not even have a closet or dresser. You hang your clothes on hooks in the room and keep everything else in your suitcase. If you are a non smoker you should request a non smoking room. There are rooms available with a double bed but mine had two twin beds. I wish I had known that at the time I booked because changing rooms once I got there was not as easy as I thought. As I mentioned the staff is not very helpful or friendly so asking for anything is treated as an annoyance.

I will say the hotel was not in a bad location. It is in Kowloon close to the Jordan MTR station it is walking distance to several shops, cafes, etc...

The hotel was a decent value, but there were other hotels in that same price range so for my next trip to Hong Kong I will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,496 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 958 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have stayed at many Best Western Hotels around the world and also non-BW hotels in Hong Kong. This hotel was fine. I had an upgraded room (Room Number 2805) which was small, as all HK hotels tend to be, but perfectly clean, well decorated and with a nice view across Kowloon. The hotel breakfast buffet was fairly basic compared to others (such as the Kowloon Hotel off Nathan Road) but was perfectly fine (cereals, eggs, toast, oatmeal, fruit, ham, beans, spring rolls, juices, etc.). I found all the staff to be very efficient, polite and helpful. I had my passport delivered to the hotel after getting a Chinese Visa and they called me and left a note under my door to say it was back with them in reception. I also left two bags all day with the bell boys while I did some sights on my last day (check out was 12 noon and my flight was 11pm) and the bags were safe and sound.
Would have no problems staying here again.

Jordon MTR station is closest and is about a 5-10 minute walk away down Austin Road. Exit the hotel main entrance on the ground floor and turn left, walk past Starbucks then cross over the road and the MTR station is down Nathan Road on the right.

Room Tip: Room 2805 was fine, but sometimes a wait for the elevator for these higher floor levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is located fabulously well for those with only a few days in HK. The free wi-fi is welcome too.
Works for both biz & leisure travelers coz every place you wanna go Kowloon side is a short walk.
The rooms are really really tiny but then that is typical of HK .... the hidden gem is that every floor has 1 large room that is priced higher but is well worth it w.r.t. size & view.
The down side is only 1 plug point in each room which means that u can either charge your phone/laptop or make tea - cant do both.
Lots of nice places to eat close and a lovely store just next to the Austin Avenue lobby entrance called Designtemple. I bought a few things from there for the wife.

Room Tip: read the review ... tips pn rooms in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imraansurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#479 of 718 in Hong Kong
622 reviews
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#262 of 718 in Hong Kong
740 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Address: 23 Austin Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing