We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Nearby Hotels
$431
$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$519
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$476
Cordis Official
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$526
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$266
$209
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Metropark Hotel Mongkok(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$313
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$596
$375
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$220
$210
Regalhotel.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
$637
$597
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveler rating
659
365
56
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
365
56
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswan chaiglass bottomrooftop barcorner roomwanchai marketmosaic wallgreat boutiquenespresso machinequeens roadtop floortoilet and showerdeluxe roomlight switchesexhibition centreloved this hotelminute walkwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I spent a week in July at Hotel Indigo so she could attend a conference at the Conference Center. The hotels recommended by the conference were very expensive, so we booked this less expensive alternative.
Walking to the Conference Center is very easy and convenient! After a one-block walk through a street market, the rest of the way is on an elevated, covered walkway. The entire walk only took about 10 minutes. Some of the walk is through air conditioned buildings, which was nice because it was very hot and humid in July.
The hotel staff was amazing. They had a ready recommendation for everything we asked for. Unless the front desk was very busy, they greeted us at the door and summoned the elevator for us as we walked into the lobby. Our every need was met promptly and cheerfully.
We booked a basic room, but received an upgrade because we're Platinum IHG members. The room was great, and the air conditioning worked fine. We forgot to bring our voltage plug converter, but they had one in the room for us to use. There are lots of other amenities in the room too.
We booked the airport limo for pickup from the hotel. This is a contracted service, and wasn't much more than a taxi. The driver met us outside of customs, and escorted us to a large, comfortable van. He took us right to the hotel door where a bellman met us and took our luggage. We did take a taxi back to the hotel, and had an enjoyable ride then too.
The pool was very nice, but the hot tub was never more than warm, and most of the water jets didn't work. We brought this to the attention of the attendant every day, but nothing was done about it.
The bar was very nice, situated on the top floor. The service was prompt and friendly and very enjoyable. Typical of a hotel bar, though, the drinks were very overpriced. They do have a happy hour with 2 for 1 drinks, but drink selection was very limited for that deal.
If you want to sight see in Hong Kong, I recommend you get a 2-day ticket on The Big Bus. They have 3 routes with unlimited on and off privileges. Stop #5 on the red route is just 2 blocks from Hotel Indigo and makes it even easier to use. The red route runs around Hong Kong city. The green route takes you to the other side of the island, including the village of Stanley with the best market on the island. The blue route takes you over to Kowloon. Ferry trips betwen HK and Kowloon, a harbor tour, and a round trip ride on the Peak Tram to the top of the mountain are included. It was a great deal, and very convenient to the hotel.
Hotel Indigo had one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had, but it was pricey. Some room rates include the breakfast, and if you can get a good enough deal, I recommend you do that. There was a pastry/coffee shop right across the street from the hotel with much cheaper alternatives, and we went there most mornings.
I've read complaints about there being only 2 lifts. That is true, but the wait for them was never excessive while we were there.
I've also read complaints about the comforter on the bed, and no sheets. This is also true, but once we got the air conditioning settings correct, we were very comfortable. Overall, the beds were great, and there were plenty of pillows and pillow options.
I've also read complaints about construction. We were on the 17th floor and it was very quiet. They are building other high rises near the hotel, but we didn't hear the construction.
Overall, we would definitely stay at this hotel again if we return to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up get you away from the street noise. Joining the IHG club and earning Platinum status helps you get a larger, more comfortable room upgrade.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jjlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Jjlavender,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much that you regard us as "Very convenient to everything Hong Kong". We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With warm regards, Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Have now stayed twice at Indigo and have been more than pleased during both stays. Modern, interesting and whimsical (yet thoughtful) decor throughout, spot-on staff, and a great location to explore whether on business or pleasure. It offers easy access to the metro in a locals neighborhood that is changing but still retains much of the old HK charm, with a maze of open air market and local foods just below the hotel. I stay in many hotels, and can't imagine how someone would rate Indigo "average." It's great.

Room Tip: Deluxe king on a corner. Great wall-to-ceiling glass.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Robert Y,

We were thrilled to welcome you back for your second visit! I am delighted that our hotel left a "HK Island Favorite" impression on you. Thanks for all of your wonderful comments and we’d love to have you back as well! We are dedicated to look after you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards, Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I normally stay at the Holiday Inn on the other side of the Island for business, this time my colleague and I fancied a change and tried this new hotel on the other side, we were not disappointed, at the time they were still finishing a few things off with it, however the rooms were awesome, a brilliant selection of drinks, sound system and electrical gadgets, it is by far the coolest hotel I've ever stayed in.

There is a hot tub and pool in the roof (the pool is all glass and you can swim to the edge of the building which is quite weird). The staff were all very friendly and I would highly recommend staying there, I will be staying there again.

It's also a great location, plenty of shops and action nearby, can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Higher the better, brilliant views around the amazing island!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Callumrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Callumrobin,

We are delighted that you consider Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island as a “Awesome hotel, funky, modern with great views!”. It is good to know that you will return, and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your future extended visit soon!

With best regards, Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Pros;
1) next to mtr
2) next to markets
3) nice breakfast

Cons;
1) we went from sweating in the very humid 33 degree heat into a freezing 16 degree room - got sick

2) bathroom was meant to be funky where was meant to drain through the floor but was blocked so saturated the bathroom and hardwood floor in bedroom, my son slipped and fell a couple of times

3) bathroom bench barely had space to put basic toiletries, very frustrating to even brush teeth

It's nice and modern but frankly I don't think I will stay there again. Getting sick really ruined a few days of my holidays.


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skzoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Skzoot,

Thank you for your honest feedback and the positive comments on our location and breakfast.
Simultaneously, your comments on our air-con system, flooring conditions and drainage in the bathrooms are duly noted, we will certainly review its operation and ensure the highest standard. Thank you for bringing the incident to our attention, indeed, it is through your valuable comments that we can have the opportunity to improve ourselves and cater to our guest needs.

We still wish to see you again and all of us at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

With warm regards, Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Ideal business hotel in the middle of the vibrant Wan Chai neighborhood. Short walk to MTR station, Times Square and hundreds of great eateries. Ideal for the HK Convention Centre. Great rooms, first class staff make visiting always a pleasure

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Shane M,

The title of your review says it all and thanks for your over the top review! Your compliments on our staff are very much appreciated, all of us at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

With warm regards, Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews