We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New boutique in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #31 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“New boutique in good location”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I really like this hotel. It's new so some teething problems but the staff are learning, keen and friendly. We had a corner room which was quirky and well designed and had everything we needed. The towels are big thick and soft. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are great. I loved the electric blinds and curtains and the room was very dark when closed The shower was hot and powerful. Breakfast was fine not great but good enough. The lunch menu had a good selection. The roof bar was stylish but didn't have a lot of food choices. I liked the pool not big but interesting glass section looking down to the street below. The Chinese restaurant next door was pricy but good food.
Its in a good location near the street markets, restaurants and Wan Chai nightlife and very closeto Wan Chai MTR stop and trams.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Andy&Mike,

Thank you for your great feedback and we certainly use a friendly approach for all our guests. Every piece of feedback is important to us, so we will continue to find new ways to delight our guests such as yourselves and hope to be able to welcome you back.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    322
    47
    10
    7
See reviews for
100
298
103
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
200 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is still very new hotel in Hong Kong with a very good location in Wanchai, just five minutes from the subway station (Exit A3 at Wanchai will be the closest to the Hotel) and you also have a bus stop almost in front of the Hotel (if you come by bus from HK Station, you can take bus number 6).

The rooms are certainly designed in a trendy way but not functional. Too much windows all over the room means that your bed must be in the middle of the room and the bathroom design is not good at all (as many other readers mention). If you travel alone this may be fine, but with your friends it is not advisable as there is no privacy at all (open bathroom).

Certain things in the room are good like the Nespresso machine and the Internet speed was always very fast for me.

Breakfast is not worth it to have it in the Hotel. Selection of food is rather limited and the price charged (35 USD if you add in your room rate when booking through their webpage is clearly outrageous). You have a Starbucks across the Hotel and a 7 Eleven across the street in Queen's Road East.

Overall and as long as they keep the room rates in a reasonable way (and you avoid breakfast there) it is a good option for stays in Wanchai.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms. They are more expensive and the layout is even worst than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear NickBkk,

We do have a point of difference and appreciate your honest feedback, as we know that our design will not suit everyone, but which some of our guests love. We will certainly review our breakfast standard/offering to see what needs to improve, although many guests love what we have, but every piece of feedback is important to us. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our first trip to Hong Kong. Stay on the island we were told, so we did. Hong Kong is the city with the second most sky scrapers in the world and this is one of them.
Location is excellent and you shouls ask for a corner room with mountain views ( no extra cost)
We couldn't praise the staff more highly, always welcoming and helpful, but the restaurant staff made breakfast a special experience. A wonderful array of food with any sort of egg cooked instantly to your liking by the chef. Coffee was just superb.
The corner room we had was amazing. Two of the four walls were just windows with electric blinds and electric curtains. Excellent shower completed the unit. We were a bit phased by the bed in the middle of the room, but after waking up, opening the curtains by remote control we were converted. There is wifi, a desk to work or read at and downstairs a library with Apple Mac computers.
Now go to the top of the tower. There is an amazing rooftop pool which juts out over the street, 30 floors down, and with a glass floor. This is just fantastic.
At the other side of the building is a rooftop bar, we watched the Chinese new year fireworks from there. What an amazing stay we had.
If you want to stay on Hong Kong Island then I don't think there's anywhere better.
Really worthy of (my only) 5 stars (so far)

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor corner room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Dr_John_Poyser,

We are delighted to read that "you don't think there is anywhere better" than our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vesinet, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed three nights at the Indigo. Two rooms, superior and deluxe. Deluxe is a corner room with floor to ceiling curtains that open to give a great view. Hotel new and modern near metro. Roof pool with part-glass floor, spectacular! Rooms very comfortable, big bed, nice desk with box of necessities. And a first in a hotel: excellent bathroom lighting! Super fresh breakfast, juices yogurts etc in a fridge-nice touch. Will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Vivienne O,

We truly appreciate your great feedback and are thrilled that you will want to return!

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel had recently opened when we visited, the staff were 'very attentive and helpful'.

The room was stylishly decorated, furnished to a high standard and 'very comfortable'.

The pool on the roof was a great place to relax together with the top floor bar/lounge

The location of the hotel is central, in the heart of the real Hong Kong and easy to get to most places

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mearnsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Mearnsy1,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much that you regard us as a "great hotel". We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in january. Loved everything about this hotel. The location is perfect, 5 min walk to the subway and 2 stops from all the tourist spots. The hotel itself is unique, modern, very clean and spacious. We had an amazing corner room, with floor to ceiling windows! The room had all the amenities, nice pillow menu, expresso machine etc. super comfortable bed and a great rain shower.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The pool looked great( too cold for us to use in jan), but the bar was not up to mark for standards in HK. Breakfast was ok, but wouldn't pay extra for it. There is a Starbucks across the street and plenty of other restaurants and street food around.
Highly recommend this for the price for HK, the space you get and the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear ottawanian,

We go out of our way to create 'guest love" and we are thrilled that you loved everything about our hotel and can't wait to welcome you back!

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The Indigo was recommended to us by a friend and we could not have been in better hands than in this lovely new hotel. We booked four rooms and all of us were more than thrilled. Excellent location right in the action of Wan Chai, with very easy access by foot to many worthy spots to visit. The rooms were spectacular with great views; would recommend to book the corner rooms as with the curtains all drawn up you can't be mistaken of the city you are staying in. Amenities were perfect, shower pressure was very good, free WiFi, a very nicely stocked Mini Bar and breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately did not try out the pool or any other outlets, but all the staff we came across with at the front desk and at breakfast were always smiling and extremely helpful. Will recommend this hotel to my friends who would be looking for a very centrally located hotel, with great design and good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 1984DST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear SammyDST,

Thanks for your great feedback and it was our pleasure to give you an experience that was filled with smiles. We can't wait to welcome you back.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,187 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,391 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,613 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
780 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Property: Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing