We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place to stay in Wanchai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #27 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool place to stay in Wanchai”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been to Hong Kong many times, and this was my first experience with such a nice hotel. The reception area is quite simple, but has an attractive colour changing wall at the back. The same wall continues in the lift, which makes it quite different. The rooms are very large by Hong Kong standards. Top it with electric curtains, Bose docking station, Nespresso coffee and a very well stocked mini-bar. All this is just a few minutes walk away from the MTR station as well as a very large number of bars and restaurants. A great place to stay, and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear NatureLoverNewDelhi,

We are thrilled that you found our hotel a great place to stay and we very much look forward to your return in the not too distant future (we hope).

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    320
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
100
298
103
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I've been traveling around the world, many times in hong Kong and macau. I won't forget this hotel, especially after ridiculously I lost my wedding ring next to washing basin. The staff is quite helpful and the police came pretty fast. Just be careful, no place like home.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear tejatony,

We very much appreciate your feedback and it is disappointing that we were not able to meet your expectations, as our team have invested every effort in trying to locate your ring and making your stay enjoyable. I do hope that you would give us another opportunity to allow us to show you how committed our staff are to making your stay a happy one. We look forward to another chance to welcome you back in the future.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is probably one of the smartest hotels I've stayed in, and the location is fantastic near Wan Chai station.

From reception it looks like a very unassuming small hotel, small reception, but with a colour changing crystal wall. However once you get in to the funky lift it's all change. Even the corridors are funky!

The room was just brilliant, beautiful mosaic wall behind the bed, which itself is set in the middle of the room in a single engineered piece of furniture that comprises a desk behind the bed and large sofa/tv area.

By Hong Kong standards, in fact any standard, the room was very big. Which is unusual for HK. The bathroom is in the bedroom, open plan style, with a separate cubicle for the shower and one for the toilet. The shower has the most enormous rain water shower head and the toiletries are fantastically expensive! The only thing we didn't like was the opaque glass walled toilet, with open top, it means you have to know your bedroom guest quite well if you're to avoid embarrassment!

Overall though, we loved the hotel, there's a Bose idock, relatively cheap mini bar, electric curtains, dimmer switches throughout and all the little touches that make hotels stand out from the crowd. If we were to return to HK we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JLCD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear JLCD2010,

We are thrilled you like our hotel so much and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our neighbourhood again in the not too distant future.

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I loved this hotel. It's location in Wan Chai is perfect and I loved walking around after dark. Close to loads of shops and bars, it's really one the liveliest areas on Hong Kong Island. Hotel was clean and modern, staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was great. When I return to Hong Kong this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSixx96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sixx96,

Thank you so much for your great feedback and we love that you love our hotel! We can't wait to welcome you back to our neighbourhood.

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We didn’t want to stay at a regular 1000 rooms hotel again so we chose the Indigo Hong Kong. We were impressed by how friendly the staff and how well designed the hotel is. We got upgraded to the suite due to my platinum status with IHG and we were more than happy with the hotel. Essential but functional design, rooms have nice views over Hong Kong, WIFI is extremely fast and the location in the middle of Wan Chai is awesome. Will definitely stay here again – nice alternative to hotels like Intercontinental or overpriced design hotels like The Upper House. Only downside: As previously posted, the open bathroom concept is not well thought through due to the thin glass walls. Shouldn't be a problem if you are very comfortable with your partner, but as it gives you very little privacy you feel somewhat exposed.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effrontery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear effrontery,

Thank you for your feedback and the team is so happy to know that you were impressed by our friendliness and design. We look forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
363 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I like the location and modern decor of the hotel.

Huge problems with the Internet that didn't work at times. Front desk claimed that no problems, but tried both laptops and other devices.

The room works if you are travelling by yourself. The open bathroom concept leaves very little for privacy if travelling with someone else.

Do you really want to listen someone taking a dump in the toilet? There is zero noise/smell insulation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LoyaltyLobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear LoyaltyLobby,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, as we very much appreciate it. It is concerning to note the internet issue you experienced and we will investigate the situation. We also appreciate that the bathroom design may not be to everyone's taste and conversely, I have also had many guests comment that they love it, so we are prepared to receive mixed comments on this design. We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights, I dug it. The swank decor resembles a neon-lit nightclub, and the rooms are compact yet cozy, streamlined for hip professionals. My room had a panoramic view of the Wan Chai skyline, and the subway (and seedy bar street) are a convenient 5-minute walk through a colorful shopping street. The buffet breakfast is recommended, replete with fresh yogurt and juice, salmon and brie and baguette, and a home-style omelette bar. The front-desk staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to accommodate me. I've already been recommending this hotel to my friends; 5 stars all around!

As this is a relatively new hotel, I did experience a few growing pains that management should take note of:
1) The construction all around us outside was not very reassuring; hopefully management can persuade them to keep the noise level (and spotlights) down at night.
2) The internet connection is spotty and the log-in system not very efficient.
3) The steam from my shower set off the entire building's fire alarm!!! Apparently nobody thought to install a ceiling fan in the bathrooms, and some genius installed the fire alarm sensor directly above the shower door! After having to get out of the shower in my towel to respond to all the knocking on my door from the security staff, their solution was that I MUST keep the room air conditioning running while bathing. Buy some ceiling fans for the showers, fellas!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear SH_daddy,

Thank you for your very valuable feedback and it's great to know that you are already recommending us to your friends. Regarding your other highlighted points, the external noise is out of our control, but we are constantly checking the internet speed to monitor service levels and we will look to see if we can improve the exhaustion system in the bathroom. Once again, thank you for time to post your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Property: Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing