We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sal Curioso - CLOSED

Sal Curioso
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Oskarshamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Ok from the value I was really looking forward to a nice lunch, all you can eat HKD220, but I was very quickly disappointed!

Service poor, had to help the waiter take the orders... Food arrived so slow, quality of food poor...

Not a place to visit, not worth it and disappointing...

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leif-Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal C, Manager at Sal Curioso, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your feedback. I would like to apologise your experience at Sal Curioso did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Since your visit our staff have received further training and have since gained very positive reviews regarding our level of service and quality of food.

We deeply regret that you did not enjoy our tapas inspired menu, we have had many positive feedback from food critics as well as diners. There has been some changes to our menu since your visit and would like to welcome you and your friends to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice decor, need to work on service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Went the with a group for lunch. Some of the dishes are good, but the service slow. Lunch is $220 for all you can eat for 2 hours, which would be good value bit we went away hungry as they were so slow bringing food. Ordered cocktails when we arrived, and they took 40 minutes. Decoration is great, and the place has good potential. Just need to work on the service.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Absolutely terrible experience - slow, confused service, overpriced menu and an over reliance on deep fried dishes. one of our dishes was half an hour late, went to another table and when it did arrive was pink and bleeding (not a great thing when the dish is chicken); one dish, the vegetarian option was tough and inedible. The green chili chicken was dry, overloaded with aniseed and totally forgettable. Our dessert just never arrived. The highlight was the owner coming out and accusing us of not liking his food. You're right. We did not like the food, the service OR your attitude. Two and a half hours of my life I won't get back. Save yourself the effort.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryCWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good with friends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Sal Curioso has developed an interesting menu with influence from South America and Spain. I went there with friends so was able to try a few different dishes, all of them creative and good looking, but flavours not that inspiring. The beef with walnuts was particularly good. I "banned" our table from ordering swordfish cevice, since this is a vulnerable specie, subject to high fishing pressure. It'll be great to see the menu changing to accommodate a more sustainable fish cevice option in it. The space is great, nice night environment, and good terrace for cocktails. Compared to other offerings in the city, I found this place in the expensive side.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AspasiaDeMiletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Interesting menu and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Went with friends in the opening week and really enjoyed the tapas style with a great range of choices and well priced wines by the glass. Will definitely be back again and the veal & sausage were very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal Curioso also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing