We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favourite Italian in HK”

Giando Italian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #120 of 7,950 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $103
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Description: Previously locate at the Fenwick Pier, Giando has found a new berth in 9 Star Street, in Wanchai. Located in a more accessible area, this contemporary Italian restaurant offers authentic Italian food where the ingredients are flown in directly from Italy. This gave birth to the opening of Mercato by Giando located in the ground floor of its previous location. Reservations highly recommended
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My new favourite Italian in HK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Been to many of the good Italians in HK and there are lots that are terrific but after last night Giando is right up there. Five of us had fabulous authentic Italian food. We had a variety of dishes and each was perfect. Those to make special mention of would be the parma ham (and melon) - a large portion of the best quality ham, the creamy mozzarella with eggplant and sun dried tomatoes and the pasta with ragout. For main courses we loved the veal scaloppine - tender meat with a delicious sauce and the baked cod which was simple and perfectly cooked. The whole sea bass was another classic dish that got great comments from our group.
Don't love the location (though there are some decent harbour views) but the decor is stylish and the ambiance was comfortable and warm.
A very affordable, predominantly Italian wine list and attentive, professional service added to a top quality evening.
Price wise comparable to most quality Italians in town at around $850 a head including 2 bottles of wine.
There is so much more on the menu to go for so we will be back and soon. If you like quality Italian food I strongly recommend you give this a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    88
    23
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great experience, food beyond expection , traditional decoration. Everything perfect , was just a little bit cold.
A Must GO , in Hong Kong !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amongst the best Italians in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Not only was Gianni the personal Chef for the Agneli family, but had a major influence in the development and running of Isola Hong Kong, where which we spent numerous evening enjoying the ambiance , friends and the most delicious food.
Nothing was difficult and nothing was too much... If you we're salivating for something Gianni would make sure that you got It. So, WAS best Italian in Town until he and Carlo left. NOW, welcome to Giando where Gianni Caprioli has finally made his own move and serve food to die for within an ambience of understand stated cool and a selection of food made only with the very best ingredients and flawless services. Not everyone in Hong Kong has an Italian mother to go to for dinner... I would suggest this as the second best alternative!!!!

Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
158 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An excellent venue for authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

When you walk in to the restaurant, first impression is of an old building with minimal decorations, which is very unusual for HK restaurants. The warehouse feel sets a very warm, sincere tone. The food is exceptionally good and authentic. Menu is varied and portions are generous. Only improvement I would suggest would be a bit more attentive service. The chef walks from table to table and joins in for a toast and discusses food. A very good find and I will definitely return soon. One of the best for Italian in HK.

Helpful?
2 Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm from Singapore and come to HK every month, everytime i'm here my girlfriends and i eat here almost EVERYDAY. AMAZING food. At Giando you get authentic italian cuisine made with the freshest imported italian ingredients and a whole lot of heart. The atmosphere here is cozy and relaxed. Prior to discovering Giando, dining in Hong Kong was a really stressful affair for me as most restaurants here are HECTIC. But Giando romances you with its stunning view, warm service and comfort food, leaving you warm and fuzzy inside. Chef Gianni, open one in Singapore soon? The girls will love u foreverrrr!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denxxise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giando Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Giando Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing