We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peak and Dumpling ... No Pain no Gain”

Hansen's Hikes Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
275 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Peak and Dumpling ... No Pain no Gain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took a private hiking tour with Michael a few days ago, booked him for his Peak and Dumpling Tour. Essentially, it's a 7 kilometre up and down hike from the Peak down to the Pok Fu Lam reservoir in Hong Kong then a short bus trip to Aberdeen for some of the best dumplings I have ever had. That and the cold Tsing Tao beer made up for the pain of going up and down part of the Hong Kong Trail. It was a great way to spend 4 hours in Hong Kong and got me off the beaten track (out of the malls and the usual shopping spree). Michael is a great guide, very interesting, engaged and helpful. I look forward to doing more of Hansen's Hikes next time I am in Hong Kong and more of that cold beer with Michael!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent tours - great guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I did two tours with Michael in May. The first was a leisurely afternoon bike tour of Yuen Long and its surrounding wetlands. This is a part of HK in the New Territories that as a tourist you would never get to see unless taken there by a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide, which Michael certainly is. Yuen Long Kau Hui - the old town - is an area you might feel quite nervous about entering on your own but under Michael's guidance its history came alive. The other couple on the tour were from the UK but Hong Kong residents of many years – they enjoyed the tour and got a lot from it too.

The second tour was a full day walking tour of Macau, taken as a private tour (due to there being no other takers). It was certainly strenuous in parts -- steep climbs in high humidity (take plenty of water and a towel) but the sights were worth it. Two notable stops were lunch at the famous Fernando's restaurant and, after a short bus ride, afternoon coffee at Lord Stow’s Café in Colaone Village – the home of the original Macau egg tarts. The genuine article is superior to the imitations we had in Hong Kong.

Then by local bus back to Macau and unhurried stroll through the old town, exploring alleys and narrow streets that few Westerners get to. In fact we were regarded as so exotic that at one point a group a school children buttonholed us to practice their English on and to 'interview' us with their iPhones about why we were visiting Macau and what we thought of it. Well, it's wonderful.

None of this would have happened without a guide of Michael's knowledge and experience. If I get back to Hong Kong I will certainly be taking more of Michael's tours. They were far more interesting that just strolling around the streets in Kowloon or Central. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful morning exploring the New Territories by bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Have just spent a great morning in the company of Michael Hansen on his Yuen Kam Nam cycle tour of the New Territories. Great guide, very informative and knowledgeable of the area. Took us on a leisurely ride around the wetlands of the New Territories, the highlight being the ferry crossing and the remote 'pub'! Really great way to see another side to Hong Kong, well worth the cost and effort to go there.
Carry a rucksack for your things and take some water.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieLouiseV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Was recommended Michael for tour and did not disappoint. Knowledgeable trail guide who goes at your pace and always puts you in a good spot for beers at the end of the day! best - martin.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hansen's Hikes Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Michael Hansen took me on two walks in 2011, and I got to see a different side to Hong Kong with him. The walks were very enjoyable, and I'm looking forward to several more when I'm in back in HK in 2013. The walks were off the beaten track, eventful, a very good part of my holiday. I found Michael to be professional, good company , and very knowledgeable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Martins-hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hansen's Hikes Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Hansen's Hikes Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing