We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Peking Duck”

Empire City Roasted Duck
Ranked #344 of 9,699 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The restaurant is inside K11 mall and a pleasant, fairly upmarket looking place. Went there with friends for lunch - no reservation necessary, while in the evenings it is a must. Pricing is fair, especially lunch is a good deal, we ended up paying around 130HKD/person. Ordered half the duck and added a couple of dishes - as mentioned by other reviewers, the duck is nice & crisp, not too fatty, the pancakes some of the thinnest I've ever seen and different kinds of veggies. Yummy. The bean with pork were good too and the fish dish was delicious.
Overall, a great place to go for Peking duck, will definitely visit again. Also, very accessible place & easy to navigate for (first time) visitors to HK.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bebbi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

As there were 5 of us, we were recommended by the captain to go for the set meal which comes with more than 6 courses of dishes. Every dish are tasty and nicely done, the Peking Duck is definitely one of the best I have tried in Hong Kong. The stir fry beef is fantastic, do order a bowl of plain rice as the 2 goes extremely well with each other.

Point to note though, as I was doing most of my walking around via the MTR Underground, all the exits are labelled with an alphabet followed by a number...e.g. A14, B5... BUT do take note that K11 is not another exit !!! It is actually the name of building !!! It took me a while to figure that out when I was frantically trying to find a K11 exit in the MTR...lol

Thank Dogmastervincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ordered a half Peking duck and some vegetables and you just cant go wrong with that combinaion. Their duck was succulent and skin so crispy. It's inside K11 Mall and you must make a reservation. We were lucky to get in early but were told we had only an hour and a half to eat as our table had a reservation. Dont worry, one hour is plenty. Service is also very good and efficient.

Thank benjieguev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Date of visit : 21 Apr 2013 (Sun) 7:30 pm
No. of diners : 10
Average cost per head : $210
Corkage : $150 each
Food quality : 7.8/10
Environment : 8/10
Service : 8/10
Value-for-money : 8/10
Overall rating : 7.8/10

Empire City Roasted Duck “大都烤鴨” is under the Super Star Group “鴻星集團” which positions itself in the medium range of Chinese dining with good word-of-mouth in Hong Kong. In the outlet of this Peking duck specialist, there is an open kitchen at the entrance where roasted ducks are kept warm in an oven. Upon receipt of order, a duck will be taken out and sliced by a chef. To maintain the authenticity, ducks are imported from Beijing and lychee wood from Dunguang “東莞” is used for roasting.

On the night we visited, the service offered fluctuated among staff or even within individual staff throughout the dinner, which brought us a great topic for the night.

a) Marinated Shrimp with Peony牡丹蝦仁 ($68) – 8.5/10, Crystal Duck’s Tongue水晶鴨舌 ($68) – 8/10, Crystal Pork Cold Cut 鳥鎮餚肉 ($60) - 8/10

The shrimps were beautifully sliced into halves and displayed with cucumber garnishing. The shrimps were with sinewy texture and fresh flavour.

The duck’s tongue was first deboned and immersed in a gelatin base with broth and Chinese yellow wine. This is a similar version with the crystal pork cold cut where Chinese cured ham was used.

b) Baked Fish Head with Green Onion雅片魚頭 ($258) – 9/10

This dish tasted much better than its look. A huge fish head (species unidentified) from Russia was chopped into halves and sandwiched with abundant of spring onions for deep frying. The chef managed a perfect timing and temperature of oil as the fish head was crispy on its skin and bones while the flesh was still kept moist. A scrumptious dish but better order for a gang of 6 or more people to avoid wastage.

c) Fried Chicken with Chili 大紅辣子雞 ($98) – 7.8/10

A tradition Sichuan dish with dried and fresh chili, peanuts and diced chicken. Interesting that the chicken carried a mutton smell which was not a bad thing to bring out its spiciness.

d) Roasted Peking Duck烤北京填鴨 ($338) – 8.5/10, Stir Fried Minced Duck Meat with Lettuce二鬆炒鴨末 ($78) – 7.5/10

A whole duck was ordered and the waitress told us that half of the duck’s skin was presented first to as to keep its crispiness and temperature. The fat on the skin was trimmed so that it would be too oily or filling even we had a few pieces. The pancake used for the wrap was extremely thin and soft. It took us a minute or two to peel one from the pile but it’s worth the effort. On top of the usual leek and cucumber to go with the skin, rock melon and preserved turnip were also provided.

As usual, the duck has been de-skinned, it’s meat and skeleton could be cooked in a certain way such as duck soup, braised duck or our chosen minced duck meat with lettuce wrap. Pinenuts, spring onion and dried canpoy were added to give a palatable flavour and texture.


e) Stir Fried Rice Cake with Stewed Pork年糕紅燒肉 ($108) – 8/10

The stewed pork was tender and the sweet sauce went well with the bland glutinous rice pastry. Better finish it before it’s getting cold with solidified fat.

f) Stewed Green Bean with Spicy Minced Pork 乾煸四季豆 ($68) – 8.5/10, Pan Fried Garland Chrysanthemum 清炒皇帝菜 ($88), Pan Fried Amaranth with Minced Garlic蒜茸炒時蔬 ($68)

Unlike the long beans I had in many other local Chinese restaurants that were old and with a chew, the ones that I had in Empire City were young and tender. The other 2 pan fried vegetables were tasty too.

g) Steamed Pork Dumpling with Supreme Soup准揚灌湯籠包 ($50) – 7.5/10, Pan Fried Pork Dumpling 鮮肉鍋貼 ($50 for 4 pcs) – 7.5/10

Empire City was average in preparing dumpling. From the pictures shown above, the pastry skin of the steamed dumplings was way too thick though the broth filling was quite pleasant. For the pan fried ones, the base of the dumplings was yet to be in a crispy and golden brown texture.

h) Stir Fried Ramen with Mixed Mushrooms 野菌炒拉麵 ($68) – 7.8/10, Duck Meat and Rice Wrapped with Lotus Leaf荷香包鴨飯 ($78) – 6.5/10

The ramen was springy and with right seasoning, however, the sauce of diced duck meat for the fried rice in lotus leaf was too thick and that resembling the filling of steamed BBQ pork bun.

i) Yellow Bean Pudding 慈禧碗荳黃 ($42) – 7.5/10, Homemade Cream Pudding白寶玉 ($42) – 6.5/10, Glutinous Rice Dumplings in Pumpkin Sweet Soup 甘露丸子 ($30) – 6/10

The yellow bean pudding was quite smooth but both the cream pudding and pumpkin sweet soup were too sweet and not my liking.

r) Deep Fried Pastry Stuffed with Custard流金歲月 ($42) – 8.5/10, Sweet Potatoes with Oatmeal貝勒燕番薯 ($52) – 8.5/10

The bakery stood out of the rest of the desserts. Caution was required when eating the deep fried (as named thought I found it’s more like baked instead) pastry with molten custard and salty egg yolks. The sweet potatoes were another pleasing dessert with oatmeal dusted over the bricks.

Q : When will I go again?
A : Better go with a larger group to share some of the big dishes but make sure a table is booked well in advance.
Q: What will I next order?
A : Baked fish head.

05.2013

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gordy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we were basically kicked out of Spring Deer the "famous" duck place in HK we asked the Hyatt to find us another, where we would perhaps be treated better !!! "Empire City" is in the same building as Hyatt! was just fabulous, we had to wait, but it's always packed.. Service was very good, food outstanding.. Duck was exceptional;, as were the other dishes of friend rice, stir fry beef etc.. We would have ate here again! but didn't have time before leaving HK, was one of our best meals in Asia...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire City Roasted Duck also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Empire City Roasted Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing