We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden treasure”
Review of Wanchai 88 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanchai 88 Hotel
Ranked #177 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden treasure”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the V Wanchai 2 in May 2013. I loved it, most of all for it's elegant simplicity and convenient location. Yes the rooms are a bit small but i think rather well-designed, perfect for one or for a very harmonious couple. If the breakfast and coffee were a bit more sophisticated and well-presented this would be near perfect for a short city break. Thomson Street is unremarkable and it is nice to escape the full-on bling of HK and chill out after a working day- it is a bit more like entering a club than a hotel. Some v good local restaurants (and breakfast cafes with proper coffee) are nearby. I agree with other reviews about asking for an upper floor. Have travelled the world and this is very good if you don't want to stay in a flashy mega-hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. This strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

As you might also be aware that our brand “V” is one of the hotels in boutique style, all our properties are less than 100 rooms basically. Hotels like us even in other part of the world, some are also offered without a restaurant with seating capacity. We then decided to offer complimentary continental breakfast and evening cocktail with snacks to all guests without any supplement charge, no matter single or double, at our cozy hotel lobby. We found that most of our guests appreciated for the nice touch. Yet, we definitely still have rooms for improvement on varieties and services. We would appreciate very much on your kind understanding.

Besides, we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    139
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
69
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a room on the same night this past October on Agoda. The room was around 100HKD. Everything was great that night. Staff were nice. They upgraded us to an empty suite. The room was awesome. Unfortunately, when my friend got the bill it was for 1000USD rather than HKD! We went to Agoda and they refused to help us. When we went to the hotel to ask us to verify that there were no 1000USD rooms that night they said there was no way they could help us because we booked though Agoda. We have never seen a room for that price even on New Year's Eve! But no one help will help. It is simply not their problem that their customers are being billed 10X the quoted cost. All we are asking for is some support from management and we have gotten none from the staff. You would think that would want to get to the bottom of this so that it doesn't happen to someone else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hillary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Many thanks for your stay at V Wanchai2.

We were deeply concerned about your posted comments. After review of the case, your booking has been fallen into the high season in October, our room rates for the night was correctly charged for the only availalbe Grand Suite upon your booking via Agoda. As rates on Agoda was indicated in US$, it might be where the misunderstanding coming from. Yet, due to the booking was non-refundable and you have actually stayed for the night, we couldn't make any adjustment accordingly. Though, our staff should proactively explain in details to your queries if any.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong with different sizes and layouts. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I think the the V Wanchai 2 if a perfect option if you ae in HK for business or pleasure, yes the rooms are small, but this is HK.
The staff was kind and helpful, maybe they wee not professional as a 5 star Hotel, but this is a 4, then this is HK
Walkng distance 7min form the HK fair, 5min form the Liberty Ferry (to reach Kowloon).
I guess the Hotel has about 120 rooms, so it may happen that in some rooms something doesn't work, just Inform the reception, probably they will fix it, or maybe change your room.
1 suggestion, ask for a room upper then the 15th floor so none will see you from the building that is right in front of the Hotel.
Well, the breakfast could have been better for sure, just sweet pastries, nothing salty or hot, of course coffee, tea, juices.
Believe, I've been in HK almost 5 times in the past 4 years and this was the best that I found , comparing price and service.

Enjoy

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aledn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. This strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

As you might also be aware that our brand “V” is one of the hotels in boutique style, all our properties are less than 100 rooms basically. Hotels like us even in other part of the world, some are also offered without a restaurant with seating capacity. We then decided to offer complimentary continental breakfast and evening cocktail with snacks to all guests without any supplement charge, no matter single or double, at our cozy hotel lobby. We found that most of our guests appreciated for the nice touch. Yet, we definitely still have rooms for improvement on varieties and services. We would appreciate very much on your kind understanding.

Besides, we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Quite frankly, it was bit of a disappointment. As an architect myself, I see faulty here and there during my entire stay with my friend who is also an architect. Lifts were slow, signs were not clear, especially for the common restroom and the key card reader in lifts. It was a bit of a struggle as of how to activate the lifts. The lightings in room were too dim, weird design of having the basins not in the bathroom but outside of it so water could have dripped everywhere if not careful. TV was installed in the middle in front of the window but the blinds would have totally covered it when down, so that was not very user friendly and it was a simply tripe really. The mat in the room was scratchy, probably lack of maintenance. And one other thing is, this hotel wasn't straight about the room sizes. It says 46sqm for the room we were staying in, but I reckon it was probably only about 35sqm max. If the management team thinks the sizes of the rooms stating on their website is only for reference, they should have put a note for it. Plus, all sizes are given out as in net sizes but not the gross sizes in general practice nowadays, so the management team should really look into this fact! The above were the cons but there was still some pros I guess. Staff at the reception were friendly and always smiley, very helpful in every ways that we needed. Free stable wifi, tea or coffee were for 24/7 and the happy hours from 5-8pm was a little something. Sadly they dont provide any white wines though. Terrace area is an open area where you can chill or hang out with friends, and they also have a dvd movie library with quite a variety of dvds for rental. However, overall, given the value for everything I guess I would probably try other boutique hotels next time, just too many other choices to choose from out there.

Room Tip: Higher floor definitely the better, book a suite one if affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We were deeply concerned about your various comments on the design of the Hotel. We will look into possible fine-tuning upon next renovation.

On the contrary, we appreciate very much for your kind words on our software, this strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Arrived at the hotel a bit after 3pm, entered the lobby and went up to level 3 where the (small) reception area in located. The initial layout of the hotel is nice for the small area space, the design of the reception and lobby is tasteful yet 'edgy'. The first issue I ran into was the fact that my room was not ready, even though it was well after 3pm, the reception staff let me know it was due to the cleaning not being finished.

Fair enough, I waited around 30mins and then was given my Premium Deluxe room on the 19th floor. The room was clean, however it was obviously a rush job (i.e. behind door not vacuumed), the 'mountain view' was there somewhat (pic attached), however I would strongly recommend not being placed on a lower floor if you have hopes for a view at all.

The room had all the modern bits'and'bobs, though three remotes for the T.V. system. Had to use one remote to change channel, and another to change the sound level. There was a glitch with the sound setup with the sound going out every 10-15 seconds for a few seconds.

The reception offered US travel adapters for free, which was very helpful. However, when I asked for dry cleaning (before 4pm), the staff who came to the door informed me that they could in no way have my shirt and pants ready by the next day at 12pm, there was no express fee I could pay, and no way this task could be accomplished because, and I quote, "That's the rule".

I asked reception for a recommended place for western breakfast, they sent me to an intersection. Unable to find the recommended place, I rang reception and was told it was on the second floor of the intersection building. The entrance to the recommended place was a dingy door that had a piece of paper on it saying "We're open", the recommended place was not satisfactory in any way, poor service, bad food and the 'cappuccino' was frightful. I have no idea why the staff recommended this eatery, it in no way reflects the quality of their hotel.

Other than the lift being too slow for the building (wait times were a bit much), the public computer not printing, and the mentioned staff issues, the stay was comfortable and pleasant. The location is perfect for Wanchai if you are there for business, value for the room quality and location is a definite plus. However, overall, it left me a feeling a bit 'meh' - not sure if I will stay here again, will most likely find another hotel (there's many to choose from, that's for sure).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We were deeply concerned in the incompetent service delivery by our frontline team, thus your experience at the Hotel was ultimately affected. We have immediately look into the team coaching on problem shooting for guests and restaurant recommendation for possible improvement .

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong with different sizes and layouts. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Wanchai MTR is nearby so very convenient, but the hotel rooms are too small (even for HK) and the hotel is not built well. During our stay, we had problems with the light (kept flickering all night) and various problems in the appliances. They moved us to another room, but overall, slightly disappointing. The price point is midway between the top tier (Grand Hyatt, Peninsula, Mandarin) and the economy (like Ibis) but I rather just stay at Ibis or pay up for top tier. The compromise means lesser quality and higher budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepchoiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We were deeply concerned about the lighting problem during your stay, thus your experience at the Hotel was ultimately affected. As it was late night, our team has immediately arranged the room change for you, while the concerned problem was fixed accordingly. We have also conducted checking of all rooms to ensure the same issue would not be happened to other guests.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong with different sizes and layouts. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

If Wan Chai is your destination this hotel is one of the most convenient to stay: it is a hop skip and a jump away to the MTR, the bus, and the tram, plus taxis always seem to be in abundance! Supermarkets, shops, restaurants, and cafes are a 3 - 5 minute walk away, so it is easy to stock up on supplies.

The hotel is close to the main road but being set back one block is very quiet- something not often found in Wanchai.

Pros:
1. Location (if you want to be in Wanchai)
2. Clean, simple, unfussy design of room and furnishings
3. Rooms on higher floor don't look into buildings across the road so they feel bigger
4. Timely housekeeping
5. Two bottles water replenished daily
6. Staff on front desk appropriately friendly and helpful
7. Free in-room wi-Di
8. Good water pressure in bathrooms
9. Free newspaper delivered to room

Niggles
1. I did not mind the vanity being outside of the bathroom but the hotel should install towel racks, eg, on the front of the basins, as there's nowhere to hang them and leaving them on the counter is messy and stops them drying.
2. Tea bags are provided but no sugar or milk, and the coffee sachets contain a 3-in-1 coffee, sugar, powdered milk mixture which is not so good if black coffee is your wont!
3. When the blinds are down they obscure the tv!
4. Breakfast is basic - almost like a starter to tide you over before you get a real breakfast!

Overall, a great option if you're looking for a mid-range, clean, simply-styled, smallish. well-located hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaSydney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theV_hk, Chief Operating Officer at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. This strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

Regarding your specific comments on set-up, we will record them for timely review accordingly.

As you might also be aware that our brand “V” is one of the hotels in boutique style, all our properties are less than 100 rooms basically. Hotels like us even in other part of the world, some are also offered without a restaurant with seating capacity. We then decided to offer complimentary continental breakfast and evening cocktail with snacks to all guests without any supplement charge, no matter single or double, at our cozy hotel lobby. We found that most of our guests appreciated for the nice touch. Yet, we definitely still have rooms for improvement on varieties and services. We would appreciate very much on your kind understanding.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.

V Wanchai2 Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 718 in Hong Kong
481 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 718 in Hong Kong
146 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
101 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#132 of 718 in Hong Kong
369 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#120 of 718 in Hong Kong
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanchai 88 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanchai 88 Hotel

Property: Wanchai 88 Hotel
Address: 139 Thomson Road, Hong Kong, China (Formerly V Wanchai 2 Hotel)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanchai 88 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown HK and just a stone's throw from the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and tourist attractions, Wanchai 88 showcases a trendy setting and a comfortable atmosphere with thoughtfully designed lighting. Featuring spacious rooms with handy services and facilities, we offer you a pleasant stay in this metropolis where Eastern traditions blend perfectly with Western cultures ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wanchai 88 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanchai 88 Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing