We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #85 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We had great stay in the Auberge the Staff is friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nice and welcoming although i find the amenity a bit spares for the price. it is a great walk to the ferry and then over to the City and go back in the evening after a day in the hustle and bustle.
If you do business in HongKong or Kowloon this will be not the Hotel to stay unless you bring you family along.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Magelan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Magelan99

Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay in Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments are much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    307
    99
    24
    28
See reviews for
275
248
36
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I'd stayed at Auberge Discovery Bay for 2 nights for a work function and it turned out to be a wonderful experience.
The rooms were spacious, the bathroom had a sunken bath and made me feel I had a wading pool in there and the best part was the floor to ceiling glass windows which you could watch the sun rise from your bed. The bed was very comfortable, sheets were clean and I appreciated their responsive thermometer after experiencing failure in another hotel.
The hotel provided complimentary soft drinks and bottled water which I thought was a very nice gesture. I easily stay in over 20 hotels a year and have only came across another property which did the same.
The food had the hotel was passable and if you fancy more choices, the hotel runs a shuttle back to the main pier of Discovery Bay where you can find a good selection of eateries there. The hotel is located at North Plaza (8-10 mins by bus C-4 or C-9 from the pier) which had a range of shops and a large supermarket called Wellcome if you wanted to grab fresh fruit, wine, chocolates, toiletries etc.
The hotel Wifi was fast but we had to try several times before we could get connected, Once we were online, it worked fine.
Overall, it was a great stay and I look forward to being back again for my personal holiday.

Room Tip: Lower your bathroom blinds unless you want to give free shows to people walking by the promenade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear JL T

Thanks for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong for your business trip.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted to read that we have very much met your expectations. Your detailed and positive comments on our rooms and services are well noted and appreciated.

Thanks again for taking your time to share with us your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit in the not too distant future.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Special thanks to Nathan Ng (Duty Manager) and Roy (Front Desk) for their politeness, hospitality, excellent services and arrangement. Cozy room with e
speculator seaview and quiet comfortable environment makes my birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 926jackyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear 926jackyc

Thanks for your lovely comments on your stay in Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

I’m very delighted to read that you had a memorable birthday with us and very much appreciative of your compliments on our team members.

Happy Birthday again and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice in general with pretty good rooms that are just starting to show a little wear and tear but in general are still very nice. First lot of drinks in the minibar are free although they aren't so forthcoming about that and the signage in our room which confirmed it was missing. Reception staff as others have mentioned previous to my review.... Were very average and didn't seem that interested to do their job. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choices for all tastes. Nice gym which is free to use for guests... having life-fitness equipment, although I never got to use it in the end. Swimming pool had no water in it and had a sign saying its closed for winter.... Which was disappointing as it was 24degrees which is fine for swimming. Shuttle bus is free from outside the hotel to the boat port/ DB plaza shopping mall. The boat then costs around $36hk pp single trip
taking 25mins to hk island. After a day of doing this journey we were fed up as it doesn't drop you off near the MTR, its still another 15min walk from where the boat drops you. All in all the hotel is very nice but you cant stay here expecting to go to the city each day, as its just too far. This is a hotel to relax or to go to Disneyland which is close by.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear LondonKevo

Thanks for sharing with us your experience on your recent trip on TripAdvisor.

I’m glad to read that you found the hotel a nice one for getaway. Your comments are well noted and we will constantly improve to provide excellent guest experience.

Thanks again for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us next time.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for my friend's wedding in early December. Staff were friendly and accommodating to all our needs- they even fulfilled a special last minute shoe polishing request at no charge. The room was clean and adequately furnished. DB is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of HK and Auberge complements this very nicely.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Justin A

Thanks very much for sharing with us your experience at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us. Your kind words on our team members and services are very much appreciated.

I do hope to welcome you and your friends again for another memorable getaway.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We live since 4 years in Hong Kong and as such are always looking for weekend get-aways, that allow you to break out of the smog and dirty air of the city. The Auberge is a wonderful new hotel (opened early this year 2013) which is located on Discovery Bay, a part of Lantau island in front of Hong Kong. The hotel is managed by the same group as the "Sentosa Resort and Spa" in Singapore, which is another of our favorite get aways (see review) and you can clearly tell. The rooms are fantastic and spacious (for Hong kong Standards(, the service is great (after a rusty start of learning the new staff in), and the breakfast is one of the best you will find in Hong Kong.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 5 Nights
When: October 2013
Room: Seafront Deluxe & 2 Bedroom Suite
Price: 1800 HKDo (290 SGD)
Breakfast included - YES
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Location:
The hotel is located on Lantau Island (not Hong Kong), which can be reached via ferry, leaves HK every 30 minutes and every 15 minutes during rush hour and takes approx 20mins. Or by Bus from the closest subway station (but this takes significantly more time).
Note, if you don't like boat/ferry rides, and you want to leave your room and immediately step outside on the shopping treets of Hong Kong, then this is not the right hotel. But if you want some relaxing quiet time durinbg the busy day in the city, and you don't mind 25 minutes ferry rides, this hotel is perfect. There are a couple of restaurants and a big super market right next door, and a shuttle bus (and public busses) leaving the ferry pier regulary to go to the hotel.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel / Rooms:
We stayed 2 nights in the Ocean Front Deluxe room, which is one of the most stunning rooms I've lately stayed in. The room itself is huge, with a nice sofa corner, a massive floor to ceiling glass window which allows amazing views over the ovcean and the Hong Kong skyline in the distance. Furnitures and amenities are top notch, the bathroom is huge too and comes with a big rain shower area, facing the ocean with another huge window. Towels, cremes etc are super clean, new and fluffy.
The hotel itself comes with a great pool area, outdoor terrace and restaurant. The breakfast buffet is amazing and offers everything you might want. We can highly recommend this hotel for couples or families, spending 2-5 days in Hong Kong, and don't want to be cramped into the typical tiny HK hotel rooms while still enjoying luxury environment for a decent price.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
EXTRA GOOD:
+ Location (nature, good air)
+ Brand New Rooms (Big, modern, fantastic views)
+Very nice Bathrooms, super comfortable
+ Amazing Breakfast Buffet
+ Big, nice pool area

BAD:
- Only disadvantage is, if you don't like ferry rides, getting to the hotel is a hustle

Room Tip: Make sure to get a seafront room (standard or luxury), the ones "without" balcony are actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear AngryAngMo

I would really like to say a great thanks for your lovely comments on Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

I’m extremely happy read to read that you very much like the hotel and have enjoyed your stay with us. I am also happy to know that we have met your expectations in many aspects. Your detailed and positive comments are very much appreciated.

Thanks again for taking your time to share with us your experience at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and we look forward to seeing you in the hotel again soon.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our stay of three nights was comfortable, relaxing and very pleasant. We had an 'Ocean Front Deluxe' room, with (small) balcony, which was great. Very comfortable and clean. It seems only a few rooms have balconies, which is a shame, because I'm sure the balcony makes a big difference if the weather is good (it was for us, early December) and you are not rushing off to Disneyland, Giant Buddha, or whatever. It would be even nicer if there were a couple of small chairs on the balcony! Good view of the ocean/harbour, nearby hills, distant islands (on a clear day!), Disneyland fireworks (every night). The bathroom is a bit special, with huge picture window view from the shower/bath (if you don't lower the modesty blind).
Outside, at the back of the hotel there is an extensive terrace overlooking the sea, with nice landscaping, and seats. (Also swimming pool, but not in use during our stay.) The restaurant opens onto this terrace. Food at the restaurant was excellent. A special mention here for our waiter Moonhee who was an attentive, polite, quick to learn trainee. Breakfast buffet was extremely good.
The hotel is part of the Discovery Bay North Plaza, with buses to the main Discovery Bay (where we arrived by ferry from Central HK) and other parts. The plaza has a very useful, large(ish) supermarket selling everything ex-pats could want (including both Marmite and Vegemite), places to sit, and three cafes - an Indian, basic but good pizzeria, and nice International. A short sea-front promenade leads to a beach. There are lots of ex-pats (from various Western countries) around and middle-class Asians, and they all seem predominantly to be young couples with kids - LOTS of kids who are generally noisy, over-excited and under-disciplined! And of course the hotel is a favourite for people (with more kids) going to Disneyland (especially on weekend).
There's not much to do at Discovery Bay, but that's not a bad thing if you just want to relax for a couple of days.

Room Tip: It's got to be Ocean View, and very preferably a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmoneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear salmoneater

Thanks very much for sharing with us your experience on your stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.
I’m very happy to read that you find the hotel a relaxing retreat and you have very much enjoyed the hospitality. It is also lovely to read your compliments on our room, restaurant and particularly our team members. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

Thanks again for your detailed review and we hope to welcome you back again for another memorable experience soon.

Warm regards


Anne Busfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,933 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#368 of 718 in Hong Kong
415 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
854 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#210 of 718 in Hong Kong
41 reviews
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Property: Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Address: 88 Siena Avenue, Discovery Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing