We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the worst Best Western hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
Ranked #366 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Probably the worst Best Western hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

There are so many bad things about this hotel that I'm not sure where to start. The rooms are tiny, so tiny that the sink doesn't fit in the toilet and it's by the door. There was no closet and couldn't hang my shirts. I ended up asking for hangers and hanging them in the middle of the room. Breakfast was bad, service terrible. They gave welcome fruits which got rotten and nobody even bother to take them out as you can see on the photo.
The toilet was liking and had to call 5 times for someone to take action. Booking this hotel was really a big mistake!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    246
    311
    130
    87
See reviews for
110
257
159
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel has no redeeming features. The reception is tacky. The lifts are slow and tacky. The corridors are depressing and narrow. The rooms are tiny and tacky. The bathrooms are so small you could not swing a kitten's foetus. It's probably the worst four star hotel I have ever stayed in. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. And in case you did not get my drift. AVOID THIS PLACE as it is nowhere near worthy of a Best Westerm brand nor a four star accolade?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in HK. The room is VERY small given how much you are paying. The washroom is so tiny that it literally fits a bathtub and a toilet without place to stand. Location is actually not very convenient .. it's at least 15 mins walk to your nearest MTR station. The hotel is filled with tourist groups from mainland China and they are so loud. The elevators are small and SLOW .. in the rush hours of morning it takes at least 10 mins wait. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone nor ever go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Despite of some negative comments on TripAdvisor I booked a standard room at this hotel (1380hkd for 2n). We arrived early in the morning and were offered an upgrade to a deluxe room for 220hkd, which suddenly turned into 440hkd as we stayed 2 nights. When we did not agree, 220hkd was fine as well. We could check in right away. It was excellent for the price we paid. The hotel even offers a shuttle to Sheung Wan and Central. Unfortunately, the pool is only opened early in the morning and in the late afternoon, so we did not make use of it. The WiFi was perfect for HK. The location was really good, 5 min from LKF, from central and the ferries. I stayed at other 'hotels' in HK before, for the same price and this hotel was increadible compared to the other places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berbera, Somalia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you arrive in a vicinity of a hotel you will expect that the staff meet you while you are still inside the taxi but in this hotel the boys will just watch you pulling your heavy luggage THEY WILL NEVER ASSIST YOU to reach your room! Beware!

Room Tip: stay in a room where you can see the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carmelita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Okay so if you chose the hotel for the price and it's cheaper than anything else then fair enough. There's a bed. There's wifi (though it won't let you download). It's clean.

That's literally it. Yes, the rooms are small - to a point whereby the planning must have been extensive. The room safe is the bedside table. The minibar is the size of top hat. The sink in the bathroom is the size of an ashtray. There is no seat. No table. I brought food back to the room one time and there was literally nowhere to eat it other than in bed.

There isn't enough room for you to hang shirts at right angles from the wall so there's a short protruding rail sticking out of the wall so you hang shirts flat against it. There are no coat hangers. When I rang up reception and asked for some they bargained with me. They said 2, I said five, she eventually agreed to give me 4. There was fruit on a plate in my room, when I didn't eat it, it slowly went brown and soft, eventually one piece was taken away. No more fresh fruit.

Street level is like a bus station. Literally they bus in huge tour groups then push them into lifts till the weight alarm goes off. Getting up to your room can be like catching a train in Tokyo. There aren't enough lifts. Leaving the hotel every morning requires being squeezed in the lift while people get on and off, setting off the weight alarm, stopping at nearly every floor.

Pluses - I had a nice view.

In short this place has their guests piled high and billed cheap and even at lower prices than most it must be making a killing. They just keeping pushing them into the lifts and sending them skyward.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VNexpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Hotel Harbour View during a trip to Hong Kong. The hotel is located about a 15 minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station and is around 10 minutes by taxi from the Airport Express Hong Kong station (the fare was around 25 HKD). The room is indeed small but then hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small. Many reviewers here complained about the size of the toilet and how their knees would hit the bathtub. I avoided this by asking for a room with a standing shower. The room was very clean and new with free wifi access-the hotel was less than a year old.
When I stayed there, complementary breakfast was not offered. That wasn't really a problem because there are stores that sell Cantonese style roasted duck and pork near the hotel. There is also a 7-11 nearby.
Despite the rooms being new, there are some points you must take note of. There was simply not enough lighting in the room which was disappointing given the room was new. No wardrobes are available but hooks to hang your clothes were provided in the room. You will also be likely to be interrupted by hotel staff in the morning who would bang the door and ring the bell asking if you need laundry service. During 'rush hours', the wait for the elevator will be very long with lots of frequent stops at many floors due to the number of guests that stay here.
Overall, I enjoyed the stay here with the hotel being new and clean with convenient access to Central, Hong Kong station and the ferry terminal to Macau. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Grand City Hotel
#170 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#94 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
#458 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
Address: 239 Queen's Road West | MTR Sai Ying Pun Station Exit A1, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View is a 38-story high-rise located on Queen's Road West on Hong Kong Island. 432 Guest rooms with most of the rooms facing the famous Victoria Harbour. Rooms adopt a modern chic design with dining facilities and a roof top swimming pool. All rooms are equipped with free WIFI, flat TV, cable TV program, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, replenishment of coffee & tea set, IDD phone and central air conditioning. Hotel is steps away from MTR Sai Ying Pun Station (Exit A1). Tram stop is nearby which makes the connection with the Central and the East more close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing