We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappoiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong
Ranked #422 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Loma Linda, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappoiting”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I made a reservation through agoda. I realize its limited cancellation policy and I am aware of it. When my schedule changed, I tried contacting the hotel for the possibility of accommodating my changes. I was told that the manager of the hotel was willing to consider my case and the new dates. I was very happy and excited. And was told to contact agoda for the new dates. When I contacted agoda, I was informed that the hotel was not willing to accommodate my new schedule. I was confused. I wrote back and never heard any reply at all. I corresponded a couple more times and heard nothing from the hotel reservation desk. Neither did I get much help from agoda. It would have been ok if they were to say no at the beginning but being told through some correspondence that the management was willing to accommodate and then nothing happened, not even a respond was very disappointing to me. I used Best Western many times before but now I hesitate to use their service. I expected better services from Best Western.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SSoh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    262
    335
    137
    100
See reviews for
123
273
172
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson B.C.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week. Got a really good rate for Hong Kong -- as per usual for Hong Kong the room was small. The bathroom almost nonexistent. We wanted the pool but it was closed. There was no mention of this when we booked. The hotel is quite new and I suppose that the kinks haven't been ironed out yet. No one seemed to know the area very well and so we were left to fend for ourselves. It was a clean hotel and in a nice quiet area. But we found that it was a little out of the way of most attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zakdill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I concur with a lot of reviewers here..the rooms are tiny..the bathrooms are tinier..in fact getting out of the tub, you'd step into the toilet bowl if you are not careful. The sink is part of the main room and is built over the mini-bar fridge !!!!!!

The lobby is on the 5th Floor and there are only 3 elevators servicing the place and sometimes when you get buses of tourists coming in there is the inevitable "grid lock"..

The staff especially the ones at the check in counter are not very friendly and are very curt..

For the price you pay..its just not worth it...

Room Tip: Not recommending to anyone !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank offandon-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked this hotel for 5 days thinking i could expect something basic but of a decent american standard Best Western brand is known for. For a cheaper price i was happy to stay a little out of the way.
When the taxi driver told me on the way that it was not a hotel for me (single white australian woman) I was a bit worried.
After waiting 10 minutes for the lift to come to the ground floor to take me to 5th floor reception, I was checked in efficiently but very Iimoersonal experience. All the service was cold and robotic.

The hot buffet breakfast in cafe was cold. The pancakes were hard. The coffee terrible. Go to mc donalds up the road and save usd 30.

The rooms are the smallest I've ever stayed in. Even by hong kong standards they are TINY. There is no cupboard no coat hangers. No space to even open your suitcase fully. There is no light over the sink and mirror so hard to see at night to apply make up or shave. The drain in the bathroom floor spews a putrid sewer smell. The non smoking room smells of smoke.

For usd10 more I could have stayed at the island pacific two blocks away. Big mistake.
No amount of gold tiles and chandeliers will distract from the false economy of staying here. Never again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank likaiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

As a traveller, we had been to different Best Western, but this one has disappointed us. Room is so tiny, have 2 twin beds, no closet, no desk or chairs. Beds are custom made so that you can slide your luggage underneath. The bathroom is ridiculously small that your knee is hitting bathtub when you are sitting down on the toilette. We requested the non-smoking floor but we smell cigarette every morning. I am sorry to say, I completely agree with the other visitor’s comment “SHAME TO BE A BEST WESTERN”.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FoodAdventurer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last year a few weeks after it had opened.
Can't remember a single positive thing, except maybe for the location, as I usually enjoy staying in Sheung Wan.
The receptionists were the lousiest, incompetent, unfriendly people I've sever seen is a so-called hotel...The room was smaller than you could imagine, even considering HK standards, the cleanliness was mediocre, there is always a long waiting time for elevators, you name it !
They cater to large noisy mainland China groups, which is fine with me but don't try to maket yourself as a business hotel ! When I see the kind of prices they ask for now, it must be a joke. Don't get fooled by the brand name and keep on looking for better options.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a very affordable hotel by HK standards and although the rooms are small it offers very good value for money. The rooms are comfortable, so are the beds, it's clean and offers all standard services of a modern hotel (fridge, iron, cattle, safe, wifi, coffee, tea, fruits, etc). The view can be stunning if you have a room on a high floor harbor side. An effort has been made for the design of the rooms, even if it's still basic, it's more pleasant than white walls. The reception desk is friendly and helpful.

It is a fairly long stretch walking from the MRT but you can finish your journey by tramway. The location still has a very HK atmosphere since it doesn't have a direct MRT access (less Starbucks, ore noodle shops). The rooms are tiny as a true experience of HK life (no desk, no chair, use the bed to work.. this could be a 1bed/F2 by HK standards - not kidding). Avoid the breakfast buffet (not the best value for money as always in HK) and prefer to buy food at 7eleven to breakfast in your room with coffee or tea.

The lighting in the room was real bad, especially above the sink which made shaving difficult. A friend had the bad luck to come back at the same time as a group of Mainland Chinese tourists and had to wait 30 minutes for the lift. The focus on Mainland Chinese tourists is certainly to be considered if you are sensitive to noise.

All in all this is a Best Western Hotel in HK, it should be chosen for its value for money and great harbor view if you ask for it. It's simple but does the job.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Grand City Hotel
#175 of 718 in Hong Kong
169 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#459 of 718 in Hong Kong
404 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,221 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Property: Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong
Address: 239 Queen's Road West | MTR Sai Ying Pun Station Exit A1, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View is a 38-story high-rise located on Queen's Road West on Hong Kong Island. 432 Guest rooms with most of the rooms facing the famous Victoria Harbour. Rooms adopt a modern chic design with dining facilities and a roof top swimming pool. All rooms are equipped with free WIFI, flat TV, cable TV program, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, replenishment of coffee & tea set, IDD phone and central air conditioning. Hotel is steps away from MTR Sai Ying Pun Station (Exit A1). Tram stop is nearby which makes the connection with the Central and the East more close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing