We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong
Ranked #471 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I would really like to write something good about this hotel because it is pretty well located, it is clean and it is cheap. Unfortunately, I have been very disappointed with quite a few things that I think are important when you carry the name Best Western.

1) Upon check in, I was told that I booked a normal room (lower floors - so noisier - and facing the building next door), which was true, that's the room I booked. So they asked me if I wanted an upgrade to a deluxe room (higher floor, facing the harbour) for 220 hkd a night instead of 800+. As I chose this hotel for the price, I decided to keep my room.
As it happened, without paying any extra, the room assigned to me was on the 33rd floor with the view on the harbour. So I feel that they tried to make me pay extra for something that I already had for the same price.

2) As the weather was pretty cold outside and there is no heater in the room, I asked for an extra blanket but I was told that there wasn't any left but they could bring an electric heater instead. I mean, the heater did the job but what kind of hotel doesn't have an extra blanket.

3) Rooms in HK are small, that's a fact but you can still use the space well. In this hotel there is no closet to hang your clothes (there are a couple hooks on the wall) and the bath room has a toilet and a bath tub. The sink is outside the bathroom and there is so little space between the toilet and the bath tub that you can't stand in front of the toilet, and if you sit, your legs are widely spread and stuck, one against the wall and one against the door.
I think it would make a world of difference if they had put a shower instead of a bath tub.

4) When I left, I asked for a wake up call at 7.30am. I left the hotel after 8 and nobody ever called. If you can't provide a wake up call, don't put it on the service list.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank fr_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 986 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hi, this is purely a business hotel do not have high hopes, this is NOT a holiday hotel. Being in Wanchai business area this offers good cozy bed and good view of the Harbour. The rooms are too small for the tariff and may not be good for double occupancy. Please keep in mind that the MTR station is around 7-10 min walk. I had not tried the restaurant in the hotel, thus will not be commenting on that. The hotel offers internet at a charge, around 300 HKD, for long stay of 7 days.

Room Tip: Go for Harbour view room only, preferably higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CreativeDomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As you might expect, the room is tiny but very new, and you have it all, from hairdryer, safety box, shower, cofffee maker etc. one thing i hate the most is the cigarette smell - weird to see the smoke detecter in room but ashtray is presented! S we had to bear with this for four consecutive days. We have got the room facing the city with moutain in background! It is wise to indicate exactly the side you wish to be stayed!

For location, it is located right in the middle of dry market area, where they sells dried fish and seafood - of course in the morning when you want to get through ! Anyway do not attempt to walk from the nearest MTR- it is far!!! so keep your energy for something else, most of the trams pass just next to the hotel (all lines except GREEN). It is extremely convenient to take tram on the island.

Overall i am quite happy with the new room (except the cigarette smell), location and overall, but definitely i will look for some other decent places for the next visit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DioEkapoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Extremely plain hotel and even then has flaws. The hotel's name is "Best Western Hotel Harbour View" which implies a harbour view. The closest thing you would get to water is the swimming pool in the opposite building.

Despite booking a two single bedroom, the size of the room could have easily passed a single bedroom. Travelling with a family member, we both struggled with placing our luggage so that it wouldn't get into our way when we walked in the room. Therefore large suitcases are not recommended. Also we were only provided one converter socket and when asked for another, they refused to give it. Therefore charging our phones was a real pain. The tv is small but passable and it kept playing English movies (e.g. Percy Jackson; The lightning thief and Scorpion King, etc) which would be a plus for non-Chinese speaking foreigners. As the room was very small, there was no table or anything to place a laptop on if you had brought one. Well, there was a mini block-like table which was the same height as the beds so it probably can't hold a 16-inch laptop.

Also the worse thing was the bathroom. The bathroom could not be locked and the door had a slit that was large enough to see the bathroom's interior. The shower curtain was also see-through so the bathroom no longer felt private. I don't know bout any other people but I feel very unsafe with that.

Oh and don't go to the hotel during summer, it's air conditioning is so weak, you may as well switch it off to reduce carbon emissions.

However I must say the lobby area looks brilliant but it's not much use if you're not going to be using it much anyway.

The location of the hotel also isn't very good. There relatively isn't anything touristy near the hotel and the cafe's and restaurants near it aren't that great (except for the 7/11 store opposite). Travelling to the major parts of Hong Kong (e.g. Mong Kwok) is also a hassle as you have to take a bus or tram and then switch to train.

If you're looking for a cheap (cheaper relative to other Hong Kong hotels) and basic hotel (literally just sleeping) then this hotel wouldn't be a bad option. Just be prepared. Also unless you are catching a taxi or someone is delivering you and your luggage to the door upon delivery, travelling around with luggage to reach this place is really a pain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mikki X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a really basic hotel. Stayed here 4 nights, this is my last. It is only a place you use to sleep, no facilities to speak of. Rooms very small (don't bring big luggage as you will have problems finding space to open it). Very basic Cafe and would advise to get breakfast outside if you are feeling adventurous. The rooms have no heating, so if you come in the cold season remember to ask for a heater to be put in your room. My first and last stay here, sorry!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
10  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel was recently open, therefore not all the taxi drivers know about it. It has a nice rooftop, with swimming pool and a breathtaking view of the harbor. The room I had was small, but normal for HK. It had a nice view and was amazing to sleep in front of the big window facing the lights of the harbor. The bathroom is small and the shower will not give you too much space. In the end it was a good value for money, but you need first to understand that in this city there is a problem of space.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SorinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really tiny bathroom, only standing room was in the bath tub. Wash basin was in the room itself, by the door. Window ledge serves as table/luggage stand. No closet, two hooks on the wall for hanging up jackets. Beds are elevated a little higher than usual, presumably to make space for bigger luggages.

Free Wifi and free bottled water was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CC_Noodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Best Western Plus Hotel Hong Kong
Grand City Hotel
#177 of 730 in Hong Kong
193 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,371 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#481 of 730 in Hong Kong
439 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#56 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Address: 239 Queen's Road West | MTR Sai Ying Pun Station Exit A1, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $59 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View is a 38-story high-rise located on Queen's Road West on Hong Kong Island. 432 Guest rooms with most of the rooms facing the famous Victoria Harbour. Rooms adopt a modern chic design with dining facilities and a seasonal roof-top swimming pool. All rooms are equipped with free WIFI, flat TV, cable TV program, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, replenishment of coffee & tea set, IDD phone and central air conditioning. Hotel is steps away from MTR Sai Ying Pun Station (Exit A1). Tram stop is nearby which makes the connection with the Central and the East more close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing