We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical choice on Hong Kong Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong
Ranked #378 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Economical choice on Hong Kong Island”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed two nights at this new hotel on Hong Kong Island. Higher floors have nice views of the Western part of HK harbour. Although the hotel is a long walk from Central, the tram stop is only a block away and provides cheap and scenic transport. Rooms are small, and bathrooms smaller. Air conditioning is noisy, but noise from corridor and other rooms is low. Waiting for one of only 3 lifts can take a while. We didn't try the food, and the dining room is basic. The rooftop pool, with spectacular views, is still not open - despite assurances from staff that it would be! If you want the convenience of being on hk island, a low price, and a brand new hotel, this may be the place for you. For the moment, leave your swimming costume at home!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    255
    328
    132
    93
See reviews for
116
266
167
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This has to be the worst value I have ever experienced. From the tiny rooms and their even tinier bathrooms (1 x .75m !), to the complete lack of amenities (try getting an extra pillow), to the families of Chinese tourists screaming down the hallways to each other at all hours (easy to hear through the paper thin walls)...this place is a real travel nightmare. As of this writing, the rooftop pool is still unlicensed and unavailable for use. The rooms are basically a bed with about one foot of floor on each side. There is no place to put a suitcase. the bedside tables are about 40cm square. There is a small flat panel TV on the wall. The vanity is a sink with room for a toothbrush on the side. There was a gap between the door and the jamb that I could identify my girlfriend through. The shower was so small that I had to stand sideways in it. The families of tourists, packed four or five to a room somehow, inevitably spilled out into the hallway where they sat alone the walls chattering while their children ran up and down screaming. They all got up, showered,dressed, packed, assembled, and left together at 4AM on rumbling buses lined up in the street. All of this would be OK if this was another super-budget Hong Kong guesthouse. Unfortunately they charge 4-star rates for what is essentially a 1-star accommodation. I saw literally lines of people at the desk waiting to complain. The staff, obviously frustrated with the constant barrage of ill-will directed at them, are understandably surly. I certainly wouldn't want their job. There is a world class hotel about one block away from this one that is an incredible value. Go there. I wouldn't spend one more night here if it was FREE. Unbelievably, this is one of the more expensive options in the area.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. Arrived quite late after midnight, but reception was still staffed with five staff members and my papers were already prepared, so within minutes I arrived in my room. Without mentioning they gave me a sea view room, which is quite nice. The room is as small as the most rooms in HK and big luggage might be a problem, but for a short stay it is totally fine. There is no wardrobe and only a hanger, but that was fine for me. The TV is small and only offers about 20 channels most Chinese. The free Wifi is about 10 MBit/s down and can be used with multiple devices at the same time. I had breakfast outside at Mc Donalds which is about 3-5 minutes walking distance. A seveneleven is on the other side of the road. After asking the receptionist approved a late check out for free. The cleaning staff already knocked at about 8:15 which was fine for me, but maybe bother others. The bed is indeed harder then the usual European fare but anyway more comfortable than Chineses beds.
The location is a little far from the center but easy accessible by tram, only 3 mins walk from the station. Taxi to Central/Admiralty is about 30-40 HKD.
I haven't checked out the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robzhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Having lived and worked in the Western districts of HK for 5 years, I was quite keen to try the Best Western as I'm rather fond of the area.
Sadly, the hotel was a disappointment. Of course everything in the hotel was spotless and I suspect I was the first guest to use my room with the Harbour view on the 25th floor. But here's the rub. The room was tiny and dreadfully designed. Believe me, the Leader of the Oppositionwould not have been impressed - for the following reasons.
1. No closet or hanging space - just a couple of wall hooks.
2. Microscopic bathroom containing only the shower with a plastic curtain and the toilet squeezed into an alcove so narrow that the only place for the toilet paper dispenser was atop the cistern. Very awkward.
3. The wash basin was in the "hall" just inside the entry door. Looks good but the reality is that this area will become grubby very quickly as careless patrons splash water everywhere. In fact, I really don't think it's terribly hygienic to have people performing their most personal ablutions in the living or access area.
4. No bench on which to place your luggage.
5. Nothing to sit on.

In effect this is a "business" hotel or one designed for budget local tour groups. I fear it will quickly become a dump. I hope I am wrong as the staff were wonderfully courteous and helpful.

I doubt that I'll return and I'll certainly not be bringing the L.O.O. there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
11 Thank MiddleAgeAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, W.Sussex, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just completed a 3 night stay here. The hotel is not in the nicest location in the western district, the surrounding area is rather run down, and is very close to the fish Market, which smells quite badly ( unless you like fish!). There are not really any nice restaurants or shops nearby, but there is a mcdonalds a couple of minutes walk for cheap eats!

On the plus side the transport links are good. A taxi from central takes about 5-10 mins and is only 30 HKD. There are frequent trams also heading up from eastern street ( a 2 minute walk)
towards most places on hong kong island. This is easy to use, just make sure you have plenty of
change as you have to pay in coins on exit. The hotel is also about a 5 minute taxi ride, or tram
journey from Lan Kwai Fong, the main area to go out. However, you may struggle getting a taxi
back as we did, most taxi drivers are looking for bigger fares over to Kowloon and will just drive
off! We had to get some locals to help us find one back.

The hotel itself is very basic, the rooms are really small and compact, but are clean. The aircon is good. The bed is quite hard, but this didn't bother me, I can imagine some people might find it very uncomfortable. The rooms are not sound proofed. The main problem is that you can hear everything in the corridor! Everything. We were woken up everyday by people outside our room and children running up and down at 6 am! Not really what you want on holiday. There are no lounges to sit in if you have to wait for a flight - the coffee shop is more of a restaurant, and prices are very high compared to outside, probably double. The reception is open to the street ( no doors to close) so is not a nice place to sit. The biggest disappointment is that the main reason we booked the hotel was for the rooftop pool. This was not open! They do not have a license for it. We were not told this before we arrived, and no one was that bothered when we complained. I had a peak, the pool looks nice and the views up there are amazing.

Good thing is the free wifi - good speed. Hotel is also clean and new throughout.

Staff are not that well trained yet, and not that helpful if you are a tourist. There is not really any tourist information in the hotel. Housekeeping staff also will try and come in your room even when the do not disturb sign is up. We were tired after our flight and were woken 3 times in one morning from 9 am onwards by staff trying to come in.

Overall it is cheap compared to other hotels in hong kong, but you do get what you pay for! I would probably say this is a good 2 star hotel, but only has 3 stars due to the currently unopen pool!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbour view in a high floor. The other side wouldn't be a good view. Wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Becaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Grand City Hotel
#173 of 718 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#96 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#453 of 718 in Hong Kong
400 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Property: Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong
Address: 239 Queen's Road West | MTR Sai Ying Pun Station Exit A1, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #378 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View is a 38-story high-rise located on Queen's Road West on Hong Kong Island. 432 Guest rooms with most of the rooms facing the famous Victoria Harbour. Rooms adopt a modern chic design with dining facilities and a roof top swimming pool. All rooms are equipped with free WIFI, flat TV, cable TV program, in-room safe, mini refrigerator, replenishment of coffee & tea set, IDD phone and central air conditioning. Hotel is steps away from MTR Sai Ying Pun Station (Exit A1). Tram stop is nearby which makes the connection with the Central and the East more close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Harbour View Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing