We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is DOWNTOWN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #94 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kure, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is DOWNTOWN!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I long wanted to see the downtown Hong Kong.
So I chose this hotel. And that was right.
I saw many typical Hong Kong lives.
Around this hotel, there are so many enjoyable places to visit.
Especially, the restaurants which serve Hong Kong food are excellent.
I stayed there for only two nights. I was very sorry to have been there only two nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takamako6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear takamako6363,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s indeed a great pleasure taking care of you and your appreciation towards our location.

Thanks for your support and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    1,730
    418
    63
    27
See reviews for
624
1,032
458
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I am usually not one to leave a bad review but I really did not like this hotel. I will start off with the positive points. The hotel staff were fairly helpful and tried there best to make the stay comfortable. The rooms were small but clean and were serviced daily to an acceptable standard. There were many issues with this hotel but the main one that stands out to me is the bed. They are very hard and extremely uncomfortable. The elevator situation is also dreadful, you often have to line up for up to 10 minutes to get up or down and some lifts do not service all levels meaning you may have to wait twice. This is a budget hotel that has no charm and Is far from convenient. I guess you get what you pay for....

Room Tip: Opt for the harbour view if possible, the city view is poor and looks directly into other apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonjonro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear jonjonro,

Thank for your insightful comments about us and I would like to apology for our facilities which do not meet with you expectation.

Our Simmons mattress is covered by 7cm feather topper and we are welcome to give you extra toppers on guest own request in order to fit for individual comfort. We have 5 elevators serving the guests for 32 floors. It will be quite busy during the peak check-in and check-out time. I would like to apologise for the delay in service and thanks for your patience.

Look forward to extending our warmest welcome to your next visit again!

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights at this hotel on the 32nd floor. Getting here was so easy from the airport. $100 on the train and then there is a free shuttle that takes you to the hotel. Brilliant. Reception is on the 5 th floor of the hotel and there is a Starbucks downstairs, in case you are unsure if you are in the right place.
Reception is often crazy busy with many people in a confined area. But the staff were lovely. They were efficient and personable. I forgot my charger, they loaned me one for my stay. The tram is right outside the door. Just remember to have exact change $2.80 from memory or your Octopus Card.
I had requested Harbour view room thinking I would see the fireworks and light and sound show but alas I was in room 3207 which still has Harbour views but not of the light and sound show. So ask for rooms 08 - 10 on whichever floor for those views.
I only ate at the hotel once. The food was nothing spectacular but the service was great. Very friendly.
My room. The air conditioning I found to be loud but that is fine. It is a confined space. There was water provided everyday. Enough space for what I brought. The room was clean. I used the dry cleaning service which I thought was reasonably priced and quick same day service.
Taxis are always outside the front door. Have front desk write instructions for the driver as they do not all speak English.
I liked the area. There is a post office nearby and lots of eating options. I could go on... The only reason I did not rate 5 star was because of two things. When I made the booking I specifically wanted the particular Harbour view room that I did not get. It was not explained that there are two Harbour view room types. Also I found the other patrons who were on my floor in a group loud and inconsiderate, talking loudly, slamming doors etc between midnight and 2am. Let's just say. I did not sleep much.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CleoBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear CleoBKK,

I am glad to hear that you had a great time at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel and we thank you for your nice compliments on our staff and services.

There are only 3 room types available in our hotel (i.e. City View Room, Harbour View Room and Studio Room). The allocation of Harbour View Room will depend on the situation and availability. We will try our best to fulfill your request during booking, however, we cannot guarantee to make it since we have to consider the on-day availability of the Harbour View Room with the view you have requested.

I am sorry for your experience about the neighborhood. If the situation happens again in your next stay, please call our Assistant Manager and we will try our best to help and provide you a cozy sleep here.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality.

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Good and convenient location. Very nice view of the harbour and near the central pomenerade.
Appreciated the hospitality and the room upgrade by the front desk. Thank you so much! Accor hotels are always my number 1 choice. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ShuTingHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at IBIS late at night after miscommunication with an apartment company. Many hotels/hostels were full, but IBIS had one room available. After trekking the streets of Hong Kong for some time after 36 hours without sleep, we were pretty much up for anything. IBIS was a pleasant suprise!

The staff was not overly friendly, but polite enough. We stayed at the 31st floor at a room with an amazing view of the harbour. The room had free, fast wifi, was very clean and big enough for the two of us and our big backpacks (not too common in Hong Kong, we have realized). The location of the hotel is perfect, only a 15 minute walk to the Soho area. Moreover, the area around the hotel was also very fascinating. Also, Starbucks has a shop on the first floor - perfect if you need your coffee in the morning or want a cheaper breakfast meal than the hotel breakfast.

All in all a great stay. However, the prizes are a little steep.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benedictebjerknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear benedictjerknes,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us in the Harbour View room. It’s indeed a great pleasure taking care of you and your appreciation towards our room size and free WiFi are a great motivation to all of us.

Thanks for your support and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel located in the heart of Sheung Wan, the hotel has the Queen St tram stop right outside the door, and only a 5 min walk to the HK-Macau Ferry Terminal & MTR (8 min) nearby. There is a Starbucks Cafe at the of the hotel.

To get to the hotel, catch the Airport Express at the airport and get off at the Hong Kong Station. Interchange with the complimentary Airport Express Shuttle Bus (Route H1) (FREE) which runs every 20 minutes and will drop you by the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CELESTESIN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear CELESTESIN80,

I am thrilled that you find our hotel in the great location and is having the marvelous transportation network which allow you to access here with no difficulty.

Thanks for all your nice comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back real soon.


Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,646 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,173 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,735 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,913 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing