We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #92 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

took the free shuttle from airport express hong kong station. No signage to lobby on 5th floor, but we found our way, reading the reviews from Tripadvisor. Requsted and received a non smoking room. Good size compared to Ibis North point and Stanford hotel which we stayed at previously. Bigger and designed well. There was a fridge, safe, coffee/tea. 1 bottle of water complimentary. Location wise, less than 10 mins walk to MTR. There's a tram stop for those not willing to walk which takes you to the Sheung Wan or Central MTR. Service wise, front desk attending to Le Club member was not friendly. When I asked to check if my stay was recorded for Le Club points, was answered abruptly. Checking out was pleasant and quick, though. Other staff were friendly.will come back for the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

As for the access to the Reception, we have displayed a directional signage before Christmas at Ground Floor Lobby to direct our guests to the Reception on the 5th floor.

Regarding your comments on the Front Desk service, we had reflected it to the department concerned for further review and improvement. Making our guests happy and satisfied is always of our top priority. Please allow us to serve you better on your next visit to Hong Kong!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    1,686
    407
    61
    27
See reviews for
609
1,002
445
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel is clean but room a rather small. Location is not the best but access to MTR is convenient. Room rate is acceptable, so I ranked very good in this budget hotel category. Breakfast was not bad but average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerometm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. Your comments deem important to us for our service review and improvement.Please be reassured that we always strive to deliver the highest possible level of service with care.

We sincerely welcome you to pay us a visit again for a pleasant stay next time.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Room was clean, pleasant and (although small) a good size for central Hong Kong. The bed was extremely comfortable. I appreciated the tea- and coffee-making facilities in the room and the free wifi. It was also helpful to have two PCs for free public use in the lobby. It would have been nice to have a wider choice of TV channels.

Staff were polite and efficient and, although there was a long queue at check-out time, the reception was fully manned.

Location is fine - reasonably close to MTR, trams and the Macau ferry terminal. There are some good restaurants within walking distance (and some decent budget options in the Queen St cooked food market next door).

Only problem was the price - it was extremely expensive for a non-luxury hotel. But if you can get a good rate, then this place is an excellent choice for a short stay in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: If the view is important to you, pay extra for the harbour view. The "city view" on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments!

Please do keep an eye on our website: accorhotels.com for the ongoing promotion to grab the best deal! We would extend our warmest welcome to your next stay with us again!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,578 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,664 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,160 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing