We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine for a business trip to Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #90 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just fine for a business trip to Hong Kong”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Ibis. People laughed when I mentioned that it was called 'Hong Kong Central', because Sheung Wan is not Central. You should not hold this fact against this hotel. The people that work there could not be more helpful or lovely. Anything I needed they made sure I got. The breakfast was very pleasant, and my room was well equipped with functional but quiet a/c and fast wireless. I'm sure I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FasterCyrusKillKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    1,706
    414
    62
    27
See reviews for
616
1,019
447
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at the Ibis. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the view was really great, especially if you're overlooking the harbor like we did. The location is also good - a short walk to the ferry terminal (very useful if you intend to travel to Macau), and not far from the railway station. The staff were very efficient and helpful.
A minor criticism - the bathroom amenities were adequate, but could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben_Luiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I spent a day Hong Kong. The Ibis was a nice hotel. Easy access thanks to frequent shuttles from the train station. Fantastic location and views. I had a room with a view of the harbor. I spent a lot of time just sitting by the window.

The room was compact (as is expected in places like NYC, London, Hong Kong), but was laid out quite nicely. The beds were comfortable. Good value for money as I thought the room was very reasonably priced. The only gripe I had was the bathroom. I understand the need to manage with very little space, but one expects to have room to turn around without banging your elbow into something metallic. I found this to be true of the Ibis in Nottingham as well. Perhaps it isn't a expensive real estate thing.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kovilkalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Perfect Ibis Hotel as Ibis standarts...
Perfect location...
Clean and comfortable room, very nice view and a wonderful smell in the room.
The bed is a very good point, soft and comfortable !
Perfect hotel for a stay in Hong kong, good price and very nice staff!!!!

Room Tip: Harbor view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was on a business trip and spent three nights at the hotel.
I liked:
- The cleanliness of the rooms
- The personel was very helpful
- The view from the room (I was at the 32nd floor with a view of the habour and the ICC)
- The location is not bad. It is close to Central and Hong Kong Station
- The free shuttle from and to the Hong Kong Station

Perhaps the only thing I disliked was the limited number of TV channels available. No CNN for instance. But it is only a minor concern. I consider that the rate was very competitive for the level of service that was rendered (around 870HKD per night + 10% room service)

I will definitely use this hotel as my base for my next business trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I traveled with my wife without any prior booking which was quite daring but IBIS Central accommodated us really easy. If you are looking for a huge room in Hong Kong then go for a 5* hotel, but the room was clean and the bed sheets and we enjoyed room service each day. Bathroom equipped with basic toiletries in case you forgot your toothbrush. We didn't try any food as there was so much food outside the hotel. There is a 7/11 shop just a minute walk away and the train station is just next door. Taxi's go past all the time if your in a rush. Enjoyed the stay and would go back as it is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1diverdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were so small that we barely had place for two large suitcases. But the reception, check in, location are all good and overall a decent experience at this hotel. The high floor rooms have excellent views.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ratnarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#73 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,604 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,144 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing