We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #89 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the best value for money hotel I could find in HK. It is in a new building (constructed 2012), the rooms are large by HK standards, it is very clean and is located within walking distance from Metro Stations. We caught the shuttle bus to the hotel front door, from the Hong Kong Station (Airport Line) for free.

I couldn't find a comparable hotel on Hong Kong Island or Kowloon online anywhere.

The only negative I had was that the first staff member we encounted was rude and abrupt as we arrived one day late on a pre-paid booking. All of the other staff members were fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJBrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    1,638
    396
    59
    26
See reviews for
589
965
434
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Probably one of the worst examples of Customer service i have come across in a long long time. The staff are pure rude.....some issue with the billing by my Travel agent and they Locked me out....with all my stuff in the room ..that was a first...the room key was enabled...rather a fresh one issued only when the travel agent confirmed some stuff over mail to the front office desk..... food they dont have just a small tuck-shop....its utter chaos.... the only plus is the location...but i wouldnt stay there again even if they paid me to... almost every second customer was shouting at the top of his voice for some issue or the other at the reception guys..mostly in Chinese so could'nt make out. all in all a sad sad place

Room Tip: please avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing your comments to our attention.

We felt sorry for the experiences you had encountered at our Reception. Your feedback deems important to us. In view of this, we would appreciate if you could email to marketing@ibishkcsw.com with your name, room number and your staying period as well as your contact details including email address for our further investigation and hence we would revert to you accordingly in due course.

Best regards,

ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were looking for decent upmarket hotels in Hong Kong. The prices of most of the hotels located centrally were very steep. As a member of the Accor hotel group, we chose to stay at the Ibis Sheung Wan. It was excellent value for money when compared to other Hong Kong Hotels. Though the room was a little small in size but then that is a standard thing in Hong Kong. The breakfast was decent and overall we had a good experience over our 3 day stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikanshu_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

While travelling we usually try to stay at an Accor property and this hotel did not disappoint. Very good location with the tram and bus routes running past the front door and a short walk to the subway. Excellent services and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Annabarry_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently stayed for a couple of nights and found the hotel rooms to be very clean and the bed comfortable. We were upgraded to the harbour view room at no extra charge, which was magnificent.
Staff were helpfiul and polite...cant say the same for some of the other guest however. Checkin is on the 5th floor which is odd but there is a shuttle bus counter on the ground floor and the staff will happily direct you to the lifts.
Speaking of the lifts that was one quirky thing about the hotel. They did not travel all the way to the ground so you had to change into another to complete the journey. No big deal but in our tiredness we did do a couple of trips back to the floors above by mistake.
As for the area it is more business district but nice and close to the ferry terminal. A short walk to MRT station and there were quite a few outlet stores but not much street food if that is what you are looking for as we were.
All in all a good experience however I would think a better location for folks that know the way around HK not the novice as we were.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing