We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis high standard for quality at one of its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #90 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ibis high standard for quality at one of its best!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

what we liked:
- the location,
- the very approachable, available and helpfull staff,
- spotless rooms and bathrooms,
- great beds (a bit hard at first but they turn out to be very confortable),
- the breakfast: just what you need.

What we did not like:
- the airconditonning system: very noisy. Make sure to bring ear plugs otherwise it is not possible to sleep with the airco on.
- the airco stops automatically a few mintues after you leave the room. when returning into the room there is a nasty smell due to the heat and dampness accumulation. This goes away pretty fast after the airco is on again.
-

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Claudejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    1,706
    414
    62
    27
See reviews for
616
1,019
447
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I appreciate the hotel location.
However, I didn't appreciate at all that they charged more than what I paid on Internet.
I booked and paid online but when I checked out, they asked me to pay more charges without any explanation even if I asked.
When I checked on the bill they gave me, room prices weren't the same as I booked.
They said that it has changed between my booking and check out. That's why there is a difference.
I already had a problem with another ibis hotel in the past and I swear that it was the last time I ever stay at one of their hotel...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
7 Thank Wuanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for bringing your comments to our attention.

In order to conduct in-depth investigation, please kindly send your details (English full name, staying period, guestroom number) to marketing@ibishkcsw.com for our follow-up.

Please be rest assured that maintaining good relationship with our guests is always of our top priority. We look forward to serving you again soon! Many thanks for your kind attention!

Best regards,
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The view over the harbour area and Kow Loon was wonderful, especially by night. Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean, modern rooms - a great hotel at a nice price. The hotel was a bit hard to find for us on our first visit to the city, so remember to study the map before wandering for some time in the district.

Room Tip: The bayside view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your praises!

For directing our location, we do have a hotel map and some smart tips to educate our team members to direct guest to come to our Hotel. We are also planning to work on a destination map later on to showcase also Sheung Wan attractions in the hotel vicinity for guests.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here a few months ago. Hotel was clean, and the location good,

Close to the MTR station. Breakfast was subpar. Service was great, and the bar was a nice place to have a drink before heading out for the night.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your compliments and recommendations!

Look forward to serving you again in the future!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to book in Ibis as we had plans to explore Hong Kong and Macau extensively and needed just a clean bed and toilet. Checked into the hotel close to midnight as our flight got delayed but all the irritation and tiredness vanished during the checkin process. The associate who took our checkin was so couteous and helpful and he upgraded us to a room with a view of kowloon. The room was very Ibis, smal but with all necessary amenities, clean toilet and a very comfortable bed. Our service requests were attended to within 15 minutes as per the Ibis promise and did not find any reason to complain. We stayed there for three nights and on the date of checkout, we even got an extended checkout time till 2 pm.

The hotel is just 300 mts (10 minutes walk) away from the Hong Kong Macau ferry terminal and about 10 minutes in taxi to the Central ferry pier to go to kowloon. Taxis, buses and tram service is only a foot step away.

Breakfast was minimal but whatever was in the spread was good enough to get us going till our lunch time. All areas including the food and beverage was impeccable and we will stay in this hotel during our next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a room with a view of Kowloon skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great comments which have brighten up our day!

We do make our every attempt in delivering our brand promise ‘well-being at the best price’ and what you had experienced did substantiate it.

Definitely see you again next !

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am a big fan of Ibis hotel and this hotel is certainly worth staying at.
Good value for money, big room with safe, good view of Hong Kong, comfortable bed.
Little if any traffic noise.
Wonderful and friendly staff that answered all our questions with knowledge and with a smile on their face.
Also worth to mention is the free WiFi in the rooms and common areas.
Breakfast is about 128 HKS but at the entrance at the hotel you will find a Starbucks.
Across the road you can also enjoy a Hong Kong breakfast (congee about 25-35 HKS) at a local restaurant. (Eng menu available)
It's about 7min walk to Sheung Wan MRT station and walking distance to the "escalator area".
The hotel is also part of the MRT's service "Free shuttlebus to the Airport Express"
The bus arrives at the hotel every 20min around xx.05, xx,25 and xx.45. And will drive you for free to Hong Kong Central Station, their you are also able to check in you and your luggage.
Was such a breeze arriving at the airport already checked in. More time in the duty-free area ;)

Wish I have found this hotel earlier as I really like the Sheung Wan area.
Will stay at this hotel next time I go to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishgiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Marketing Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for you continuous support to ibis hotel and your great comments do brighten up our day!

We do make our every attempt to keep on delivering “well-being at the best price” and we definitely look forward to serving you again soon!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Brand new Accor hotel in Hong Kong. Just 10 minutes walk to Ferry Terminal and MTR Shueng Wan Station or 2 minutes walk from Tram Station.

Great views - stayed on the 28th floor with a view of the harbour from the room! and clean room.

Con - Room amenities has been set for only one person. (I'm not sure that they forgot or ibis standard)

Overall is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey-Mike8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your compliments on our location as well as the view and cleanliness of our rooms. For room amenities, we do appreciate if you could address your request for an additional set with our front office team members at check-in for our immediate arrangement next time.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#73 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,604 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,144 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing