We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #93 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently and centrally located on the lovely and cheap double-decker tramway. Next door you will find the Hong Kong cooked food market where you can eat superbly in a very authentic atmosphere. Downstairs you will find a Starbucks. The view from our room onto the harbour was magnificent. The hotel room itself is modern, clean, correct. Not overpriced compared to other Hong Kong hotels.

Room Tip: Front rooms have excellent harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bets76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your compliments!

We sincerely welcome you to visit our restaurant TASTE next time. TASTE is an open, breezy restaurant located on our 6/F that serves breakfast and lunch in buffet style. The restaurant features both international cuisine and local specialties to cater for different dining preferences.

We sincerely welcome you to pay us a visit again and enjoy “well-being at the best price” in the coming future!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 3,517 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Service is good, all staff I met will greet you with a friendly smile. Room size is reasonable, very neat and tidy with Sony tv, free wi fi and mini bar. Bright and clean bathroom with free toothbrush, bath gel and soap. Room with harbour view is absolutely stunning day and night.

Not close to MTR but trams and buses are available. From the airport, can take airport express and complimentary shuttle bus to hotel.

Value for money. Will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are proud to be one of Asian flagship hotels in delivering well-being at the best price and what you had experienced did substantiate the delivery of our brand promise.

A smart tip to get to our hotel from Sheung Wan MTR station (Exit C) is to keep walking along Connaught Road Central until the conjunction of Des Voeux Road West, then you’ll find our colorful building sits just two blocks away to your left. It takes you around 8 minutes.

For your information, a free shuttle bus route No. H1 serves from 6.12 am to 11.12 pm daily and departs every 20 minutes will stopped at our driveway. It travels between Hong Kong station and major hotels in the vicinity including us.

Glad to know that you will stay with us again and look forward to serving you again soon!


Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice room....convenient bus services and close to Central. highly recommended to friends who are going to take a trip in Hongkong. Hotel can arrange airport limo bus to take you to the airport, which will take around one hour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agdingdang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recommendations!

For your information, there is an Airport Express shuttle bus stop right at our driveway where a free shuttle bus (route No. H1) operates from 6.12 am to 11.12 pm daily and departs every 20 minutes. It travels between Hong Kong station (MTR and Airport Express) and major hotels in Sheung Wan and Western District areas including us.

We definitely look forward to serving you again in the coming future!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the standard city view double room on the 8th floor in early November 2012.

Pros:
1. Room was very, very clean, modern and new, albeit on the compact side. (We packed all our belongings into the wardrobe, so we could stow our suitcases away under the bed and desk. That helped.)
2. Mattress and pillows were firm, with good quality bed linen... Supremely comfortable!
3. Checking-in/out was quick and smooth. Front desk staff were polite, efficient and spoke fluent English.
4. Air-conditioning in the room was good and cold.
5. We loved the shower with its fantastic pressure and unlimited supply of hot water!
6. Wi-fi worked perfectly - No problems whatsoever with the connection and speed.
7. Plenty of local eateries around the hotel, and the Starbucks in the lobby made getting our morning caffeine fix or a mid-afternoon tea snack a breeze.
8. Convenience store next to the hotel entrance provided 24-hour availability of snacks, drinks and cigarettes.
9. Complimentary bottles of water and coffee/tea amenities in the room were replenished daily.
10. Nearest MTR - Sheung Wan - is an easy 7-minute walk from the hotel and just 1 stop away from Central.

Cons:
1. The bathroom is pretty small, and the shower stall is even tinier (approximately 3 by 3 feet). We had no issues, but you might find it a tight fit if you're big and tall.
2. TV channels were limited and boring. Bring your own entertainment!
3. Sheung Wan isn't the most central place to be, especially if you want to be surrounded by shopping malls, street markets and fancy restaurants. You need to take an MTR to Central and switch lines to get to most tourist spots (Causeway Bay / Tsim Sha Tsui / Lan Kwai Fong / The Peak etc). In addition, since it's the wholesaler district for dried seafood and other goods, the air smelled "absolutely lovely". For the price we paid (about S$150 / US$120 per room per night), I'm pretty sure there were other options we could have checked out.

Other things to note:
1. Print out the hotel's address and location map to help you get around. Since the hotel is pretty new, most cab drivers don't know where it is yet.
2. To get there from the airport - If you're in a group, consider taking a taxi directly from the airport to avoid any hassle. If you're alone or want to save on cab fare, take the airport express train to Hong Kong station, followed by a taxi to the hotel. (We couldn't get a cab so we walked from Hong Kong station to Central, took the MTR, attempted to walk to the hotel from Sheung Wan and ended up getting a tad lost. Urgh.)

Room Tip: The "city view" was pretty much us staring into several blocks of apartments or offices. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Glad to know that you had a good sleep in our rooms.

We are proud to be one of Asian flagship hotels in delivering well-being at the best price and what you had experienced did substantiate the delivery of our brand promise.

Regarding your comment about the buffet breakfast, we had already forward it to Food & Beverage Department for further review and improvement. Please be reassured that we always strive to provide buffet breakfast at the greatest value of money.

We hope you will have an opportunity to return again in the future.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2am and was glad tt check in was a breeze. Our room was the city view but we got managed to get the harbour view. Room was clean and tidy. Simple yet cosy!

Hotel is great for those without kids as the nearest sheung wan mtr is abt 10-15mins walk from the hotel. I take the walk to the mtr as my morning exercise. Plus the hotel is also within short walking distance to the ferry terminal if u are heading for macau..

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAzura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us!

A smart tip to get to our hotel is from Sheung Wan MTR station (Exit C) is to keep walking along Connaught Road Central until the junction of Des Voeux Road West, then you’ll find our colorful building sits just two blocks away to your left. It takes you around 8 minutes’ on foot.

We would be honored to be at your service for your next visit to Hong Kong again.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Easy online booking of hotel room. 10 min walk from Sheung Wan MTR station and steps away from tram stop, making the hotel accessible from anywhere in Hong Kong. Reception area has a live flight information display screen. Midnight snacks available or you can find 7 eleven & McDonalds close by. Central a/c, blackout curtains & comfy bed with cozy duvet ensures a good night's sleep. Wake up to a stunning view of the Victoria Harbor (our room was on the 32nd floor!) Free in-room wi-fi, electronic safe, multiple plug points, tea-coffee making facility, nice shower & good housekeeping. Breakfast buffet is good but more pork & less chicken and on some days only pork and no chicken at all. It is very essential to include other meat options for non pork eaters. Otherwise we had a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Glad to know that you had a good sleep in our rooms.

We are proud to be one of Asian flagship hotels in delivering well-being at the best price and what you had experienced did substantiate the delivery of our brand promise.

Regarding your comment about the buffet breakfast, we had already forward it to Food & Beverage Department for further review and improvement. Please be reassured that we always strive to provide buffet breakfast at the greatest value of money.

We hope you will have an opportunity to return again in the future.

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

For about $100 US a night (Agoda) you get a beautifully and simply decorated room, nearly brand new with an amazing and very well trained staff.

Location is 10 minutes from the subway, but there is a tram stop just outside the hotel. Hotel is in a good area and it is pretty easy to get to about anywhere in Hong Kong as you are only one stop away from the Central and Hong Kong MTR stations.

Hotel has a bar and breakfast buffet. All views are gorgeous, no matter the room you stay in. Over all one of the best values in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your great comments do brighten up our day! Our promise is to ensure your stay with well-being at the best price.

We definitely look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#65 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,289 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#88 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#83 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,395 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,479 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $82 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing