We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #90 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New and convenient”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Recommend this new hotel for its simple and clean design and convenient location. Sheung Wan MRT is a 10 minute stroll away. It’s very convenient and cheap to cab back from Causeway Bay or Wan Chai. On the other hand, it takes longer to cab out from the hotel because they need to take the long route around. There is a diner across the street that is convenient for breakfast or brunch. Starbucks just opened downstairs of the hotel. To the left of the hotel is a convenience store and if you continue walking left a bit more there is a 7-11 store. The hotel can be a bit confusing if you arrive late as there are no people or signs to greet you. The check in counter is on level 5 and staff there are fluent in English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recommendations!

We have one restaurant “TASTE” on 6/F and a bar “LE BAR” on 5/F. TASTE is an open, breezy restaurant featuring local flavours and providing all-day dining menu and breakfast buffet from 6.30 am – 11.00 am while LE BAR is a place for you to loosen up yourself anytime by offering round-the-clock snacks and drinks.

Unfortunately we do not have concierge team yet one security team member has to stand by at our ground floor lobby for 24 hours. Please be reassured that day and night, our team members are there to cater to your needs with our best possible services.

We sincerely welcome you to visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better next time!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    1,704
    414
    62
    27
See reviews for
616
1,018
446
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to book this hotel after realizing an increase in the price for Holiday Inn Express Soho. How lucky we were! The hotel is new (opened in August 2012) so everything is new and sparkling. In order to get to the main reception area for check in, we have to take a lift from the ground floor to the 5th floor. It is a good security feature as there will always be someone at the ground floor to check on who is entering the building. (I was asked politely for my room card). Furthermore, guests are required to insert their room card in the lift in order to go straight up to the floors where the rooms are at. The staff are friendly and do speak English. Do take note that they take a deposit equivalent to HKD500 for each night of stay there. The said deposit will be refunded to you when you check out; credit card is acceptable. The size of the room is typical of Hong Kong; small and every available space is used for something. We had an upgrade (although we were not told); we took it as an upgrade since we paid for a city view but instead received a harbour view room. The view is spectacular with plenty of natural light coming into the room. The bathroom is small but water pressure is good. Amenities such as toothbrush, toothpaste and shower gell/shampoo are provided. We did not try the breakfast as there is a typical hk style café across the room to sample their local food (note: no English menu found). The hotel is located on the dried seafood street and since my mum wanted to get some to bring back home, the location is perfect. It might be overwhelming for those who are not used to it. The distance from the hotel to the MRT really depends on whether you are ‘walker’. The lazy ones can take the tram (any tram) in which the stop is barely 30m away on the left of the hotel; 2 stations later, you are right in front of Sheung Wan’s MRT station. Do note that the stops returning from the MRT station to hotel is much further away and some walking is necessary. We were out late one night and we saw the trams running pass midnight. Just below the hotel is a convenient store and around the corner is a 7 eleven so it is very convenient to buy some drinks and bring it back up to the room which has a mini fridge to keep the drinks cool. There is also a HSBC bank next door for those who need emergency cash. It is a recommended hotel for those who wish to stay in HK island.

Room Tip: Do take the harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapadesearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your compliments particularly on our arrangement of guest lifts. We do pay attention to details on guest security and privacy and therefore we have arranged three guest lifts with access to all floors whilst the other two only reaching the reception on the fifth floor. Your other sincere comments are highly appreciated too! We will keep it up and hope to serve you again next time soon!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this Ibis hotel in Sheung Wan, and found it a good budget option.

Pros:
- Brand new hotel, clean and comfy room
- Silent AC
- Fridge, although empty, in the room
- Good wifi signal
- Good location
- Reasonable price when booking in advance

Cons:
- Breakfast is not worth the price, Starbucks next door should be a better option
- Few things are missing such as an alarm clock
- Front desk staff tried to bill me the breakfast as extra while I already paid for it online

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your compliments and valuable comments!

We make our every attempt to provide great value for money buffet breakfast and simplistic but comfortable room. We will ensure our team members to pay more attention to details in delivering the best possible services to our guests.

We sincerely welcome you to visit us again and give us a chance to serve you better, thank you!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Brand new hotel,everything was nice and clean,not a huge room but perfect for a base to go out and explore Hong Kong,walking distance to Macau ferry terminal and Sheung Wan metro station,staff were friendly and able to converse in English.We did'nt try the Breakfast went out every day,lots of choice in The Chen Tak centre(Ferry Terminal)**Tip** If coming from the Airport,cheapest way is the A11 city bus...no stops...a return ticket if you buy at Hong Kong airport is only 65 HKG dollars(less than $10).Beds are a little hard by our standards,I would definetly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachhound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad to learn that you would like to stay with us again!

We sincerely welcome you to pay us a visit to TASTE restaurant next time. Our buffet breakfast is of the great value featuring both international cuisine and local specialties which will suit our guests with different dining preferences. To create a soothing night and a sounder sleep, we provide a quality Simmons mattress topped with a 7cm feather topper.

We do look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a good, clean, reasonably priced hotel for the location.

Pros: Excellent location, only 10 minutes walk to the Sheung Wan MTR subway stop. Not as far as the Island Pacific Hotel which is in the same area. Price for Hong Kong Island near central is excellent.

Cons: Beds are a bit hard, and service was a bit slow, but they recently opened so I think they might be getting the kinks worked out. Taxis still don't know where it is because it is new. Hotel is located on 5th floor which is a bit strange. Don't expect luxury.

Summary: Excellent base level hotel with all of the amenities in a centrally located area for a good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter21456932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBIS H, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad to know that you are satisfied with our hotel except some of our service hiccups.

To ensure a well-being experience at the best price, we do make every effort to improve our services given ongoing training and reviews.

For the security concern, we have arranged the check-in counter on the 5th floor and arrange our security team member to station on the G/F for 24 hours to direct guests to our reception on 5th floor.

In addition, we are delighted to inform you that we are implementing taxi promotion at the moment, to enable the taxi driver to get more familiar with our hotel location and driving route.

Last of all, we sincerely welcome you to pay us a visit again and give us a chance to serve you better!

Best regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#74 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,602 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,144 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing