We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #87 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arriving in HK around midnight, we need to use a TAXI to go to the hotel, and it turns out to be, not very easy to find. Despite the fact that I give the TAXI driver the complete address and the sites within the proximity.

Standart IBIS, so no surprises on the room size etc. Still brand new, which is a very good part.

Didnt book the room with breakfast and had to get up early for flight, not too much choice for breakfast around the hotel (on a Sunday morning, if that's relevant).
Yet the staff is very helpful.. the check in and check out was smooth... and willing to give directions for places to have breakfast....

This hotel is really new, so everything is still fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fr4nc1sc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We have opened for business since 11 August, 2012, only a month more, so some taxi drivers may not be able to locate our property but since then we have been promoting to our hotel so your encounters would have been improved now.

What’s unique for our breakfast concept is our 8-hour breakfast service from 4.00 am to 12.00 noon. If you are an early bird or to leave early for flight, you may look for light breakfast at LE BAR (5/F) from 4.00 am to 6.30 am. Thereafter until 11.00 am, our restaurant TASTE on the 6th floor offers international buffet breakfast. If you prefer a lie in and look for light breakfast foods, then LE BAR will cater to your needs.

We hope that you would choose to stay with us for your next visit again.

Best Regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,000 - 2,006 of 3,344 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed with my husband and 2 young kids. Check in took forever, even though it was not a busy time. We were assigned adjoining rooms. But on seeing that one of the rooms had a connecting door, we asked if we could change one of the rooms to the connected room. Staff was extremely rude and condescending. Rooms were very small, but clean. But no toiletries except for a hanging shampoo / showergel. Kind of what you get in a budget hotel, disappointing. Rooms not made the next day by 3pm until we called the room service to request for it. Breakfast was very simple, and did not have an omelet station even for that price. Hotel also quite a walk from the MTR, through backlanes. Not a pleasant walk. There is a moneychanger and a 7-11 nearby, but not much else. No pool for kids also. Not impressed with hotel in general, but i guess that could be the after taste from the bad check-in experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OPP_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

We felt sorry for your check-in experiences. We have already feedback your comments to our front office department for further action. Much to our regret, your connecting room request was not realized and our team members’ attitude was inappropriate as to the hotel standard.

Under the ibis brand standard, we provide three-in-one shampoo/conditioner/showergel to reinforce our greening concept operation whilst providing toothbrush set and slippers too.

For breakfast, we are looking into offering other food items for buffet breakfast if such is in line with our ibis standard.

As a smart tip, we encourage guests to walk along Connaught Road Central towards the exit C at Sheung Wan MTR station from the hotel which only takes you 10 minutes or less, instead of taking laneways through to exit A1 and A2.

Hope the above helps and please be reassured that we will make every attempt to provide caring and efficient given that further training will be provided to our front line team members. We would appreciate your understanding very much.

Best Regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Except that you need walk about 10 minutes from subway, the hotel is perfect for the short economic stay.

第一次给这个IBIS评价。

因为我还是每年会去香港,有时候公差有时候个人,那么一个物廉价美的房间是很关键。而香港房价颇高。这个酒店还是很值得推荐。

除了有点远,离上环要走上10分钟外,酒店很不错,房间干净,也算安静,尤其是房间面积不小。不是一般的酒店只能转个身的空间。服务不错,尤其是我订房的名字和护照有些出入,但前台很耐心的给解决了问题。

当然,价格在经济的,不能奢望豪华。

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlivierSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012
Google Translation

尊敬的貴賓:

感謝您選擇入住宜必思香港中上環酒店並於TripAdvisor上分享您的住宿體驗。

對於您對酒店的環境及設施給予的高度評價,我們皆感到非常高興。我們的服務團隊不分晝夜地致力滿足每位賓客所需,為每位賓客帶來閒逸舒適的住宿體驗。

再次感謝您選擇宜必思香港中上環酒店,我們期待在不久的將來能再次為您服務!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A good budget hotel. We decided to stay at this new hotel for 4 nights to get experience staying on Hongkong Island. This hotel is comparatively cheap & availability of rooms is plenty. Pay more if you want a harbour view. The hotel is good and also very clean as this hotel is still new. Our stay there was almost very good. Huge nice lifts are there. Although the check in time is 2:00 pm, but we reached early around 9 am as our flight was early, the reception staff allowed us to check in. This was a big relief. They have good luggage storage facility also. The staff is nice and gentle, ready to help you. They hold HKD 1000 as security money which is not mentioned while booking is made. The most amazing thing is free Wi-Fi and the signals are very strong. Location is fine.
Breakfast is a bit too expensive. However, in nearby area, there are a lot of small and big restaurant. The problem is that the menu card is not in english and only for a few dishes you get an english translation.
The same problem is with taxis. The drivers dont know english so you have to carry the name of your destination in Cantonese language.
The service in hotel is fairly good. The tea-coffee facility is there but only once a day. If you require extra tea bags or creamers or spoons, they will not supply and tell that you have already been given your share. In the vicinity of the hotel, there are many super stores open till late night, so we used to by tea bags and milk from the market.
The most disappointing thing about this hotel is that no tour operator picks you up from this hotel. The hotel has a travel desk of Vigour Travels with a nice gentleman sitting over there. But he is helpless as for any tour, you either go to Novatel or Cosmopolitan or Parkland or Central pier No. 6 or 9...or so and they will drop you there. You take a taxi and come back to Ibis by yourself.
The nightmare starts when none of the taxis would stop for you, and if stop by chance, will refuse you to go to IBIS, Sheung Wan. We were stuck in the middle of the way for half an hour, when courtesy of another hotel staff that saw us running from pillar to post to get a taxi, called us to their entrance and helped us board a taxi back to our hotel.
So I would like to advise the hotel staff to arrange pick and drop facility from their hotel for the tourists.
The hotel's reception is on 5th floor, but travel desk on ground floor. So if you have to wait, keep on standing as there are no sitting facilities like other hotels which have lounge with plush sofa sets or chairs.
We waited for more than 30-40 minutes to catch their Airport Shuttle for Airport as it was late, but there was no place to sit. The hotel staff was however very helpful saying that bus would come in another 10 minutes to console us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sangeetasrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Regarding the refundable deposit payment during your check-in, it is our hotel policy to make such request to recover guest’s incidental charges (which may be generated from our in-room IDD calls) in case of guest departure without checking out. Indeed, our free Wi-Fi service has been receiving positive feedback which supersedes the standard of many upscale hotels.

As for the price of our buffet breakfast, we would look into opportunities that could serve one of greater value. About the extra tea bags and coffee condiments, we have reflected your comments to our housekeeping department in-charge and further training will be given to the team to improve their customer service skills.

Currently our appointed travel agent, Vigor Tours, offers Hong Kong Island Tour which stops at our hotel and we will encourage the agent to provide more tour options with stopover at our hotel to for guest convenience.

Moreover, in order to provide spacious entrance access to guests and visitors, we have set sofas on the 5th floor reception rather than entrance lobby on the ground floor.

Thank you for your understanding. Once again we do appreciate for your compliments too and we look forward to your next visit again in future.


Best Regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The MTR is far from the hotel, 15 minutes walking. I was surprised that they didn't have refridgerator to freeze my ice pack (i need to keep my medicine cool).
We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights but we couldn't sleep well for 3 nights because of the extremely terrible noise from the other room (the Chinese men, they open the doors and talk very loudly every early morning). I had complaint to the hotel staff but still the same, the noise, from other room, in the same floor. I thought that I was at the market instead.
The room is good, clean, but when I arrive, we didn't have facial cloths. Anyway, I have stayed at about 10 accor hotels around the world, but this hotel is the worst. I will not choose it again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Normally it will take you 10 minutes to walk to and from our hotel to exit C at Sheung Wan MTR station. Under ibis rooms standard, there is no refrigerator in the guestrooms but in our hotel, we have a mini-fridge to cater to the needs of the guests who required to chill their medicine or drinks. If you have the need to keep the medicine cool, our team members will assist in providing the best solution under reasonable circumstances. For any extra need that may arise, you may wish to press the housekeeping button on our in-room telephone and we will try our very best to help.

Hope the above ideas would help and please allow us to serve you better again in future.

Best Regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goondu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Took the Airport Express to Hong Kong station and then a taxi to the Ibis. All in cost me HKD115. The hotel is located in Sheung Wan and is about a 10 minute walk to the Sheung Wan MRT station.

I had booked online and got what I thought was a reasonable rate which included a harbour view, breakfast and internet. The Hotel location is particularly good if the intention is to catch a ferry to Macau being s close to the Macau ferry terminal.

I arrived quite late in the evening but check in, which was on the 5th floor, was reasonably efficient. The Starbucks on the ground floor had not opened and you have to take the side street next to Starbucks to get into the Hotel. Having said that, there was a staff on the Ground floor who directs you to the lifts.

Room was typical Ibis, clean and efficient although I was pleasantly surprised by the complimentary slippers and fridge. Bathroom is small but shower pressure is good and layout is functional although no bath tub. Noted earlier complaints about cleanliness but I had no such issue. Generally a typical Ibis although they do surprise every so often. Most of the guests at the Hotel were tour groups from mainland China and I can see this being a popular Hotel for them. All in all a great, reasonably priced Hotel if you want to be on the Island.

Room Tip: Lifts exit around rooms XX03, so if you have been allocated a room where the last 2 digits exceed 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel W, Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments on our amenities and efficient service. Our main hotel entrance is now opened and accessible whilst our security team member will direct you to our reception on the 5th floor. What is our uniqueness here among other ibis hotels is our in-room safe and in-room mini fridge in all guestrooms.

Having said that, we have made every attempt and paid attention to details to ensure a comfy guest stay. We would appreciate for your continuous support and wish to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,773 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#58 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,973 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,286 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $65 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing