We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and coffee is great”

Passion by Gerard Dubois
Ranked #2 of 99 Bakeries in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and coffee is great”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a great lunch and went back for a coffee in the afternoon ...so relaxing and smells to die for ....will repeat

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrittmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    98
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches and quiches”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A good french bakery!
I had a good BBQ pork hot sandwich and a tasty Mushroom & Parmesan quiche, with a perfect lemon pie for dessert.
The price is a little high compared to the quantity but the quality makes up for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Coffee & Ambience”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Visited on several occasions during my weeks vacation in Hong Kong - the coffee is Illy brand - my favourite!!! The food is tasty & well presented - modern décor, but service is sadly lacking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best Baguette in Hong Kong”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

As a french expatriate, when i arrived in Hong Kong, i tried many shops or supermarkets which sell what they called baguette. It was always a very bad quality till i discover the shop " Passion by gerard dubois " in Wanchai. Their baguette is exactly like the one you can find in our bakeries in France. Of course the price is 3 times more expansive than in France but everything is like that in Hong Kong for foreign products ( the flour is imported from France ).
For the pastries, in general they are also quite nice. About the " pain au chocolat " , this is not the better i have eat as the taste is still " industrial " like the one you can find in the bakeries of the french supermarkets.
The only negative thing is about the staff which is not very professional and also which dont know correctly the name of the pastries ( they have to learn the names as everything written in french ).
But nevermind, i just come here to buy and take away my favorite bread and pastries.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent pastries but unfriendly staff”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great choice of pastries, food items in an excellent ambience but the staff were a bit rude. Would go back again for the pastries though!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kamandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passion by Gerard Dubois also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Passion by Gerard Dubois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing