We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value but needs improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Ranked #59 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable value but needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Its a little out of the way (in a light industrial area of Kwun Tong about 10 minutes walk from the MTR), but this is reflected in the rates which are good if you stay for 3 nights or more. Receptions staff are very good, the breakfast deal is also great as is the decor of the rooms. We stayed on the 23rd floor which had a view out towards the harbour. On the downside the restaurant service is not great, the lifts are slow, the reception area rather small and the towels in the room could at least have smelled as if they had been freshly laundered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor but be prepared to wait for the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Andyquin,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are happy that you have enjoyed staying with us. Your valuable comment has been brought to our attention and your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    168
    38
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
120
49
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the 1st time as recommended by travellers through the Agoda and Asiarooms website. The hotel finishings is quite nice and accepted except the free shuttle services provided by the hotel from Kowloon MTR Station to our hotel overall waiting time duration is very long, approximately 1 and half to 2 hours for the free shuttle bus to arrive.

Though it did arrive after nearly 2 hr of waiting, instead of driving straight to our hotel, the driver choose to drove in circle & i happen to find it passes by the same stretch of route & building couple of time. When we check with the driver & was told he has to follow the time & route schedule even though there wasn't any pickup passenger along the way prior to going back to the hotel.

Another problem that we face is the toilet in the room, when we use it for the 1st time upon check-in, the flushing system is choked thus it overflow which made the whole bathroom stink and slippery due to the whole flooring is full of water. Next we contacted housekeeping though they came & clear the choke but next later in the evening it choke again for the 2nd time which we find it unaccepted as the hotel is brand new & was launch less then half a year

Lastly, the buffet breakfast choices is limited, we had the same variety of foods for the past 4 days when we were there. I hoped that your restaurant can change the menu for the buffet breakfast as i'm sure that the hotel guests wiould be glad & appreciate having more choices for the menu.

Overall, I still enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pooh_007328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear pooh_007328,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong! We are happy that you have enjoyed staying with us. Your valuable comment has been brought to our attention and your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the coming future!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were looking for a new hotel at reasonable cost and not in the noisy area of town. Dorsett Kwun Tong Hotel fitted our requirements perfectly. Price included good WIFI connection, generous breakfast, daily newspaper and shuttle into Kowloon. It's located in an old industrial area that is changing rapidly. The staff were extremely helpful, polite and courteous. I give this hotel top marks in every way. There's a good Indian food restaurant Corner 90 nearby.

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor which was very quiet apart from other guests talking loudly outside our do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cogduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettHotels, Director of Sales at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear cogduo,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong and sharing the tips of the area around our hotel! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and appreciated our services; your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the coming future!

Cheers,
Kenneth Poon
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I staid a few nights at the Dorsett in Kwung Tong and the hotel is fresh, different, very modern, super friendly staff and definately if your know your way aroing Hong Kong - a great choice.

Kwing Tong is an industrial area - true, but I was working anyway and the office I visited was just 2 blocks away in Kung Tong so the location was for me optimal. The rooms are futuristic. I had a great view to the water-front.

Had to close down the A/C, since the room was like back home in Finland when I arrived. Noice isolation to corridor was not very good - and Cantonese are very loud, so thus one notch away from the overall rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jscz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettRegencyHK, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jscz,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong! We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Your valuable comment has been brought to our attention and your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the coming future!

Cheers,
Cecilia
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife, 4-year old daughter and I stayed here for one night only. Checked in on 20 January 2012 and checked out on the next day. We took the MTR from the airport and went through 3 lines and 18 stations. Not a problem for any light traveler but quite a challenge for a family with huge luggage. A taxi would have been a better option.
It is about 5-10 minutes walk from the Kwun Tong MTR station. It took a small effort to find the hotel - a large sign might have helped. We arrived quite late in the afternoon but no problem with that since we had made payment earlier. Staffs were friendly enough - somebody opened the doors for us and the porter offered to carry our bags. Check in was fast and we did not have to wait long for the elevator.

POSITIVE:
# spotless clean room
# nice decor
# no hassle late check in
# clean shower & toilet
# nice view
# shuttle service to various locations

NEGATIVE;
# bathroom and bed were small

We accidentally left a camera charger and an adapter in the room. The hotel kept it in their housekeeping storage. They arranged for a remote pickup so that the items can be sent to us. This shows that they care very much.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors. Arrange your itinerary to fit with the hotel shuttle schedule as this will red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zairul Azri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettRegencyHK, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear zerol410,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong and share the tips of easy way to reach our hotel! We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying with us and appreciated our services; your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the coming future!

Cheers,
Cecilia
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've been during new year's eve. 5 minutes walk by mtr station. Perfect housekeeping. Free newspaper every morning. Free bottle of water every day in the room. Functional Reception. Fantastic view. We did not get any breakfast, it wasn't included. In any case if you want high quality standard and not pay too much and avoiding confusion of the center choose this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors.- view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happydays1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettRegencyHK, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Happydays1980,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong! We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying with us, and your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the coming future!

Cheers,
Cecilia
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location : about 20min walk to MRT, hotel provide a free transport to the station too. McDonald is on the way to the station. There are restaurant nearby.
Room : New and well designed but not big, bed is comfortable, stay here for few nights, I think they didn't vacuum everyday! Shampoo, body lotion, bath gel is provided(but no bathtub). Tooth brush, comb, tea/coffees is provided.
Breakfast : Good - Asian + Western, 6:30am to 10am.
Staff : Friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview(only partly) room. The first room I got was facing a big black office building, so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mengyew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettRegencyHK, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Hualien,

Thank you for choosing Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong!

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and appreciated our shuttle bus services. Meanwhile, we would like to share with you that MTR station is about 8-minute walk distance from our hotel. Your valuable comment has been brought to our attention and your compliment has been passed to our team.

Look forward to seeing you again in the coming future!

Cheers,
Cecilia
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#61 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#66 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Kwun Tong
L'hotel elan
L'hotel elan
#83 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#71 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#37 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Address: 84 Hung To Road, Kwun Tong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong is situated at the heart of Kowloon East, adjacent to Kwun Tong MTR station and surrounded by shopping malls. A brand new 4-star hotel offers 361 guestrooms complemented with 24-hour free WiFi and free shuttle bus service to shopping district. Business centre, health club, and outdoor swimming pool are temporary closed until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing