We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room, Good Location, Average Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
California Hotel HK
Ranked #503 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tiny Room, Good Location, Average Service.”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

When you put it into perspective compared to other hotels and when you need to pay upwards of $250 per night to get even a decent sized room, then perhaps you will forgive the pathetic room sizes.

Firstly, you need to take an elevator to lvl 4 to even get to the front desk. if you dont have a room on this level. be prepared to take another elevator from the laundry room that is so bloody slow!!!!!

youll end up on a random section of this building going into another door which is a small wing of california hotel,which is segmented amungst other hotels and peoples homes. super super confusing at first!

the room, well....its tiny. im talking 4x2m including your bathroom. which happens to be 1x1.5m which is your whole shower with a toilet and sink in it.

you get what you pay for and if you dont like it, do spend more money!

besides, your only there to sleep (if you can get to sleep on the rock hard beds) as youll be out all day exploring the amazing city of Hong Kong!

If you need any printing done, forget it, there is a computer for guests to use in the lounge (if you can bare the stench of the smoking next to you), but there is no printer to attached and if you ask reception to print it, youll be looking at $10HK a page for a very crap quality black and white print.

Depsite all the downfalls, its a awesome location, close to transport, a 6min walk down to the promenade on the harbour, 5min from HK Island, and 5min train to the temple st markets.

The room and linen was clean, had a hair dryer and the bed is raised enough to fit 2 large suitcases underneath to maximise floorspace in the room.

Expect the rooms to be small for the price, it is what it is in Hong Kong, Whether its this hotel or another.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Level 4. Same level as reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbzonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    22
    17
    24
See reviews for
20
13
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

It was easy to find this hotel as it is very near to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR and Bus A21 from the airport.
Pros:
1. Near to MTR, shops (in fact you will see the shops repeating every 500m)
2. Tsui Wah Restaurant right at the Ground level
Cons:
1. Super small, not even a space for luggage (gotta put it underneath the bed)
2. Lift is small and slow, can only accommodate 4 person at one time (max 6 person, i only saw once)
3. Bed is hard (at least for me)
4. Considered pricey.
5. Toilet is super compact. Everything you need is there but super cramp. Can't even sit properly on toilet bowl due to no space at all.
We were lucky that one of the staff there was helpful to change our room to a bigger space room. Even though not big but at least we can get some walking space.

Room Tip: Level 4 has a bigger room space instead of Level 11. Level 11 newly renovated but too small room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pui Leng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Hotel California 2 times durring busy fair periods on Hong Kong when hotels are 2-3 times more expensive than what they arelady so expensively.
Generally the rooms are extremly small - however location being directly opposite TST East Station and being on Nathan Road are a major major plus, given my minimal use I have of Taxis, the MTR in Hong Kong is so amazingly well organised and having a MTR station accorss the road from your hotel is a mjor plus. Aswell as this the shopping and eateries in the area are majorly accessible and a lot of fun night life - all in all if you need is a place to sleep and shower for one person this hotel is fine. If you spend a lot of time in your room or there is a few people forget it this hote is NOT for you - stay at the Park hotel around the Corner its my favorite in TST, but its double the price of California, and the breakfast buffet is outstanding :)

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the reception to get better Internet, but the Manager smokes behind the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been travelling in Asia for many years and the California hotel is by far the worst hotel. The rooms are not only small they are not livable. You have to get on the bed to close the door. The room we got was not shown on expedia, there was nothing even comparable to the size of room. The bed was about 5 feet long with a wall at the foot and head. The toilet was in the shower and barely usable. If you get one of the rooms pictured then your experience might be fine. but i am now out an non refundable night because I need to move to another hotel. Misleading, uninhabitable for anyone over 5 feet tall. BTW i am writing this after 2 hours sleep because sleeping is not possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjpolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked this for a few days in Hong Kong. First, it's a bit difficult to find but the location next to the metro is excellent. That line takes you to Hong Kong island and Mong Kok. Also, outside the hotel is a bunch of bars and restaurants. You will be in walking distance to the pier and bay.


Now the rooms are a bit small. I am 6'3" and I was a few inches too long for the bed. I had a single room which was smaller than a cruise ship room but I am not the type to live in my hotel when I can see the sights.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank D3701OXbenjaminl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The main theme of the other reviews here is that these rooms are very small and therefore overpriced. Yes, the rooms are microscopically small, but they are not overpriced by Hong Kong standards. I had a good experience for two nights. Everything worked, was clean, the staff was helpful, and I slept fine. I got what I expected for the money. As a point of reference, there is another hotel in Hong Kong where I often stay. The rooms are a little (not much) bigger but the building is older, the towels are thinner, and so on. So, at the California Hotel you trade down in size and up in quality. For most people visting Hong Kong, the location must be considered excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UsuallyFarFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The price is just way too expensive. Pictures are misleading. Pay peanut get monkey. We stay in a double room next to the counter. Many hotel guests talk very loud in the early morning we can hear their conversation with the hotel staff. Good thing is that the hotel staff is very polite. Hotel is located at a convenient location tho. (Actually try to avoid Hong Kong in peak season if possible, it's way to crowded)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivdaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#471 of 718 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#395 of 718 in Hong Kong
31 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
No photo provided
Panda's Hostel - Moment
#391 of 718 in Hong Kong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Grand Guest House
#443 of 718 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Panda's Hostel - Hot Dog Bus
#94 of 259 in Hong Kong
5 reviews
Panda's Hostel - Stylish
#323 of 718 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel HK

Property: California Hotel HK
Address: 4F., Golden Crown Court,66-70, Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong 999077, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — California Hotel HK 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, the California Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Hong Kong for business or pleasure. Only 0.4km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, Kowloon Mosque & Islamic Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Hotel HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing