We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but wayy too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
California Hotel HK
Ranked #505 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in TSS for one night on our transit through HK. We booked a double room, and were very surprised and disapoointed to find the room is super small. The length of the room is really just the length of the bed. I couldn't even sleep with my leg straight, and the bathroom is even worse. I could hardly find a place to stand inside to shower. Sink, toilet and shower just all cramped together in a tiny 2m square area. If you're solo traveller, you probably ok, considering it's in TSS, but if you gonna stay a few night in TSS, i'd advise you to pay extra to stay in proper hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank goonersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for California Hotel HK
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 81 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Given little choice, on tight budget, & only 1 or 2 day stay. Otherwise, I would choose other accomodation. The bed is indeed too hard, and too small to be even called a double bed for two. No sound proofing, audible corridor noise open and shutting. People shouting, kids crying etc. Room is extremely small, may need to move sideways at times. Not condusive.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameshgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Room is too small and it is not so called "hotel" but just a family running hostel,don't be deceived by the name and the photo.There are bad smell and odor come from the toilet which we can't sleep at night without ventilation fan,water leaking to our bedside,lacking room facilities and they will charge over 100USD per night.Absolutely overpriced and there are many cheaper hostels and 4 stars hotels nearby,beware what yours have booked and should not deceived by them.We have check-out for above reasons and we have asked them to refund the unused night,they have screamed on us and claimed no money back.

Room Tip: This actually a hostel but they are putting the name as hotel and decieve people to book,but the pri...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Recio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First impression, rooms were so small. The walls are soo thin such that u can hear anything, literally anything that is outside. When it rains, water will just leak from the ceilings onto the bed and the room. Its so small it made me claustrophobic with no room for movement at all

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Californiahotelsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Hotel is good for the price and for the quality. Rooms are quite small but better than other hotels that are more expensive. you are in the middle of the shopping area so the position is good.
Good budget hotel for young people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank massimiliano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Been travelling 40 years, all around the world. California hotel is something like a cheap hostel and a small closet. Smoking everywhere. The double bed takes up most of the room. A hanger behind the door for all your clothes. No table, no chair, no bedside table. Your feet hang into the bedroom when using toilette. The phone and the electricity socket is on the wall that needs to be reached by kneeling on bed,.. The walls are paper thin you can hear whole conversations etc. air con really noisy. We had paid for two rooms and moved hotels but could not get any money back. $100 US per night, was a rip off.

Room Tip: Room 318 and 218, both awful.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Knowing the standard rate is already expensive in HongKong, I challenged to book it for 1 night. It was very interesting experience though, I never saw such an extremely tiny room where you can do nothing but lie on the narrow bed or toileting yourself. Shower facility right next to toilet ball looked hilarious where no room is given to wash yourself.

Wifi access was stated as available on its add when I booked it. However, there was non nor surprisingly poor connection, so I ended up borrowing their desktop with physical line connection. Also, that common area with desktop was always smoky with young but thoughtless smoker. Overall, quality of service and facility is much less than what is available in Malaysia. Yet, the price is double!! The only credit I would give is it's security and cleanliness including towels being provided in the room. Also, it's situated right in front of MRT station. You may use it for the convenience of your purpose.

Room Tip: Prepare enough funds when traveling HK, and yet to be comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Yuko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#472 of 721 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#462 of 721 in Hong Kong
32 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#161 of 721 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Grand Guest House
#444 of 721 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
No photo provided
Panda's Hostel - Moment
#396 of 721 in Hong Kong
5 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Panda's Hostel
Panda's Hostel
#62 of 159 in Hong Kong
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel HK

Address: 4F., Golden Crown Court,66-70, Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong 999077, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $45 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — California Hotel HK 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, the California Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Hong Kong for business or pleasure. Only 0.4km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, Kowloon Mosque & Islamic Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your California Hotel HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing