We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'hotel elan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'hotel elan
Ranked #83 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great hotel located in Kwung Tong. Hotel is almost rand new so all facilities are new and up to date. Hotel is off the beaten track so if its your first time to Hong Kong or you are there for a short amount of time and want to see alot I'd recommend TST/Mong Kok or the Island. However with that said this hotel does a very good job of ensuring its location isnt an obstacle. They operate a very very shuttle which eaves regularly (schedule available from the hotel website). The shuttle will take you from the hotel to TST (right next to the Pennisula), then to Airport Express Kowloon Station and then back. So they offer a free shuttle to and from the airport express station which is alot better than those horrible lines for taxis on peak hours.
The pick up location for the shuttle can be difficult to find so check the map on the schedule which is downloadable from the hotel website.
For shuttle go up escalators from Airport Express, take a sharp right when getting of the escalator and then right through the door of an underground car park, then follow the walkway to the right which will bring you out to the shuttle pick up point.
The shuttle can be the life line to this hotel if you are unfamiliar with the Hong Kong MTR or have small children with you and want to avoid the MTR especially on rush hour.
The area where the hotel is is probably the last place you would expect to find a hotel of this standard. The area used to be one of the manufacturing districts of Hong Kong before industry started moving over to the mainland in the late nineties and early two thousands. Its now all commercial buildings of offices and warehouses. However there is a couple of convenience stores close by and a Mc Donalds if your into that kind of food. Being in an area like this ensures you wont be paying the prices of TST or the Island so make a stop at the Millennium Shopping Centre or Mega Box for some good shopping at locals prices. Also the local restaurants located down Chung Yip street are good. And the bakery on Hung To road is excellent.
This hotel is good. Its very well priced for what you get compared to TST and the Island. The same standard in these areas will net you over 300USD per night. The rooms are large, with ample sided beds, free Mini Bar drinks (Yes unbelievable I know) good bathroom with a wide selection of amenities and I pad connectivity which is a real bonus as all aspects of the hotel can be discovered on this. Free wifi and LAN which is very fast and good room service.
One thing I found strange was the pool is a little small and is located about 3 metres from the front desk at reception. went swimming but I would think for some people this might be a little intimidating being so close to the large glass doors at reception. Everything else about this hotel is impeccable.
I thought breakfast was pretty good my only input was they didnt have much fruit and had no idea what soy milk was?!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aesoptales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Arsoptales

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to learn that our chic and thoughtful facilities as well as heart-warming services have lived up to your expectations! When you plan for a revisit, please feel free to check out our latest accommodation offers available on our official website! We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    254
    57
    16
    13
See reviews for
77
174
50
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bare with me as this review will be a bit lengthy.

I am writing this fresh from our travel to from Hong Kong for my partner and I's anniversary celebration. We stayed in this hotel from May 6-9, 2013. Upon booking from there hotel website we requested for a high floor and noted that we will be celebrating our anniversary with them.
We were provided a room in the 26th floor which made us very happy. Not only that, they actually had a complimentary cake for us to greet us :) The staff are very professional from shuttle bus driver, to the Staff [Ricky and Ming], to the receptionist [Queenie], to the hotel managers [Desmond,Kirk,Yvonne] . Hope we didn't miss anybody out. Thank You

Restaurant:
We had a dinner date at the Forte located in the 2nd floor of the hotel. Table was reserved as requested. We were given a very nice table at a quite side of the restaurant. The restaurant also provided us complimentary wine for our celebration. The menu at Forte offers a wide range of choices from italian to asian cuisines etc. The Manager even dropped by to make sure that we were taken cared off. Try out their desserts as this was the best part of our meal. At the end of our dinner I was handed a bouquet of flowers by the staff. It seems as though my partner asked them for a favor to arrange for flowers for me that evening. This hotel makes ways for your requests to be granted.

I also requested for dessert to be delivered in our room. Although not listed in the in-room dining they happily obliged.

Room:
Simply put L Hotel Elan is 1 of those hotels the there rooms are as good as the pictures. The bed and pillows is very comfortable. Room comes with complimentary wifi and LAN access.

Transportation: [Getting Around]
The location of L Hotel Elan is not really a challenge because MTR is very close by, the hourly shuttle is always on time and very reliable.

Location:
Away from all the noise of central Hong Kong. A good retreat location after a busy day of shopping and touring. McDonald's and Cafe de Coral is near by if you need to grab a quick bite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reginevdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear RegineVDD

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, and we are thrilled to learn that you and your companion have had a great time with us! For a more indulgent stay, we would recommend you to check out our latest accommodation offers available on our official website.

Our team and I look forward to welcoming you at L’hotel élan again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Staying at this hotel was like staying at Langham Place in its opening year and at Hotel Icon at its opening years. It is new, relatively very cheap, luxery and innovative.

I have stayed here Sun 21/4 till Sat 27/4. Location is good, 5 min. walk to MTR Ngau tau kok. From there it is 20 min to Mongkok and 20 min to Causeway bay. The air is much better than in the crowded areas of Kowloon or Causeway Bay. The entree and reception areas are less impressive than Langham Place or Icon, but the rooms have the same luxery and feeling.

Nice to see that the minibar is complementary, the wifi is free, the room is modern and large, there is an iPad in the room, there is a lounging are at the 35th floor with free coffee, tea, Cola Zero and snacks and that the bathroom is divided by the room via smart glass (it changes from transparant to not transparant by pressing a button). All apply for the standard rooms.

One of the reason for my positive review is that this hotel is really underprice now (€ 90 per night), so the value you get is really amazing. I am sure this will change, because the same has happened to Langham Place and Icon.

Enjoy now you can!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kungfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Kungfu

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers via TripAdvisor platform and we are delighted to learn that you have made the most out of our facilities as well as complimentary offerings. Other than the easily accessible public transportation via MTR, our hotel also provides free daily shuttle bus services to/from our newly open sister hotel and serviced apartment complex named Lodgewood in Mongkok, the Kowloon Station where you can get on the Airport Express train that takes you directly to the Hong Kong International Airport with ease and comfort, and the almighty shopping district Tsimshatsui!

When you plan for a revisit to Hong Kong, we would recommend you to check out our latest accommodation offers available on our hotel official website for a more indulgent stay. Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback, and we hope to be of your service again soon!

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel after searching for hotels in Hong Kong. Decent hotel for its price. Nice swimming pool & free usage of iPad in room. Room was relative big given HK standards & staffs able to converse in English pretty well. Location is abit far from the city, but near mtr. Will stay there again if I am going to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Director of Sales & Marketing at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear vincentSingapore

Thank you for sharing your comments with other exciting travelers on TripAdvisor platform! It is to my great pleasure to learn that you have made the most out of our in-room iPad and outdoor swimming pool. When you plan for a revisit to Hong Kong, don’t forget to check out our latest accommodation and dining offers available on our hotel website! We sincerely look forward to your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best regards,

Doris Chan
Director of Sales & Marketing
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our first trip to Hong Kong, we stayed at this hotel for 5 nights: we loved every minute that we stayed there! The hotel is not centrally located (near the old Hong Kong airport), but the hotel is only 5 minutes walking distance from one of the subway stations. From the hotel to the center of Kowloon takes 15-20 minutes with a cab (which costs around $6 U.S. ), but the hotel has a shuttle service (every hour) to Kowloon for free! This designer hotel is luxurious for the price we had to pay! And the staff members are professional, friendly and courteous. The room is extremely comfortable with designer bathroom. The gym and the view from the top floor is one of the best that i've seen in hotels around the world. We'll definitely stay at this hotel for our next trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Hotel Manager at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear GabeL3

Thank you very much for your positive comments on TripAdvisor platform. We are delighted to learn that you and your family have enjoyed our heartwarming services as well as contemporary and chic design as we strive to provide our valuable guests an exceptional travelling experience with the integration of modern art, personal comfort and convenience. When you plan for a revisit to Hong Kong, don’t forget to check our hotel official website for our latest accommodation and dining offers and updates!

Once again, thank you for your compliments, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at L'hotel Elan. We especially appreciated the space, tranquility, cleanliness and calm after the hustle and bustle of our days' journeyings. But what made it feel really good was the friendly, helpful efficiency of the staff. (I was so happy to have my fussiness catered to with the PERFECT pillow from the pillow menu!) We felt so at home it was hard to leave. We had no issues with being a little further from the center of things - the MTR station is only a five minute walk away. A bit of travelling time was a fair pay off for the spaciousness.
We'll definitely be back if we have to go to Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123SueA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Hotel Manager at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 123SueA

Thank you very much for your compliments and we are delighted to learn that you and your daughter had a marvelous stay with us! We do constantly receive positive comments on our exclusive selection of pillows that were carefully selected with our mission to tailor made our valuable guests a more personalized comfort, and we are glad that you have made the most out of it!

Other than the easily accessible public transportation via MTR, our hotel also provides complimentary daily shuttle bus services to/from Tsim Sha Tsui and Kowloon Station, where you can get on the Airport Express train that takes you directly to the Hong Kong International Airport with ease and comfort!

When you plan for a revisit to Hong Kong, we would recommend you to check out our latest accommodation offers available on our hotel official website for a more indulgent stay. Once again, thank you for taking your time to tell us how you feel, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at L'hotel Elan for 8 days during a business trip. The rooms are large by Hong Kong standards and the hotel is basically brand new. The design modern and clean. Room service is available via an in room iPad. The menu is limited but the food quite tasty. Staff pleasant and very helpful. While not a 5 star luxury hotel, the hotel has that modern art luxe feel. Various pillows are available and there is also free wi-fi.

The location is very much off the beaten track. There isn't much around to be honest, although there is a shopping mall about 10minutes away by foot. The MTR stop is about 5 minutes away and in another 15 or 25 minutes you can be in a tourist or business mecca. If you want to be in the center of the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, this isnt the place for you. On the plus side though - it is very very quiet and makes for a nice sleep.

I'd definitely stay here again. The price and quality make up for the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lhotel_elan_hk, Hotel Manager at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear T O

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor platform! We are glad to learn that you have had a pleasant stay with us. Rest assured that your compliments have been extended to our associates as guests’ satisfactions are our driving force to continue to strive for the best! On your next visit to Hong Kong, don’t forget to check out our latest accommodation offers and hotel information available on our hotel official website!

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you at L’hotel élan again in the near future!

Best regards,

Jaime Aromin
Hotel Manager
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#64 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#72 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Kwun Tong
Newton Place
Newton Place
#412 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
L'hotel Island South
#143 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel elan

Property: L'hotel elan
Address: No.38 Chong Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel elan 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel elan, the latest development of the L'hotel Group under the Chinachem Group, is now opened. Located in the vibrant new business hub of Kwun Tong, the Hotel offers 254 superbly appointed guestrooms and suites, a gym and an outdoor pool, a contemporary casual dining restaurant offering international cuisine, and banquet facilities. It is a design-led boutique-inspired hotel with an array of seamless e-tech services, from unparalleled eCheck-in, eKiosk information services, to user friendly eMenus. The hotel is also enriched by an exciting collection of contemporary art for a private gallery atmosphere amid the welcoming spirit of modern Asian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your L'hotel elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Elan Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing