We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two charity events”

Urban Delight -Day Tour
Ranked #12 of 51 Food & Drink in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A KOWLOON CULINARY WANDERWALK - A knowledgeable local guide takes you and your friends on a culinary tour of this food paradise. Going beyond the obvious restaurant recommendations, the guide shows you how to eat like the locals do: on the street and in the dai pai dongs.The culinary journey will have five stops; each one handpicked for a special dish. Just bring your appetite!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two charity events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have participated in 2 events with Urban Discoveries. One was an amazing race type game on the north end of HK island, the other was a family fun event on Lamma Island. Both were to raise money for charity. Both events were tons of fun and challenging, providing a wonderful opportunity for team building. This is a great idea for corporate events and/or parties!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your review of two of our events. We really appreciate you took the time to write about us and we are thrilled that you highlight our charitable work!

As a social enterprise, we contribute to Hong Kong society in two ways: first, we ploughs back any profits made into local heritage preservation organisations. Secondly, we often work together with local charities who are looking for fun ways to strengthen the ties with their donors. In close connection with those organisations, we develop a tailor-made race for them. We absolutely love doing that! And we are of course really glad to hear that people enjoy it!

Thanks again Lisa, and we look forward to seeing you at one of our other events. Have you done our foodwalk already, by any chance?

All the best, Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    18
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Award winning food walk in HK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The experience starts with a very welcoming text message from our guide Edmund. He turns out to be a real foodie with a great eye for the best dishes from the Chinese/Cantonese ktichen. We start at 18 hrs at Jordan station in a small restaurant where Edmund first starts to explain the Chinese "etiquette". How to hold your chopsticks and other need to knows. The first dish are extraordinairy dumplings, followed by other delicious specialities. Soon to be followed by visiting 4 other restaurants, either on the street or in very nice places you'd not easily enter as a tourist or a western Hong Kong resident. The trip ends with this amazing dessert place where we are surprised with the most delicious desserts from a former michelin star chef. Edmund is the best food guide, takes care of his group and has a lot of knowledge and humor. I would definately recommend this trip to any food and or Hong Kong lover and do not worry about the pigfeet, you don't have to eat them!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Gwen,

Thank you so much for giving us your great feedback. We love hearing from people who have enjoyed our food tours, and we'll be sure to show Edmond your kind words about his work! He absolutely loves taking people on a tour of his favourite restaurants in Kowloon, sharing his knowledge and experience. So glad to hear you you enjoyed it!

We hope to welcome you & your family again soon.

Kind regards,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
“Hong Kong Corporate Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Rabobank has made our first contact with Urban Discovery through the Dutch community in Hong Kong. They gave us a very professional impression right from our first view of their pamphlet. With programme tailor-make for different type of participants to the actual delivery. Ester van Steekelenburg runs most of the programmes by herself. I was thrilled by her energy and enthusiasm towards everything – she can simply be described as an Ice-Breaker, one who can break the silence easily and draw kept us attuned to her. I would not hesitate to recommend Urban Discovery to you should you have any corporate event coming up soon!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Btso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review! Being professional yet personal is exactly our aim, so we're glad to hear we succeeded! We really enjoyed showing the lovely Rabobank ladies our beautiful city and hope to work with you again.

All the best,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“City Challenge in HK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I first thought it would be a challenge for those who have good general knowledge - like a pub quiz. But I was so wrong! The day involved loads of running around, lots of laughter, team work, exploration and creativity. And guess what - it wasn't the team with the best general knowledge who won!. It's a perfect balance, the perfect team race and the perfect city to do it in! The team at Urban Discovery are very professional and always up for a laugh!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Zein,

Many thanks for capturing our challenges so perfectly! We really try to bring different elements into our races and it's great to see that that is being appreciated! We had a really good time too and hope to organising many more races for you and your team.

And can we tempt you to join us on one of our foodwalks?

Kind regards,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You think you know all about Hong Kong, think again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Being born here and spending half my life in this city, I would imagine it to be a walk in the park.
We walk past same streets everyday and we are so occupied by Hong Kong rush that we tend to forget to take note of the most beautiful things around us.

I rediscovered Central and Sheung Wan area by participating in City Challenge held on 18th February, 2012. The two and a half hour race was extremely fun filled and a great experience to getting to know my neighborhood better-“Calling it a neighborhood because I work in central and I spend 12 out of 24 hours here”. I wouldn't have imagined a geographical location that can be covered in 30 mins walking time through the stretch would have hold so much for me. Thanks to Urban Discovery and the team for putting up such a great challenge- their creativity compliments the beauty of the location. The details that was put together was second to none – the mystery of the game tested my knowledge and made me feel embarrassingly funny; it was like “Are you smarter than a 5th grader” moment. :)

Urban Discovery stands true to its name and offers array of fun things to do while exploring the hidden gems of Hong Kong. I would say it has something special for both tourists and locals which no city guide books, blogs or magazines can offer.

Looking forward to participating in one of your challenges again!

Avi

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Avi,

Thank you SO MUCH for your lovely words about our City Challenge. We had a blast organising that race for CWS!

Showing people how much an area that they think they know well (still) holds for them - as you eloquently put it - is our mission, and we are so happy to read we managed to achieve exactly that!

As a social enterprise, we were very glad to work with Child Welfare Scheme and your team, and of course we cannot wait for the Lamma Fun Day on 24 November next!

Thanks again Avi, here's to many more activities to give people a great day in this beautiful city!

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Delight -Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Urban Delight -Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing