We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You think you know all about Hong Kong, think again!”

Urban Delight -Day Tour
Ranked #12 of 51 Food & Drink in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A KOWLOON CULINARY WANDERWALK - A knowledgeable local guide takes you and your friends on a culinary tour of this food paradise. Going beyond the obvious restaurant recommendations, the guide shows you how to eat like the locals do: on the street and in the dai pai dongs.The culinary journey will have five stops; each one handpicked for a special dish. Just bring your appetite!
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You think you know all about Hong Kong, think again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Being born here and spending half my life in this city, I would imagine it to be a walk in the park.
We walk past same streets everyday and we are so occupied by Hong Kong rush that we tend to forget to take note of the most beautiful things around us.

I rediscovered Central and Sheung Wan area by participating in City Challenge held on 18th February, 2012. The two and a half hour race was extremely fun filled and a great experience to getting to know my neighborhood better-“Calling it a neighborhood because I work in central and I spend 12 out of 24 hours here”. I wouldn't have imagined a geographical location that can be covered in 30 mins walking time through the stretch would have hold so much for me. Thanks to Urban Discovery and the team for putting up such a great challenge- their creativity compliments the beauty of the location. The details that was put together was second to none – the mystery of the game tested my knowledge and made me feel embarrassingly funny; it was like “Are you smarter than a 5th grader” moment. :)

Urban Discovery stands true to its name and offers array of fun things to do while exploring the hidden gems of Hong Kong. I would say it has something special for both tourists and locals which no city guide books, blogs or magazines can offer.

Looking forward to participating in one of your challenges again!

Avi

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Avi,

Thank you SO MUCH for your lovely words about our City Challenge. We had a blast organising that race for CWS!

Showing people how much an area that they think they know well (still) holds for them - as you eloquently put it - is our mission, and we are so happy to read we managed to achieve exactly that!

As a social enterprise, we were very glad to work with Child Welfare Scheme and your team, and of course we cannot wait for the Lamma Fun Day on 24 November next!

Thanks again Avi, here's to many more activities to give people a great day in this beautiful city!

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    18
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hei Fai guided Food Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Edmond did a fantastic job of guiding us around the backstreets of Kowloon. We had delicious authentic cantonese food (finished with amazing Western deserts!!). Edmond is extremely knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions, even those that had nothing to do with food. I would recommend this to everyone, whether you have lived in Hong Kong for many years or are new to the city

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sue_wombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Sue,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! We are glad to read you had such a great time. We wholeheartedly agree that Edmond's enthousiasm and knowledge greatly enhances the tour, and we both thank you for your compliments.

Kind regards,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aberdeen Wedding Anniversary Challenge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

For our 10th Wedding Anniversary Urban Discovery organized an amazing race through Aberdeen for us. What a fantastic way to celebrate such a special moment. The wedding challenge showed us the great treasures of Aberdeen in such a unique way. We did it all; walks along the boulevard, jumping on a ferry, trying the typical Chinese cuisine, learning about Tai Chi and the Chinese marriage traditions and this all in the spotlight of our life together. The challenge ended with a fantastic party on another treasure of Hong Kong; a traditional sailing Junk giving us the opportunity to enjoy Aberdeen yet again from a different angle.

If you want to celebrate something very dear and special to you and if you want a lifetime remembrance of the event….than asking the help of Urban Discovery is a start!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Elberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Elberti & Tom,

We LOVED organising your 10 year anniversary city challenge for you! We had a blast too! It was a real pleasure working with you and great to see so many smiling faces on the day itself.

It was great to see everyone working in teams, and we loved showing you new, special places and teach you new local customs.

We hope you and your friends and family will treasure this day forever - we are so pleased we were a part of it.

Warm regards,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and informative Hei Fai food walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Whether expat or tourist , this walk is a must do. The Urban Discovery team will ensure you have an entertaining, informative and very fulfilling evening trying lots of different local Cantonese delicacies. Do yourself a favour and book onto a tour now!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Gina,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Food Walk. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it!

All the best,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Hei Fai food tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Put the Hei Fei food tour on your must-do list. Delicious, authentic, Cantonese food from local restaurants I would normally walk straight past as a westerner because I can't read a Cantonese menu. It was simply the best Chinese food I've ever tasted. Go do it. Bon appetite. Hei Fai.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaBratby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ester v, Owner at Urban Delight -Day Tour, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Lisa,

Fantastic to hear that you had the best Chinese food you've ever tasted on one of our food walks! It is wonderful to hear that the restaurants and dishes that we've so carefully selected live up to expectation.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know and hopefully we can welcome you back on one of our tours when you are in town again!

All the best,

Ester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Delight -Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Urban Delight -Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing