We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best theme park/zoo I have been to”
Review of Ocean Park

Ocean Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.88*
and up
Skip the Line: Ocean Park Hong Kong Admission
Ranked #16 of 815 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's most beautiful theme parks and ranked as the 7th most popular theme parks in the world by Forbes - the home-grown destination includes an iconic Marine Land, Amazing Asian Animals (giant pandas, red pandas, asian otters, etc.), and cable cars as well as state-of-the-art, world-class facilities such as Polar Adventure, Thrill Mountain, and Aqua City.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best theme park/zoo I have been to”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My tips for a better experience:

1. Go on a weekday if possible to avoid the biggest crowds
2. Get there at opening time of 9:30
3. Go straight to the cable cars and enjoy the ride across to the rides before its too hot or crowded
4. Wear your most comfy footwear (it's a very big park and you will walk lots)
5. The cable car restaurant is air conditioned and the food is good and the drinks cold.
6. Plan your route around the rides to use escalators and not go over the same ground too much.

It's a great park and my only criticism is it could really use more shaded areas.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wobblyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,186
    2,875
    956
    211
    143
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
375 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“This is a great place for the family”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We live and die during the hot summer months in HK at Ocean Park. The activities for our two year old and four month old are great. Get there early, right on the open at 930 am and be leaving before noon as it can get crowded.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank iamarugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best theme parks I have been to”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a surprise day out! This attraction should be ranked much higher. Only went because we met a fellow traveller who recommended Ocean Park. The best way to describe Ocean Park is a zoo and amusement park in one. The entry is great value at $35 AUD that includes all rides, train and cable car. The animal enclosures are excellent and there are plenty of shows throughout the day. You will need a full day if you want to see everything and try out most of the rides. A taxi from Causeway Bay cost $100 HKD during non peak time including tunnel toll. Would return to Ocean Park next time I'm in Hong Kong.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cdchiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best amusement park ever!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having been to Disneyland we decided to try Ocean Park. After Day-1 we only saw half of it, so it was a natural decision to go back second day.
The park is huge, full of interesting animals, very safe, and with relatively good and not overpriced food.

If you go there, don't miss the Pandas, the dolphin show and the penguins! If you just go there for the rides, have fun on the Adventure mountain!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexC_RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Chinese Disney Version, and is awesome”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Been there with two young children, and the park was amazing.
If my children were older or If I was going with my mates, no worries, the Park will cater for all ages and tastes.

Yes the cable car is old, but the ride is amazing, with wonderful views. When the roller-coasters appear...wow!!!
Roller coasters and elevators on the top of the mountain, how awesome is that? Aquariums, penguins, pandas, seals, and much more, not only a park but also a Zoo, a-m-a-z-i-n-g!!!

Unfortunately life is not perfect and there is always something bad to report... In this one is the outrageous prices for food and beverages in e park, specially in comparison with Disneyland Hong Kong.

Go!! It's worth it!!

Helpful?
1 Thank rkiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Park also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing