We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my home in HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wang Fat Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wang Fat Hostel
Ranked #78 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“my home in HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

the Wang Fat Hostel is become to be my home in Hong Kong. Very nice location, near the Causeway bay MTR station and in the middle of a nice shopping area. People are nice and hospitality excellent. Nice colorfull room, toilet and air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabio gl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    20
    15
    19
See reviews for
5
16
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a hostel, in one of the most expensive cities to live in, in the world, so what can you expect!

Room is small - but its workable for US$20 per night. I got a private room. Bathroom was actually nice. Aircon's a bit noisy, but window units always are. Bed is quite hard - but still easily sleepable.

Remember to bring your own towel!

Would stay again if on a budget!

Room Tip: 10/F is where i stayed - was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hostel was decidedly average. The big plus was the location - in Causeway Bay and right next to an MTR station. The service was average although the staff did not go out of their way to be helpful and sometimes seemed like they couldn't be bothered to assist. Only one out of three computers worked. The room was fairly clean although the toilet didn't flush properly. The shower was also not very good. Another plus was the hostel cat - much friendlier than the staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have been travelling asia and this hostel came the worst one. Dirty rooms, dirty linens, and dirty toilets. They give one toilet for every 40 people what do you expect!!!! You cant open windows, you cant use computer after 12 at night!!! really bad place. only advantage is price and location. but I am not that rich to buy crap service.....

Room Tip: All crap rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were 6 people and booked on internet two rooms for 3 beds. This was what our confirmation stated, what we asked for and what we paid for. But when we arrived at the hostel they gave us two rooms with 2 beds each! When we asked where the third bed was they said that they could add it. Yes, to a 2mx1.5m square room you add one more bad you basically can't walk nor close the door anymore!
We walked back to the reception (the rooms they showed us were in another building) to complaint and he said that we asked for a 6 people room, so we should not have complains as he gave us two separate rooms, for more privacy! Wooow!! Anyway, it was not the truth that we asked for a 6 pax room, so we asked him to check on his records because whe was wrong, but he told us to check it by ourselves on internet then get back to him! How rude! Finally we found our reservation and we were completely right, then he gave us two 'new' rooms, one was fine, but the other was still 2 beds, of which one 'queen' bed. We went back again to complaint that we paid for three beds not for two, but the manager threatened us to give us another room with three beds but no toilet inside! What!!!???? Basically we just closed the issue by keeping the 'queen' bed room, sharing it in three and paying for three! Very very bad service and attitude from the staff. Thanks god it was only for one night.

Room Tip: Don't choose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The location of the Wag Fat hostel is pretty good, it's walking distance from the MTR station. Opposite of the road, there is a supermarket which is quite convenient for self-caterers. There are also many restaurants and possibilities to go shopping around. Staff is usually friendly and helpful. It's not a real hostel with a common area but rather dorms in apartments.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TripReporter177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Well, Wang Fat is a hostel. Don't expect extravagant space and service like a 5-star hotel. I liked it. My family and I stayed here for 4 nights. The location is nice, 2-minute walk from the MTR Station. Surrounded by convinience stores, department stores and restaurants. The place is small and a bit cramped. The room for 5 people is too small, but we really didn't mind. The place is clean anyway. Good air conditioning system and I liked the hot shower. Though, they don't give you extra toilet paper heheh. The person in the help desk is very friendly and accommodating to our questions. There were free maps/guides in the lobby. I think, I wouldn't mid going back in here. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbycelestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#374 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Budget Hostel
Budget Hostel
#72 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Inntide Guest House
Inntide Guest House
#76 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#5 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Causeway Corner
Causeway Corner
#29 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Comfort Hostel HK
Comfort Hostel HK
#80 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wang Fat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wang Fat Hostel

Property: Wang Fat Hostel
Address: No.A2, 3/F., Paterson Bldg., 47, Paterson St., Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wang Fat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wang Fat Hotel Hong Kong
Wang Fat Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing