We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice night market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Street Night Market

Temple Street Night Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.04*
and up
Kowloon Street Food Tour
Ranked #71 of 808 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The fun begins around 8:00 PM, when visitors flock to the numerous stalls lining this bustling, open-air market, stocking everything from clothes to mobile phones to watches.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice night market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We discovered this on the last day so it was just a quick hunting for last gifts. I can say it is much more comfortable place than Mongkok but the sellers are really hungry and the prices sometimes are ridiculous. Sometimes I was bargaining on 25% of the first said price. Start easily from half what you hear first. I found more souvenir stuff then in Mongkok and the atmosphere is somehow nicer. The eateries are nice but we did not get disappointed with any of them during our stay in Hong Kong.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank szabcsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    703
    545
    156
    73
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Just a browse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

It is a lovely experience but I was not very impressed with this market. Having been to similar markets in mainland China I was expecting this one would be even nicer and bigger.
A lot of cheap stuff, knockoff handbags, sun glasses etc. The part i liked were the souvenir stands. there weren't a lot of them but were a few with nice authentic small ceramic figurines etc. There are a lot of open restaurants. We took a chance and we went to one of them. Toilet paper was on every table. We realized that was used as a napkin ;-) Food was served and broken and chipped plates etc.. none the less it was a fun experience .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank meron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Bling Central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Lots of cheap trinkets and designer knock-offs. Amazingly grotty side alleys and truly squalid eateries. We braved one and the food was actually quite tasty as well as being cheap. No subsequent ill effects to report either.

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun shopping, with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love night markets for the later street activity, and for the street food, and Temple Market is a good one. It's got all the usual Hong Kong suspects for a market (bags, jewelry, electronics), plus some items I didn't see anywhere else. Also, several good cheap options for eating make it a great experience

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great browse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fun to negotiate. Be astonished at some of the wares for sale! See the fortune tellers at work. Buy yourself some good quality shoes, or copy handbags, then find somewhere to eat, along with the 100s of others, and just drink in the colourful sights. Use the Hop-on-hop-off Big Red bus to get there, and walk back to your hotel. All safe.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank QE2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Street Night Market also viewed

 

Been to Temple Street Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing