We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
“Definitely would stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I usually stay at chungking mansion for budget trip, and my 2 nights here are way way better. The room is very clean, the bed is just enough and comfy, you have your own pin light attached to the wall and 2 universal power outlet - you dont't have to bring any adopter anymore, if it's not enough, there's more just outside the bed. you got your own locker inside the room - a very spacious one, still you can leave your stuff on the bed and on the floor and it is safe. I stayed in the 9- bedroom room and on the second deck, I can still reach my stuff
on the bed without getting on it. I'd probably recommend the third deck cause it gives you more headroom. Bathroom is spacious and clean - far from those i have experience in Chungking M. There is a massage chair on the reception but I have never sat on it cause it was never vacant even at 3am, haha. You can chill out with friends or make friends at the 4th floor and on the roof top- very relaxing and nice to hangout if you still don't want to sleep. Location is safe and very near to shopping malls. It's also close to E11 bus stop - cheapest transpo to/from airport (HK21 only).

Cons for me, elevator- you really have to wait, specially when going up. deposit - cash only.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again, and spend what i saved on the room for shopping and adventure around the city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puloadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    193
    58
    17
    17
See reviews for
9
27
272
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Positives: the place is very clean throughout, the roof garden is an excellent socialising location in the evenings (even though it is still a work in progress) and location is great, very close to bus, MTR and tram stations.

Negatives: not once did I ever get a smile or a "hello" from the staff (except the nice cleaners!), often they could not answer queries on locations of facilities and attractions. This place has a very corporate feel to it, where they make a good effort to get the place looking good but not too much on making the guests feel welcome. The hostel is also far too big, with far too few public computers (I waited nearly an hour to use one late one evening). This probably also contributed to the lack of interaction between staff and residents.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinder7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a mixed-dorm room.

Pros:

1. Relatively clean. Staff clean the room and bathroom everyday it seems.

2. Close to shopping centers, restaurants, the subway, etc.

3. English-speaking staff...not people that give you DUH? answers and blink at you continously with a confused look.

4. Bed has a curtain for privacy, You can also use the line which the curtain runs on to hang your towel and such. There are also several electrical outlets for each bed which are designed to accept a lot of different plug-in configuration, thereby eliminating the need for an adapter. My bed also has a couple of shelving units to put my stuff on.

5. AC nice and cool. It is a relatively new hostel after all.

6. Huge safey deposit box for each bed which utilizes the key card you have (the same one that you open the dorm room door with but only opens the box that corresponds to your bed #).

7. Water, kitchen, computers with internet access, free wifi, common room.

Cons:

1. A bit difficult to find the place. The entrance IS ON THE SIDE OF THE NCB building.

2. No elevator/lift from ground floor to first floor. So if you have a heavy luggage, be prepared to climb up a few short flight of stairs with it.

3. Only one elevator. The elevator was out of service for a few hours on one of the days I was there.

4. Staff should put a "PLEASE SHUT BATHROOM DOOR AT ALL TIMES" or something sign on the bathroom door. There have been idiots that left the door opened, permitting the cold air to escape into the bathroom and out of the vents and open windows. Common sense people!!!!!

5. The cleanliness of the hostel is also dependent on what sort of filthy slobs the hostel get for customers. I mean, seriously, don't leave your dirty socks strewn on the floor or leave your used q-tip/cotton bud on the bathroom sink.

6. Mgmt should put a trashcan in the bathroom so people can throw stuff away properly instead of leaving trash (ie plastic wrapper of toothbrsh, etc) on the sink counter.

7. Some people have no consideration and manners especially during the wee hours in the morning. Don't slam the door or walk around like you're godzilla.

Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a middle bed of the triple decker beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brummie in London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was advised not to stay at hostels in HK because they were of poor quality. The person who said this clearly must either have stayed at one of the hovels in Kowloon or wasn't aware of the Yes Inn group.

Their Causeway Bay location has only been open for a couple of months (as is clear when you have to strip the bedding upon departure and the Ikea pillows and mattresses are still spotless), but real effort has gone into its design and decoration.

The dorms do accommodate more people than many of the hostels I used in Aus or NZ, but the room was large enough to accommodate them and with card-operated storage lockers for each guest, neither space nor security were an issue. Yes, the bunks are triple-deckers, but as there are decent ladders, this should not be an issue for most guests. I didn't envy the person who had the aircon unit situated above their bed however.

The location is both safe and excellent with proximity to MTR. The communal areas are clean and welcoming, although the kitchen area is quite small. I particularly like the pens left in the stairwells for guests to leave their own random thoughts and doodles, but unlike a previous guest, would advise against the painful and punishing massage chair.

As much as I enjoyed the privacy of my hotel room for the rest of my stay in HK, I would happily have forgone that and saved the considerable amount by staying here, had I discovered it sooner and seen the reviews on here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WWEGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is an excellent choice for anyone travelling on a budget to HK. The hostel is only a few months old which means the rooms are bright and clean, the bathrooms were really big and some of the best I've seen in my 8 months travelling, the common area/kitchen was small but very clean. Cool rooftop terrace where everyone gathers at night for a few drinks- I met so many fun people. Free wifi, free computers and free tea/coffee/fruit are all a great bonus. Fantastic location right beside the MTR so it's really easy to get around. Also very cheap eating places and supermarket closeby too. The airport bus drops you off directly across the road from the hostel so it can't be any easier to find the place. They have keycard security for all rooms and your card also operates your dorm locker so I felt my stuff was very safe. I can't recommend this place any more!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callaga4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed here for only one night but I note that this is really one of the best hostels to stay in Hong Kong. Although the hostel is located on Hong Kong island itself, away from the mongkok area, causeway bay is also a place full of nightlife and good food.

The hostel is much bigger than typical Hong Kong hostels located in sincere house and chongking mansion (avoid those, especially the latter). The toilets are very clean and big, unlike the other Hong Kong hostels. The staff are also very friendly when asked for recommendations for food or places to go. Noticed that there tends to be more young westerners in the hostel. As such, the reception makes a good place to meet new people.

Would definitely return to this hostel should I visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0nEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The staff here are really friendly and the location is fantastic. 2 minute walk to the metro, a bus from outside the door to Stanley beach and markets and an affordable taxi back from a night out. The rooms have 3-tier bunk beds which are pretty comfy and there's enough space. Each bed has it's own light and plug sockets. You also have your own key-card locker. One bathroom per dorm is a bit of a pain but as long as you're not in a rush it's ok. The kitchen doesn't have much and is miniscule but with cheap food available round the corner... why cook? My favourite thing about the hostel is the people. There is a small common room area and day or night people gather and chat. There's a fantastic atmosphere and it's a great place to meet people.

Room Tip: The six bed dorms are actually 9 bed but with 3 beds un-used so you have a bit extra space for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mahjong
#1 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Y Loft (Youth Square)
#3 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#9 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yesinn Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yesinn Causeway Bay

Property: Yesinn Causeway Bay
Address: 2/F Nan Yip Building, 472 Hennessy Road, Hong Kong 852, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yesinn Causeway Bay 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 minutes walking distant from Yesinn Causeway Bay Hostel to Causeway Bay MTR station, our premier location makes us the ideal starting point for exploring the city. Recently renovated, we boast not only a fantastic Hong Kong city center location and building but our free services are unbeatable! We have taken great care when it comes to your safety & security so you don't need to worry and can hang out in our common room or relax in the roof top garden. An added bonus is that big size beds are tailor made for taller person and come with linen for free, so that late arriving travelers can jump straight into bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Yesinn Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesinn Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing