We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most known landmarks of Hong Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple)

Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple)
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Half-Day Coach Tour of Kowloon and New Territories
Ranked #41 of 808 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hong Kong’s most famous Taoist temple exemplifies the architecture of a traditional Chinese temple, and is a popular place of worship for those with health or business problems or for those seeking to have their fortunes told.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the most known landmarks of Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Visited on a morning, arrived by alighting at the Wong Tai Sin MTR. The temple entrance alone was extremely crowded by tourists, mainly tour groups comprising of rowdy mainland tourists fighting to have their photos taken with the two animal statues adorning the main entrance which was kind of annoying to be frank and left me with a slightly jaded initial impression of the temple. The main area was equally crowded with people fighting to offer joss sticks and prayers and people on their knees praying or seeking divinations. I couldn't resist the opportunity to do so and sought a divination as well, had my divination explained for a small fee and prayed before leaving the place before the place got even more crowded. Well the main downside is definitely the crowd, mainly tourists but it's still worth a visit though I probably wouldn't stay within the main area of worship for more than half an hour and explore the other less crowded areas of the temple before leaving.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank funkycherrycola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    508
    206
    17
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very crowded but do visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was there in the beginning of September this year. I went there first thing after checking into my hotel and freshen up. You can easily reach the temple by taking the MTR as they have a stop practically right next to the temple. Outside you will see many stalls selling incense and other praying materials. I will give the same advice as many others who have been there, dont buy from the stalls as you are only allowed to light and bring in limited amount of incense for offering only. I think this is because of the huge amount of people giving offerings to the Gods.

This is one of the oldest temples around in Hong Kong so do drop by if you have the time. After giving your offerings, you could head to the back of the temple where there is a park with a few man-made lakes and take a breather from the crowd. there are kois and tortoises swimming around. I think there was an arowana too.

Though the crowds are everywhere but i think there are many good photography opportunities here, just need to be patient. :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mkc_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
690 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“peaceful oasis in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The temple is easily accessed by the MTR and once inside is a haven of peace from the noise of Hong Kong. The temple is a functioning place of worship for devotees, and although not by a long way the most amazing structure, has a beautiful garden and a large collection of animal and dragon toof pantiles.If you have a spare hour and the shopping gets you down, this is worth a trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful temple, right in front of Wong Tai Sin MTR, time required to see this temple is around 90 mins.

Beautiful work all around in the temple, you can easily travel with baby stroller as well. Nicely decorated and created everything beautifully the God and architecture. You can also see so many devotee coming into the temple but still not over crowed. You can also see the way people use to pray, juggling the sticks box and noting down something out from the stick which use to fall outside. Anyways I have done the prayer in my own style :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shona_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Hectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I arrived at Wong Tai Sin Temple at 11am on a Wednesday. It was teeming with people. Worshipers lighting incense and praying. Several large tour groups (they were wearing stickers/tags) and tourists (like me) taking photographs. It seemed as if everyone was trying to get a photo alone with the statue of their zodiac sign.

Although very crowded, there were empty places to sit and take it all in. Hectic and fascinating. Many photo opportunities, if you are patient.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple) also viewed

 

Been to Wong Tai Sin Temple (Sik Sik Yuen Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing